We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST place for pies!”
Review of The White Hart

The White Hart
Ranked #17 of 98 Restaurants in Frome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$24
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The BEST place for pies!”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

After a long day of travelling the pub kindly agreed to serve us after the normal time and we were so glad they did - we would not have wished to missed the fabulous pies. Don't know about the rest of the menu but can whole heartedly recommend their specialism. Pies in pubs can often be a way of hiding poor ingredients, but not in this case. We tried the venison & juniper and the chicken, ham & leek. Both were wonderful, full of quality ingredients. They were also fantastic value at £7.95 each including chunky chips and peas. Oh, the pub also serves some great local beers too!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank BigClearout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    41
    17
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely food, friendly staff, good price! :)”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely little pub tucked away in a pretty place. Decided to go here after reading other reviews, and I'm glad I did. Lovely staff on arrival, helpful and friendly. The menu was very good lots of choice. I had the steak burger and it was lovely at a very good price, large portion was fantastic. My partner had the pie and he said it was lovely. Worth a visit great food at a great price!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kirra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pies”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We went here as it was recommended both by tripadvisor contributors and our B+B. The pork pie was full of sauce and tasted good although maybe needed a little more stewing time for the pork. The steak and kidney pie was excellent, packed with meat and gravy with light pastry. Crispy chunky chips came with the meal and tasted very good too.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bally17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Amazing pie and chunky chips :)”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Me and my partner both had pie, beef and Stilton and Turkey and cranberry. Both very lovely. My young daughter had a child's meal and she had loads and thoroughly enjoyed it especially the chunky chips. Staying nearby at Longleat. Was well worth the drive

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R1a2y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Friendly welcome & good food”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Tucked away in a pretty village, it was a very friendly welcome on a rainy day. An extensive menu for a pub, all home prepared and cooked. Recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Mick Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White Hart also viewed

 

Been to The White Hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing