We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A proper pub”
Review of The Plough Inn

The Plough Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Plough Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Holford B&B and Inns
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A proper pub”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We've just spent a couple of days in the village and ate and drank at this pub both days. Food was excellent Doom Bar bitter on draght very good and a welcoming landlord. We felt like we'd been drinking there all our lives. Very dog friendly. Thanks Chris hope we can come back soon

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank papasmetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Been here many of times and food is fantastic and wonderful owners, always visit there for a great meal

*note to food poison comment*
This is not the pub what have done this !!! And 100% confirm because there has been no problems there

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Junioruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorset
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely meal at the plough. Home cooked food, fantastic value for money. The staff were so welcoming and friendly. We are staying at the hotel up the road but fancied a pub meal. We would eat here again. Love Bruno the dog too..

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank claire b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We called in here for something to eat on a long drive and we were so glad we did! We were greeted by the landlord and shown to a table by a real log fire - what a treat on a cold night. The menu included plenty of home cooked favourites and as foodie people we were spoilt for choice. Our food was cooked to perfection and all members of our party were happy.
We would definitely recommend this for good wholesome pub food and a warm welcome.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaz3800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We took a stroll down the lane from the hotel we were staying in and enjoyed a quiet drink and a game of darts. A friendly atmosphere with cheaper drinks than the hotel. Worth a visit.
We didn't eat a meal there but this was due to the fact that we had already eaten. The second day we returned for a drink after a day out. The staff were chatty and although it was a small local we did not feel out of place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HDT63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We had a wonderful meal at the plough and the head chef there did everything he could to meet our needs. Would 100% recommend you to try this place when ever you can because I will be going back often.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Junioruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We were a party of 4 staying at the hotel at the top of the lane. Popped in for a drink and meal on our second night in Holford and received a friendly greeting from mine host & staff. We tried some of the local beer and very nice it was. We ordered 4 meals and I had a starter as well (I'm the greedy one!) and all the food was freshly cooked and very tasty indeed. Pricing was about average for traditional pub grub and the surroundings were standard country pub, cosy and inviting rather than basic & modern.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough Inn

Property: The Plough Inn
Address: Holford TA5 1RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Holford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Holford
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plough Inn is a village pub situated on the main A39 from Bridgwater, Somerset towards Minehead and at the foot of the Quantock Hills. We are ideally situated for walking on the hills, mountain biking and a short distance from the beach. We have a large carpark to the rear and beer garden to the front, we also welcome dogs into the pub. We serve excellent pub food all day at reasonable prices and provide a takeaway service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Plough Inn Somerset/Holford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing