We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fast service and great lasagne”
Review of Castello

Castello
Ranked #2 of 100 Restaurants in Frome
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fast service and great lasagne”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

By chance we called into Frome to break up a long drive home. We called into Castello and we were really impressed. Very clean, attractive restaurant with lots of space between the tables. The service was fast and attentive. All the food was excellent, particularly the lasagne. Really lovely meal at the end of a long day.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Marie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    485
    141
    33
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frome, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food Great Service”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

For those who are not from Frome or the surrounding area, Castello is situated just off the main street opposite St.John's Church. Frome has the most listed buildings in Somerset so why not try this restaurant whilst you look around the town . This was our third visit to this restaurant in our home town and we have not been disappointed.. There is an excellent choice of Italian food from Pasta to steaks and some really good desserts. The service is excellent , not overpowering , but just right. There are some excellent lunch time offers on pasta dishes therefore a good way to try this restaurant out . Excellent value for money.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Santana1053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mama Mia! Little Italy in Frome.”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My first visit following lots of recommendations from friends. So glad I finally made it. Warm and welcoming reception on arrival and this continued throughout the evening. Terrific staff, friendly and attentive. The buzz around the place was really exciting and immediately lifted the spirit!
The menu was awesome with choices that tingled the taste buds! Service was second to none but the icing on the cake has to be the food. It was fabulous, a real taste of Italy in a small town in Somerset! When you thought it couldn't get any better you were tantalised by the dessert menu which was heaven on a plate!
A real gem of a place to go, and great value too! I heartily recommend it and I most certainly will visit again as soon as I can.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Lorraine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great meal, great service, lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We had a lovely meal here for a family occasion. The waiters were friendly and service was great. The restaurant was busy on a Friday night and the atmosphere was lovely - busy but not noisy. Food was great, portion sizes good, very tasty. We'll definitely be going again!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank 59travelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westbury
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“An excellent Italian Restaurant”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

From the moment we entered we knew this would be an excellent restaurant. Attentive staff, Italian cuisine among the best and a real Italian feel about the place, an exciting buzz but not over-powering. Each course was superb but what was unusual is finding an Italian restaurant that makes, rather than buys in, proper puddings. You won't be disappointed here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank david E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castello also viewed

 

Been to Castello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing