We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality B&B”
Review of The Place To Stay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Place To Stay
Ranked #5 of 32 Frome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“High quality B&B”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Charming staff, comfortable & clean rooms (although having a fridge in the rooms, rather than just access to one in the main building would have won extra brownie points). Breakfasts were an absolute pleasure - very high standard. Also, special thanks for returning our lost teddy (along with a very sweet letter accompanying him, telling us what he had been up to during his extended stay!). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HM2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    57
    23
    18
    7
See reviews for
65
216
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxted, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We booked this at the last minute whilst attending a wedding in Frome.
It is a beautiful spot and the room we had in the stable block was spacious with a lovely large en suite.
Lovely small touches like homemade biscuits with the tea and coffee.
The staff were welcoming and couldn't do enough for us.
Breakfast was fresh cooked with plenty of choice and served in their conservatory room which was beautifully set out.
All round this was a tremendous find and we would recommend it to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TCT56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dovercourt, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

My fiancé and I stayed here on a short break for 3 nights. Sam was very welcoming and made us feel at home immediately, he was very helpful in recommending different places to visit and to eat in. I really cannot fault anything, our break was fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2013

What a great place to stay. It has been a wonderful start to our UK holiday staying at this B&b, room was very comfortable and clean. Views are stunning,and breakfast was delicious. Thanks to Sam for making us feel at home. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 448helen59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 6 Contributor
567 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 367 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Stayed here 3 nights. Owners are very helpful and welcoming. The rooms are spacious and quite luxurious country chic and such a welcome change from those minimalist hotels. Breakfast is prob one of the best i've had in a long time. It all overlooks a lovely garden and the hills beyond..really quite idyllic

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank sankes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I stayed here with my young family and with a group of friends during July. The B&B is situated on a farm with lots of space for kids to run around. This is a really relaxing and calm B&B with six cottage style rooms in a courtyard and with two rooms attached to the main building a feeling of space is created. There is an onsite bbq which we used and the rooms are clean and well maintained with tea and coffee facilities. I didn't explore the surrounding area but the owner was very friendly and was extremely happy to help in any way he could.

This is the perfect country break for those wanting to escape the city with young kids or as a romantic break. I stayed in the room with the conservatory and there was a lot of space, easily enough for a family with 3 children. In summary it was the perfect weekend and I couldn't fault it. I look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B-LDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This is a wonderful B&B. Best food I've had, including in 5 star hotels. Lovely clean, comfortable character-filled yet modern rooms. Quiet with landscaped grounds, beautiful views and very helpful and charming hosts. Nothing was too much trouble. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frome hotels
1.1 mi away
The George at Nunney
The George at Nunney
#1 of 1 in Nunney
464 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Lighthouse
The Lighthouse
#3 of 32 in Frome
255 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Cornerhouse
The Cornerhouse
#14 of 32 in Frome
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#6 of 32 in Frome
294 reviews
5.8 mi away
Old Parsonage House
Old Parsonage House
#1 of 4 in Beckington
224 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Woolpack Inn
The Woolpack Inn
#2 of 2 in Beckington
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place To Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place To Stay

Property: The Place To Stay
Address: | Knoll Hill Farm, Trudoxhill, Frome BA11 5DP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Frome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Frome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Place To Stay 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership and extensively refurbished, we are proud to welcome you to Knoll Hill Farm - the place to stay. Family owned and run, it will feel like Home from Home. Unique luxury accommodation set in a beautiful courtyard behind Knoll Hill Farm’s Georgian Guesthouse, with some of the most wonderful views the West Country has to offer, ensure you a truly tranquil visit. All of this is complimented by our beauty and relaxation therapy room, offering a full range of treatments. With individually designed Double and Family rooms in both the house and courtyard, we know you’ll soon find a favourite you’ll want to return to time and time again. Whether a family on a visit to Longleat Safari Park, or a couple looking for a romantic hideaway having spent the day exploring historical Bath, we look forward to having you stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Place To Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Place To Stay Hotel Frome
The Place To Stay Frome, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing