We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”
Review of The Place To Stay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Place To Stay
Ranked #4 of 32 Frome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2012 via mobile

I was very sad and shocked to read so Many negative reviews as the experience my partner and I had was wonderful and we could not fault any aspect of the BB. The room was luxurious and clean with a lovely bathroom and fabulous bath in the bedroom which we thought was a lovely touch. Breakfast was lovely. The surrounding area was stunning, as was the village ( we ate in the local pub which was also top notch) we have recommended the place to stay to all our family and friends and plan a return trip ourselves. Worth every penny. Think the owners deserve a pat on the back and certainly should t be disheartened by these negative reviews as the BB is a credit to them

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dberger27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
There are newer reviews for The Place To Stay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

A very up market b and b, converted stables / barn with a high standard of finnish, all mod cons, very quit and peaceful rural location, excellent stay, breakfast inclusive. very reasonable rates, will stay again

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Medicworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Stayed for one night and was very disappointed. The location was lovely could not have been better but the room had lots of spiders, bugs in the bathroom and the carpet was dusty, it had not been hoovered. The Venetian blinds had been bent and nearly broken, the shower did not work very well and the plumbing to the sink was not good and made lots of noise. The room smelt musty as though no one had stayed there for a long time.
The idea was good but the cleaning was non existent . We were looking forward to staying as it looked good and was near to Longleat and was on our way home. We found Gary to be polite but without conversation and I saw his wife near the kitchen and she muttered good morning and quickly shut the kitchen door which made me suspicious as though there was something to hide. Having run a guest house I do feel I know what I am talking about. Gary gave information and answered questions but that was it.
Such a shame but would never stay again or recommend it, in fact it spoilt the end of our holiday

Room Tip: Don't go there
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mile K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

we have just returned from a weekend at the place to stay i booked this because it was rated a 5 star accomodation on arrival first impressions were poor overgrown shrubbery , weeds general scruffy appearance. We were then greated by the owner round the back of the property only to be more dissapointed when we followed him through to the office to sign paperwork. He then showed us to our booked SUPERIOR KINGSIZE ROOM to which further dissapiontment more like 3 star.with a very small window to view the overgrown shrubs in the court yard.This was booked as a suprise for my wifes birthday it was certanly that.
If you are in this area visit the George in Nunney we had a meal there staff very friendly
if we go again this is were we will stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KEITHG1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Stayed in twin room for one night. Positive was the breakfast which was really nice. Front reception - broken glass in window of door. Decking to yard lethal in wet weather and in poor condition. Twin beds very uncomfortable, too soft. Bed spread and sofa stained. Shared room with numerous bugs and spiders. Bathroom at one glance looked great then noticed mould on ceiling, loads of wood lice and no hot water in the morning. Slept less than two hours as bed so bad then to have no hot water the final straw. Just really pleased only booked and had to endure one night!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eeyoreuk73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

When we arrived the owner wasn't really very pleasant so felt a bit let down when paying that much. Room was lovely but a few cobwebs!! Bathroom was clean but shower didn't work properley but when we got used to it it was ok. Breakfast was really nice lovely fresh products. Rooms had a lovely romantic feel.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cupcake198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I wanted somewhere nice to stay which was near to Longleat and came across the website for A Place to Stay. It looked lovely on the website, tranquil surroundings and beautifully decorated rooms. On arrival, however, I was disappointed by the reception area of this georgian country house. The curtains were tatty, there were ill-fitting venetian blinds on the windows and the fire place was dirty. The room looked quite shabby to be honest. We were met by Gary, who was friendly but seemed quite nervous and ill at ease. We were shown around and then taken up to our room in the main house - Paddock View room. The room was smaller than I'd imagined, but first impressions were that it was nicely decorated. However, on closer inspection, the lampshades on the bedside tables were a little frayed, and still had the shop tags on. There was no mirror in the en-suite and no wardrobe, hangers, or anywhere to hang any clothes. The lead for the kettle was only just long enough to reach the socket, if you moved the kettle to the edge of the dressing table where it was placed. The towels in the en-suite shower room had 'been around for years' and were quite rough too , and the hot water in the shower took about 5 mins to come through and there were plenty of cobwebs. The On reading the accommodation literature in the bedroom, there was some background information on the owners and it quickly became apparent that they were deeply religious, and indeed offered prayers and guidance should you be in need - this explained the very large wooden cross (something on the scale that you would see in a cathedral) that was in the reception area! There was also a Bible in the room, which you were free to take home if you so wished! This, together with Gary's demeanor, made me feel a little uneasy if I'm honest.

Breakfast was served in the conservatory, with lovely views of the countryside and the resident sheep. However, the windowsills of the conservatory were filthy dirty and littered with dead flies - quite off-putting whilst eating.

On walking to the village pub we noticed that, in fact, The Place To Stay is up for sale. Gary said that he is keen to return to his farming background, perhaps this goes some way to explain that this place is a little 'tatty around the edges'.

When it came to checking out, we arrived downstairs in the reception area in good time for our 10am check out as we wanted to be on our way, we were going to Longleat for the day. We were then left waiting for about 10 minutes whilst Gary rushed around serving breakfast to other guests.

All in all, not at all worth the £99 we paid for the night's accommodation!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PR365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frome
1.1 mi away
The George at Nunney
The George at Nunney
#1 of 1 in Nunney
482 reviews
7.3 mi away
Travelodge Warminster
Travelodge Warminster
#2 of 3 in Warminster
595 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Lighthouse
The Lighthouse
#2 of 32 in Frome
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#6 of 32 in Frome
342 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Cornerhouse
The Cornerhouse
#9 of 32 in Frome
154 reviews
7.1 mi away
Botany Camping
Botany Camping
#2 of 5 in Warminster
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place To Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place To Stay

Address: | Knoll Hill Farm, Trudoxhill, Frome BA11 5DP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Frome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Frome
Price Range: £74 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Place To Stay 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership and extensively refurbished, we are proud to welcome you to Knoll Hill Farm - the place to stay. Family owned and run, it will feel like Home from Home. Unique luxury accommodation set in a beautiful courtyard behind Knoll Hill Farm’s Georgian Guesthouse, with some of the most wonderful views the West Country has to offer, ensure you a truly tranquil visit. All of this is complimented by our beauty and relaxation therapy room, offering a full range of treatments. With individually designed Double and Family rooms in both the house and courtyard, we know you’ll soon find a favourite you’ll want to return to time and time again. Whether a family on a visit to Longleat Safari Park, or a couple looking for a romantic hideaway having spent the day exploring historical Bath, we look forward to having you stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Place To Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Place To Stay Hotel Frome
The Place To Stay Frome, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing