We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Country Inn”
Review of Lord Poulett Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lord Poulett Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hinton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
124 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Great Country Inn”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Only 1 night here unfortunately but it was very comfortable. Staff were friendly & welcoming & the atmosphere of the inn is charming. Our only disappointment was having our bathroom across the corridor from our bedroom. We knew this in advance but we hadn't realised that we needed a key to open it & that it made quite a clunking noise to close the door which meant that if you needed to go there in the middle of the night, the noisy door & the squeaky ancient floorboards was perhaps a little disturbing for nearby guests!

Nice touches like cake & hot drinks on a table near to the rooms. Excellent value for money & you can eat at the excellent downstairs restaurant without having to stumble too far to bed!

Room Tip: All different & all very pleasant. The en-suites are definitely the most convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    50
    10
    17
    3
See reviews for
38
101
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

A little Gem in a small town!! Truly Enjoyed~

We went based on the recommendation on our accommodation website – we had a bit of hesitation when we arrived because it’s not very noticeable in a little small town – but oh my, it’s just a little gem hiding! We ordered the burger and the wild boar, and it was lovely – I love the triple cooked chips (and I’m not sure but the tomato sauce tasted so nice I think it could be homemade??).

The presentation was also given a great thought and it’s definitely not the ordinary pub food you are expecting!! We had such a nice meal, we went back the next day for lunch again, which is not the usual thing to do as we like to try different places! On 2nd visit, we had the Fish with Risotto and the Pork Belly and again, it’s delicious.

We saw a few tables being reserved and heard a lot of phone calls at the bar – all good signs that it’s a popular place for the area! We’re lucky both days we had sitting at the lovely spot with a bit of breeze and it wasn’t too busy (we went for Fri & Sat lunch time). If I ever go back to that area again, would definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paddyb-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We visited with the family on a recent Sunday afternoon, looking forward to the advertised jazz and Cajun barbeque. The music was great....but that was all. The food was poor and service minimal, burgers undercooked, ribs overcooked and tasteless, hotdogs made with stale rolls, no vegetarian option. And what was Cajun about the menu? The whole effort overpriced and over rated. There are so many complimentary reviews that complacency may have crept in. A very poor effort and a disappointment for the whole party.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We had a very nice stay and would certainly go back. Be sure to take a walk around the village as it was very pretty. Breakfast was spot on too! We didn't get chance to eat in the bar but it looked very nice.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAbbosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We found this by chance when we wanted a meal in the area but we will be back for sure. The pub itself is charming - lovely stone floors, thatched roof and a beautiful garden (we sat under the shade of bay trees and played petanque waiting for our lunch to arrive). The food is not cheap but extremely good - burgers are excellent, as were the fish cakes. Service was also very prompt and efficient. We will definitely be back for more.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

A recent dinner here was as great as usual. Interesting menu as always, great garden out the back where we had an aperitif and a game of pétanque. Delicious meal in the cosy dining room. Very friendly service. The Lord P is a real gem.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyRichardLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Stopped for lunch in this pretty village, as recommended by the Good Pub Guide. This must be one of the best pubs in England. Looking around, everything is good and reflects well on the taste of those running it. Both the staff and the customers would seem specially chosen. We felt lucky to be there. Enjoyed good Otter & Branscombe beer. In the gents, I met Mimi. But she does not talk to strangers. We tried to book a room for ten days later to experience the whole thing, but all rooms taken. We must try again.

Room Tip: Book well in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank embleton07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hinton
4.3 mi away
Best Western Shrubbery Hotel
6.0 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
6.0 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
New Inn
New Inn
#5 of 12 in Ilminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
2.6 mi away
Haselbury Mill
Haselbury Mill
#1 of 2 in Haselbury Plucknett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
3.6 mi away
Calendar Cottage
Calendar Cottage
#3 of 10 in Crewkerne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Poulett Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Poulett Arms

Property: Lord Poulett Arms
Address: High Street, Hinton TA17 8SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Hinton
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lord Poulett Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant 17th Century Inn located in a very peaceful location in one of the most beautiful villages in the West Country. Hinton St George is set in stunning rolling, typically English countryside on the borders of Somerset, Devon & Dorset. The Lord Poulett Arms has recently won numerous prestigious national awards including “Gastro Pub of the Year” from the Good Hotel Guide, & “National Dining Pub of the Year” in the Good Pub Guide & received superb reviews from every quality newspaper incl 9/10 for food & 9/10 service from The Sunday Times & “Best Sunday Lunch in the West Country” from The Observer. The Inn is furnished with taste & much of the furniture is antique. The quality of the food is the main draw to The Lord Poulett with it winning the Good Pub Guide “Somerset Dining Pub of the Year” in 2009, 2012, 2014 & 2015. The Inn has two gardens; one a French inspired knot garden with Wisteria covered pergola & Boules Piste & the other a typically English wild garden full of mistletoe covered apple tree’s, Hammocks & Love Seats & even a Five’s Wall (the forerunner to squash). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Lord Poulett Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Poulett Arms Hotel Hinton
Lord Poulett Arms Hinton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing