We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Food & Service !”
Review of Castello

Castello
Ranked #2 of 98 Restaurants in Frome
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing Food & Service !”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Food & Service are brilliant. Myself and my husband have eaten there several times and plan on several more visits. A wide variety of choices on the menu so it will suit and satisfy all dietary needs.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Tara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    462
    136
    31
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
109 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good risotto”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Good food served well & not too expensive. Nice to see a choice of risotto offered including one without mushrooms. The Limoncello trifle was delicious although a "trifle" strong! This was followed by a glass of the same with the bill...but this was wasted. A pity they don't offer a non-alcoholic alternative for drivers.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank MuseNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great quality food”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Family celebration for four today brought us to Castello. The food was excellent as was the service. good ambience even at 6pm. Waiters attentive and friendly. great cocktails. can't really fault the food.

highly recommended and we will go again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank lucie_lastique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Simply a lovely lunch.”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Decided to take lunch in town, which is a chore as there isn't much in the centre. So we walked up to Palmer street to try out Castello.
The first impression is that is relaxed and unpretentious. We were seated and treated with efficient courtesy which was maintained throughout our visit.
We shared an antipasto misto platter served on the now obligatory slab of slate with a glass each of the rather pleasant house rosato. Well prepared, dressed and presented, an excellent start to the meal. With the sun shining and a gentle breeze from the door behind us,we had already left Frome behind. My Strozzapreti Pugliese was most enjoyable as was my wife's Risotto Verdure, and the Insalata Spinachi we ordered with it, I'd have had that on it's own. Mmmmm. My coffee was very black and very Italian. Bella! A GOOD two course lunch with half a bottle of wine and change from £50.
It is so very nice to go for a a meal on spec and actually have the place exceed your expectations so delightfully. As the big guy says in the movie, "I'll be back".

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bath
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“mama mia!!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We had a taste of real Italy in Frome when we went to Castello for a meal. The staff were really friendly, the atmosphere was vibriant and the decor very pleasant. The food was amazing. We recommend the cheesecake. The starters were delicious, the mains full of variety and choice and exquisitely cooked and presented. The tuna steak was superb. As for desserts...you just must keep enough room to try one..and then you're spoilt for choice. We're going there again this week. Can't stay away. We went with both meat eaters and vegetarians, and there's plenty of choice for everyone's taste.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Rutti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castello also viewed

 

Been to Castello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing