We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Curry Stained Clothes” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bay Leaf

The Bay Leaf
Ranked #35 of 95 Restaurants in Frome
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Was previously The Ship Inn
Somerset
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Curry Stained Clothes”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Be very careful when ordering a takeaway meal. They packed mine in the usual foil tubs, which they then placed in a cardboard box. During the short drive home, the entire contents leaked over my car seat and subsequently, my door step, hall floor and clothes. The latter have been rendered un-wearable as despite her best efforts, my Wife has been unable to remove the stains.
I took the ruined clothes to the restaurant this evening to complain but was only offered a £20 voucher (The relatively new clothes cost in excess of £70!) The restaurant manager refused to better his offer.
We have until now been very regular customers at the Bay Leaf. However, to be treated with scant disregard has left me with a very bad taste in my mouth, which had nothing to do with the curry incidentally! I will not be going back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frome78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    22
    4
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warminster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awful Awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Arrived at the restaurant just about to walk through the door when I happened to look up, the upstairs windows looked like they had rags up to them and were filthy. Went into the entrance lobby where a few people were hanging around waiting for takeaway meals. We were eventually seated at our table and served drinks. When the food arrived it was awful to say the least. Indian food at its worst!

Having seen the state of the upstairs windows I decided to look up the Food Hygiene Rating on the Food Standards agency website. It was 2 out of 5 inspected on the 12th September 2013 with an "Improvement Necessary" notice under it. http://ratings.food.gov.uk/business/en-GB/293395/Bay-Leaf-Frome
I therefore count ourselves lucky we didn't get ill as well.
Do yourselves and your family and friends a favour avoid this place like the plague!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Anton100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Over priced and terrible food. Tasted like it came out of some boil in the bag, horrible and couldn't eat it. All in all we went in for an enjoyable family meal but came out feeling very disappointed. Give this one a miss!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank C717P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Indian delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

We were visiting Frome and stopped at the Bay Leaf for dinner. The menu was more interesting than many Indian restaurants and the food was delicious. The portions are generous! We would definitely go again when we are in Frome.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ValK866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“NICE PEOPLE - SUPER FOOD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Always a friendly welcome from the nice people at the Bay Leaf who always remember my drinks order; a reasonably priced bottle of house white and a pint of Kingfisher. After the platter to share we followed it with two king prawn dishes ; Bengal and a Madras. The prawns may have travelled a long way but they were huge, juicy and very, very tasty. Our trips to the Bay Leaf never disappoint and it's a venue well worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bay Leaf also viewed

 

Been to The Bay Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing