We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food great location”
Review of The Mill at Rode

The Mill at Rode
Ranked #28 of 100 Restaurants in Frome
Price range: US$13 - US$46
Cuisines: Barbecue, Contemporary, British, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Mill at Rode is a quintessential English inn, set on a stunning riverside site, surrounded by beautiful gardens and with a fabulous deck area overlooking the water. This former woollen mill is one of the few surviving that once put Rode on the map as a key trading centre and market town on the Somerset and Wiltshire border. The Mill was part of a consortium that won a competition to make a dress for Queen Charlotte, wife of King George III, and invented a dye colour Royal Blue.. The Mill is now part of the Butcombe Brewery group of pubs and through sensitive restoration still connects with its industrial past, including the historic waterwheel. The pub has recently undergone a big refurbishment and the result is a carefully crafted modern, contemporary environment that is ideal for meeting friends, enjoying family time, or celebrating major events, with private dining facilities for up to 60 guests. Renowned for its great fresh locally sourced food and convivial atmosphere, the Mill at Rode is a perfect location for all occasions. There is plenty of parking and outside the chance to try your hand at some typical English pub games such as Giant Jenga and croquet so it is ideal for enjoying the lovely natural setting on the River Frome. Close to Bath, the Mill is a mecca for locals and visitors alike who are looking for a relaxing time. The Mill chefs pride themselves on using only the best ingredients, with as many as possible being supplied locally. On the menu are some classic British dishes such as sausage and mash with onion gravy to hearty international favourites such as dry rubbed pork ribs. And of course there is a fantastic selection of ales from Butcombe Brewery and a wide range of wines to suit all tastes and palates.
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“great food great location”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

A sandpit for the kids and good menu choice with lovely lovely food.
Lovely location and close to our campsite

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank adam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    153
    102
    79
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frome, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice pub”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Have eaten here several times and the food and service has been excellent. Would recommend and on a nice evening it's lovely to sit outside by the river

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suzie_q_2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedale, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Food good but the service!!!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I was part of a prebooked party for a special birthday celebration lunch party. We sat down and noone came to ask what we wanted to drink, so I asked the group and went to the bar to make the order. I served the drinks to the guests. Then we were asked what we wanted for our lunch we made the order and waited and waited. The meal came piecemeal. Some people got their meal complete if it all came together on a plate, e.g a salad. But the majority were served with their meat but no vegetables for so long that the meat was getting cold so they stated to eat it. After a complaint the vegetables started to appear. The strange thing was that the meals from the favourites board came slower and in more bits than the ones from the menu.
I complained and we were given our puddings free. The actual food was very good if in some cases a little chill. But I would not repeat the visit if left to me.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SueMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Such a shame...”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My family & I have eaten at The Mill on many occasions all of which have been enjoyable, until tonight. We prefer to eat upstairs as between us we have 5 children and being close to the playroom helps everyone to have a lovely time. We'd booked a table upstairs only to find on arrival that we'd been given a table downstairs. In fairness to the staff they agreed that we could move to an upstairs table, but we paid the price for the rest of the evening.
We were forgotten about (until another customer came upstairs to inform us that our children were 'walking too loudly' in the playroom) and left to wait at least 20 minutes between courses. Before ordering we were given a list of food they had run out of, including chicken, fish & chips, mussels & baked beans! Throughout the evening we certainly felt like we were being treated as a nuisance as opposed to a well meaning, (& well paying, I might add) happy family of 11 trying to celebrate our mum's birthday.
Our food was good, but overpriced. The main toilets were unclean, smelly and had no soap; the children's bathroom was positively disgusting - no toilet roll or soap. The service was slow and shoddy. The room was dark & cold (we had to find the light switches ourselves!)
To top off a poor evening on trying to confirm a future booking for a large anniversary celebration, my dad was told there was no record of said booking & told to phone the following day to re-book. To make matters worse, this is the second time there has been 'no record' of this potential booking, suffice to say there will be no anniversary celebration at The Mill.
Such a shame that what was once a well established, atmospheric restaurant seems to have lost its charm.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Good despite being very busy”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Went out to dinner on Saturday night with friends - there was a wedding going on in the function room upstairs which we weren't aware of when booking (it may have swayed our decision for a 'quiet' meal out had we been told). The bar and restaurant were very busy and noisy. However the service was fairly fast and the food very good again (we last visited on Mothers Day for lunch and had an excellent Sunday roast). The waitresses and bar staff are all fairly young but were all very pleasant, though very busy which resulted in a request for the steak sauce to be on the side and no tomatoes to be overlooked, and having to request the bill a couple of times.
Not perfect but very close and all the food was well cooked and beautifully presented. Would definitely return again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank c_robins2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mill at Rode also viewed

 

Been to The Mill at Rode? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing