We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful country hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lullington House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lullington House
Ranked #13 of 32 Frome B&B and Inns
Surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful country hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2009

We were slightly concerned about staying here because the last reviews were from 2 years ago. We stayed in the 3rd room which wasn't a 4 poster like the other 2 but it was beautiful. Our room was large and immaculately decorated. The room had coffee making facilities as well as crystal glasses and a decanter of sherry. The owner was welcoming yet unobtrusive. The breakfast (I had scrambled egg and smoked salmon with roast cherry tomatoes) was delicious. Perfect for a romantic getaway. Looking forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juventini25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    3
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
16
47
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2007

October 9th, 2007
The Lullignton is an absolutely magnificent B&B on a quite country lane just outside the village of Frome, Somerset.
My wife and I stayed there for 3 nights and would of stayed longer if we had not made plans to fly to Dublin.
Richard his wife and 2 boys were delighful and very helpful. Richard gave us several great restaurants ideas for dinner plus he helped me with my rental car problem. The rooms are very comfortable and larger than most B&B's in England, we cannot wait to return and vist this lovely home again.

  • Liked — The people you own and operate this B&B
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alberto Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Berkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2007

A charming bed and breakfast in a peaceful location. Large bedrooms and bathrooms with five star finishing touches and attention to detail. Good for our 5 year old too. The owners are very friendly and helpful and live on site. It was in a good location away from all the hustle and bustle of the city.

Local pubs only a few mins drive away. Good location with Bath only 15 mins drive away and Longleat approx 20 mins drive.

  • Liked — Great location, clean, a lot of luxury finishing touches in the room / bathroom.
  • Disliked — Restaurants not in walking distance
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Berkshiremember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2007

Lullington House is an elegant Bed and Breakfast set in the English countryside south of Bath near Frome. It was built in 1865 as the rectory for the adjacent Orchardleigh Estate and village of Lullington. The estate and village are all constructed of Bath stone and are currently designated as a preservation area. The result is a Victorian country atmosphere in a quiet secluded location.

The location is ideal for the traveller wishing to visit the near southwest of England. Bath, Bristol, Wells, Salisbury, Stonehenge, The Cotswolds, Mendips and many other sites are within less than an hours drive. Lullington is an ideal place to base oneself for a weeks exploration of the area. Orchardleigh Park has been made into a pleasing golf course so couples with disparate interests can satisfy both without the need of a second car since the golf course is literally an easy walk down the lane.Lullington is also approximately an hour and a half drive from Heathrow which makes it a convenient place to begin or complete a visit to England.

The house was recently professionally renovated to provide three large en suite guest bedrooms which are tastefully decorated and furnished consistent with the period. We stay at Lullington frequently and are always pleased with the friendly, relaxing and helpful atmosphere created by the proprietors. The full English breakfast is excellent and there are many outstanding pubs in close proximity for evening meals.

  • Liked — Friendly Period Country atmosphere/
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher_Colon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Frome hotels
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Frome Hotel
0.9 mi away
Old Parsonage House
Old Parsonage House
#1 of 4 in Beckington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.6 mi away
Orchardleigh House
Orchardleigh House
#3 of 32 in Frome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Archangel
Archangel
#9 of 32 in Frome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Place To Stay
The Place To Stay
#5 of 32 in Frome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Lighthouse
The Lighthouse
#2 of 32 in Frome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lullington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lullington House

Property: Lullington House
Address: Lullington, Frome BA11 2PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Frome
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Frome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lullington House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former Victorian rectory set in rural quintessentially English village. The house stands in ten acres of paddocks, woodland and well maintained mature garden, enjoying both privacy and seclusion, and is home to an abundance of birds and wildlife. Our spacious bedrooms are elegantly furnished, and graced with four-poster beds, all complemented with sumptuous soft furnishings and large en-suite bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lullington House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lullington House Frome, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing