We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castello

Castello
Ranked #1 of 95 Restaurants in Frome
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Ate here for valentines meal excellent food and service and very reasonably priced for a set menu would deffently eat here again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank suzie_q_2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    433
    131
    29
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Catalonia, Spain
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Great quality real italian food, totally recommend it. The staff are also italian and extremely kind
The prices are fair too.

Helpful?
5 Thank Gabriela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fast service and great lasagne”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

By chance we called into Frome to break up a long drive home. We called into Castello and we were really impressed. Very clean, attractive restaurant with lots of space between the tables. The service was fast and attentive. All the food was excellent, particularly the lasagne. Really lovely meal at the end of a long day.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Marie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

For those who are not from Frome or the surrounding area, Castello is situated just off the main street opposite St.John's Church. Frome has the most listed buildings in Somerset so why not try this restaurant whilst you look around the town . This was our third visit to this restaurant in our home town and we have not been disappointed.. There is an excellent choice of Italian food from Pasta to steaks and some really good desserts. The service is excellent , not overpowering , but just right. There are some excellent lunch time offers on pasta dishes therefore a good way to try this restaurant out . Excellent value for money.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Santana1053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mama Mia! Little Italy in Frome.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

My first visit following lots of recommendations from friends. So glad I finally made it. Warm and welcoming reception on arrival and this continued throughout the evening. Terrific staff, friendly and attentive. The buzz around the place was really exciting and immediately lifted the spirit!
The menu was awesome with choices that tingled the taste buds! Service was second to none but the icing on the cake has to be the food. It was fabulous, a real taste of Italy in a small town in Somerset! When you thought it couldn't get any better you were tantalised by the dessert menu which was heaven on a plate!
A real gem of a place to go, and great value too! I heartily recommend it and I most certainly will visit again as soon as I can.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Lorraine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castello also viewed

 
Frome, Somerset
 

Been to Castello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing