We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!”

The High Pavement Evening Cafe
Ranked #9 of 100 Restaurants in Frome
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bath
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

One of the most interesting and delicious meals we've eaten in a long time. Friendly service and intimate dining experience. A must.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank viapiazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    18
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
somerset, uk
Level 6 Contributor
422 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I ate here for the first time on a Friday evening with friends from work. The restaurant is only open Friday & Saturday and you need to book in advance as a very busy little restaurant.
As there were 3 of us we opted to try all the starters between us - small portions - but very nice. 2 options for the main meal - one vegetarian. I had the meatballs which were very nice. Nice atmosphere in the restaurant. Great service.
Would definitely recommend for a relaxing evening with good food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LAD63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Experience, that is all”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Ate here with a party of 15 on a Saturday night. The food was superb and the atmosphere vibrant. A true hidden gem in Frome. A shame they are not open for dinner during the week.
The chef has got to be credited.
Only slight niggle os the lack of a credit card machine, but I can understand why they do it.
Will definitely return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank genesis_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant in Frome”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This is a fantastic little place. Family run, menu changes every week. Excellent food. Only open on a Friday and Saturday night. They keep it simple and seasonal: a choice of two or three things for each course, lovingly prepared and delicious! We booked via their Facebook page, and owner Amy was very efficient in getting back to us to confirm our booking. Highly recommended !

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Would have given it a 6 or a 7.....or an 8.....”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Wow, wow, wow. What a fantastic place!
We arrived a little early on the 5th April. There were no other diners there but we were made to feel very welcome.

The restaurant itself is an eclectic mix of lots of different styles and colours. The ambiance is fantastic and feels very warm and welcoming.
The menu changes every week apparently. Our menu was wonderful with things we've never tried before but will certainly try again!
We would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone and everyone, it's such a shame we don't live in Frome as we would be eating here every weekend.
We ordered pretty much everything on the menu as it looked so delicious!
Although when we arrived the restaurant was empty, within the hour it was packed so would definitely book in advance if you want to eat here (and believe me you do!)
I could go on praising the service, food, ambiance all night long, you really must try this gem of a place for yourself.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The High Pavement Evening Cafe also viewed

 
Frome, Somerset
 

Been to The High Pavement Evening Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing