We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely pub, friendly staff”
Review of Lord Poulett Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lord Poulett Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hinton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxted
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Lovely pub, friendly staff”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed here on a family recommendation. It's a lovely pub with beautiful rooms and very friendly staff. There is a good wine list and a choice or local cider and ale. We found it difficult to choose from the short menu as they all looked good - but the mac cheese and fish stood out and the chocolate dessert was fantastic.

It isn't perfect however. Many rooms aren't en suite and ours (which was) didn't have a proper shower. Instead we had a stand alone bath (which was lovely) with a handheld shower which seemed designed to soak the room rather than the person showering. The tea making facilities were generous but were in the corridor not the room. I think these choices were made for style but probably aren't what most guests want. And that has detracted from my marking for rooms - if there was a proper shower and an in room kettle this would have been a 5 overall and a 5 for rooms.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingPlatypus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    50
    11
    17
    3
See reviews for
38
102
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This is our third stay at the Lord Poulett and once again it was superb. We stayed for two nights and ate in the restaurant both nights. Service and food was spot on. The only dampener was the officious male member of the waiting on staff on our second night. This dour gentlemen made us feel rather uncomfortable noisily rearranged chairs around us and at one point drawing the curtains behind us so that we felt we were in the way with not so much as an 'excuse me'. Other than this, the staff couldn't do enough to help and were excellent. The bulb went on the second night in our room tripping the lighting and within 5 minutes of reporting it this was remedied. The Lord Poulett Arms really is a delightful place and we would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toolongtess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed here for one night in April 2014, a few days after our wedding. From the outset the service was excellent, all of the staff we spoke to were chatty and helpful. Our room was very pretty with an extremely comfortable bed! Our bathroom was across the hallway, but as it was quiet this didn't cause any problems. We were able to sit out in the garden, which was probably the highlight of our stay: we sat underneath a trellis where kiwi fruits were growing, cushions were provided, and despite being bounded by other houses it felt very peaceful and private. Dinner in the restaurant was lovely, and breakfast next morning was equally delicious. We both felt that our stay was very good value for money, and that the staff genuinely cared about making our visit special.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieNeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We often end up in this beautiful part of the country and this is probably my favourite pub anywhere! We were very excited to have the opportunity to stay over for a night recently. The food, decor, atmosphere, breakfast and staff are all absolutely wonderful! We had a room at the far end of the corridor and it was beautiful! The room was really nicely decorated, with a fantastic luxurious roll top bath at one end and a wonderful big sleigh bed...but there was one huge let down... the mattress! It was an incredibly uncomfortable mattress (and we're saying this as two normal sized people who normally have the ability to sleep almost anywhere on anything). Unfortunately it was far too soft and squishy, so that with two people it felt like we were both sleeping on a hill, trying not to roll into the dip in the middle all night so that we didn't squish each other. Sadly, it made for a very bad nights sleep...

I never normally take the time to write reviews and I wouldn't now, except that this place is so lovely in every other respect, with a different mattress it would be the perfect place and we'd be back to stay all the time!

Room Tip: Fantastic place but room at the far end of the corridor has very uncomfortable mattress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarpoLarpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed at the Lord Poulett Arms over a weekend in February 2014. We got the feeling that the inn is located pretty much in the middle of nowhere, but since we were driving (from London) this was not a big problem.

The rooms (or at least the room we had) are quirky and personal even thought the en suite bathroom was very cold. The bed was nice and comfy.

The service was excellent and very forthcoming. We were late upon arriving but it was ensured that we could get a bottle of wine to the room and we were directed to a take-away a short drive away.

Breakfast is cooked to order and the ingredients are local and of very high quality. My girlfriend complained about the full English breakfast was lacking the beans and that this made the dish a bit dry. We had dinner on the Saturday night and it was fabulous. We had three courses (albeit we shared the dessert) and all dishes were very good. Cleverly constructed and carefully prepared the dishes were very well balanced. Special mention to the starter of house smoked trout which was the best dish we have had in any restaurant in a long while. The service was immaculate.

All in all a very satisfying stay and the Lord Poulett Arms is highly recommended.


/Henrik

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Our friends, who live locally, introduced us to this pub, which we really enjoyed. It was amazingly busy for a Tuesday lunchtime - it seems we should have booked. Cream of turnip soup was a hit (yes, really!) and all the dishes were good and very plentiful portions. Otter ale on draught. Perhaps the best thing of all was the service - friendly but not pushy, and efficient even though they were busy. It's a bit off the beaten track, but well worth the effort and we will go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonBarneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Faultlessly executed cooking presented stylishly. Local produce served on an imaginative menu. The pub is inviting and cosy. Service let it down a little. Maybe due to the food being so much more than "normal" pub food & the service being just lacking that special touch.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SarahE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hinton
6.0 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
354 reviews
4.3 mi away
Best Western Shrubbery Hotel
2.2 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#2 of 2 in Crewkerne
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Haselbury Mill
Haselbury Mill
#1 of 2 in Haselbury Plucknett
478 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lower Severalls Farmhouse
Lower Severalls Farmhouse
#4 of 10 in Crewkerne
57 reviews
3.6 mi away
Calendar Cottage
Calendar Cottage
#3 of 10 in Crewkerne
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Poulett Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Poulett Arms

Property: Lord Poulett Arms
Address: High Street, Hinton TA17 8SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Hinton
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lord Poulett Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant 17th Century Inn located in a very peaceful location in one of the most beautiful villages in the West Country. Hinton St George is set in stunning rolling, typically English countryside on the borders of Somerset, Devon & Dorset. The Lord Poulett Arms has recently won numerous prestigious national awards including “Gastro Pub of the Year” from the Good Hotel Guide, & “National Dining Pub of the Year” in the Good Pub Guide & received superb reviews from every quality newspaper incl 9/10 for food & 9/10 service from The Sunday Times & “Best Sunday Lunch in the West Country” from The Observer. The Inn is furnished with taste & much of the furniture is antique. The quality of the food is the main draw to The Lord Poulett with it winning the Good Pub Guide “Somerset Dining Pub of the Year” in 2009, 2012, 2014 & 2015. The Inn has two gardens; one a French inspired knot garden with Wisteria covered pergola & Boules Piste & the other a typically English wild garden full of mistletoe covered apple tree’s, Hammocks & Love Seats & even a Five’s Wall (the forerunner to squash). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lord Poulett Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Poulett Arms Hotel Hinton
Lord Poulett Arms Hinton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing