We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and service”
Review of Lullington House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lullington House
Ranked #15 of 32 Frome B&B and Inns
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Excellent value and service”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed for two nights. We appreciated the service and breakfast. Lots of charm and style...if you need to be in the Frome area, stay here...it is just a few minutes north of the town centre (but do bring a gps / map for the final few miles as it is right out in the country).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GroundedKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    3
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
16
50
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Lullington House is placed in a very small and quite village. About 20 miles from Bath and about 15 minutes from the Safari park.
It is a wonderful place; it takes you back in time. The whole house is filled with all its’ original furniture, painting, decoration… you fill like stepping into a doll’s house.
The room that we stayed in was a very large double room, two small beds were added for the children. It was very spacious, with large bathroom with nice and modern shower and bathtub.
Breakfast is home cooked and delicious.
I was sad I only stayed a night and not more. Would definitely recommend it for anyone visiting the Safari park .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank epgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

From the moment we arrived, to be greeted by Nicola with a pot of tea, we felt completely at home. We were attending a wedding at Orchardleigh House nearby. However, after reading reviews of their accommodation and comparing it with the glowing reports of Lullington House there was no contest. We stayed for the nights of 26th/27th August 2013. Our room was a delight, spotlessly clean, overlooking the well kept garden with fields beyond. Breakfast was delicious, served by Richard who was a most affable host. It is so important to check the dates of these reviews, it can be misleading to read a review from long ago.

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms, ours was in fact the cheapest. After speaking with the occupants of the othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eaglesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

What a fantastic find. This is quite simply the best B&B we have ever stayed in. Everything about its old world charm was 5 star, with the added advantage of wifi, comfortable beds etc. It's the little touches that add to the quality like a pot of tea when you arrive, fresh flowers, sherry and real fresh milk in the room for that early morning cut of tea. And such good value too.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

My family (2 adult children and grandchildren) and I had the pleasure of staying at Lullington House for two nights. Lullington is a tiny place not far from Frome but following instructions given to us beforehand it was easy to find. When we drove up the driveway we were so thrilled to think that we would be staying in such an amazing old house. The house built in 1866, the grounds and the surrounding countryside are just so beautiful. Our bedrooms and bathrooms were spacious and our beds very comfortable. The room I stayed in had a four poster bed. There were fresh flowers, a decanter of sherry and even fresh milk for our tea kept cool in a vacuum flask in our rooms. It was all so special, like having a taste of life in a time long ago. Near the house there is a little woodland walk which was so pretty filled with many different varieties of daffodils when we visited in April.

Breakfast was served in the beautiful dining room where there are many interesting things to look at. There is a bird feeder outside the window and I was fascinated to watch a tiny bird having his breakfast too. We chose to have the 'full English' and it was superb. One thing that we appreciated was that we could choose when to have our breakfast and not have to wait for a set time, so that if you wanted to get an early start to fit in as much sightseeing as possible, as we did, you could have breakfast nice and early. In the evenings we were given a menu to fill out which included the time we would like to have our breakfast served. So helpful.

Our host, Richard was very welcoming and friendly and was able to help us with places to eat, things to see and how to get to the nearest Park and Ride bus stop to take us in to Bath. Parking in Bath is limited and expensive and to take the Park and Ride bus is so easy. Our stop was only a short drive from Lullington and the buses ran very frequently. Bath is such a beautiful city and we found Lullington House the perfect place to stay to visit Bath and the many other interesting places in the area.

Our time at Lullington House came to an end much too soon but we are already planning our next trip to the United Kingdom and although it will be two years away, we will be sure to include another visit to our favourite B & B, Lullington House on our itinerary.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bronwyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedsengland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Fabulous hosts Richard and Nicola made us very welcome. We were offered drinks on arrival and shown to our room, The Waldgrave. It hosted a four poster bed, roll top bath and separate shower cubicle. Lullington House is situated in a sleepy village and was perfect for getting to Bath and other locations by car. Breakfast was served by Richard each morning which was delicious, you have to request the evening before if you would like hot food and what you would like. This was explained on arrival. Would definitely return

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilli64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bulphan, Essex, England
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We had a quick midweek break in Bath, but rather than stay in exceptionally expensive poor value properties in Bath itself, chose Lullington House. On arrival, we were welcomed by name, and shown straight to our fabulous room, The Waldegrave. Richard explains the breakfast arrangements and offered us a pot of tea which was lovely. There are tea and coffee making facilities in the room but being brought a nice pot up was a lovely touch. I haven't stay in a b&b for a while so thought it a little quirky to have to book a time slot for breakfast and decide what hot food would be required, the night before but this was definitely not enough to know any points off my rating! But just something to be aware of. Richard recommended a place for us to eat that evening. The room - simply stunning! Huge room, beautiful and most importantly incredibly comfortable, four post bed, fabulous interior design and things to look at everywhere you turn but all overtly in keeping with the period of those house (well except for the tv I guess). Bathroom was huge too and even had its own fireplace, walk in shower, roll top bath.... Only wish we had stayed more than one night! Return from our meal and a had a late night sherry tipple from the decanter in our room. Nice touch! Very good nights sleep. Breakfast - tea / coffee arrived promptly. Self service for cereal, toast, yogurt, fruit etc then Richard checks when you are ready for your hot food. I had lovely scrambled eggs with smoked salmon, he had the full English which looked great too. Check out is early, 10am but we knew this so had planned our day accordingly. Just another thing to be aware of and of course, they do only take cash but we had been told this in advance too. In summary, a lovely stay yet still close enough to explore Bath and its environs.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryLouLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frome
3.4 mi away
Travelodge Beckington
Travelodge Beckington
#1 of 2 in Beckington
180 reviews
0.9 mi away
Old Parsonage House
Old Parsonage House
#1 of 4 in Beckington
225 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Place To Stay
The Place To Stay
#5 of 32 in Frome
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Woolpack Inn
The Woolpack Inn
#2 of 2 in Beckington
450 reviews
2.0 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#6 of 32 in Frome
316 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Beds at Bath
The Beds at Bath
#156 of 157 in Bath
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lullington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lullington House

Property: Lullington House
Address: Lullington, Frome BA11 2PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Frome
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Frome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lullington House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former Victorian rectory set in rural quintessentially English village. The house stands in ten acres of paddocks, woodland and well maintained mature garden, enjoying both privacy and seclusion, and is home to an abundance of birds and wildlife. Our spacious bedrooms are elegantly furnished, and graced with four-poster beds, all complemented with sumptuous soft furnishings and large en-suite bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Lullington House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lullington House Frome, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing