We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel and location”
Review of Combe House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Combe House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Holford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Powys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel and location”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Our welcome was a bit unfortunate as the lady on reception expected us to carry our heavy bags from the car park some distance away even though there was no porterage offered. We had committed the sin of stopping outside the hotel entrance to unload, although we weren't causing any actual or potential problem doing this. Her directions to our room were confusing too. We did have minor issues with her attitude the next morning at breakfast also but I have to add that every other member of staff was wonderful; in fact they went out of their way to be helpful.
Comfortable room and good food and service more than made up for the incidents above which we didn't allow to spoil our stay, and we also enjoyed chatting with the other guests in the bar. All in all a very pleasant stay.
An ideal base for walking and exploring this beautiful part of Somerset

Room Tip: Beware the slender redhead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank malbualt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garethweed, Manager at Combe House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
This is not a formal manageent response - But as I can see no other way to report a problem with this review I have decided to bring it to attention via this section of your website.

This review has been allowed in full when it clearly states under the section Room Tips 'Beware the slender redhead!'

This may well be a very personalised criticsim of a member of staff, but it should not be allowed in any way under the room Tips section and is contrary to the Trip Advisor guidelines and as such should be rmoved from this review.

Thank You - Combe House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    177
    57
    20
    17
See reviews for
106
402
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed a really super weekend here in February 2014. Excellent location to explore some stunning countryside, made to feel very welcome, by the very hard working and diligent staff and owners, Sophie in particular was brilliant. Room a little quirky; it's an old building but really comfortable and good bed. Highlight however was the food. The chef is clearly very talented!

Only reasons I'd suggest you don't go would be if you don't like dogs,want to watch tv all the time (reception not great), need a mobile reception or need to use the Wi-Fi, which isn't great. To be fair, if those things are important you may as well stay at home / work!

Definitely recommend use of hot tub :-)

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kohchang_1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid Wales
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My husband and I had a 2 night stay here in February which was with a Groupon voucher. We upgraded the room and as we try and always take our dog , we were pleased to see that the hotel was dog friendly. I would query why we weren't allowed to leave our dog in our room at meal times. All the hotels we have gone to have always allowed this. I didn't like putting him a cold car during our meals. We could of eaten in the bar and taken him in there , but the bar area is tiny with room for only about 8 people and with dogs as well, very difficult . I can only assume that they've had bad experiences with inconsiderate dog owners. We liked the walks very much . The food was nice but no fruit at breakfast time. The staff were very nice bar one girl who was quite sharp with us. I'd only just stepped foot through the door when she told me not to stop my car outside. I'd only done this to unload a very heavy bag and had no intention of parking there. The other staff were lovely though, especially the lady who got us a heater as the radiator wasn't working. We met some other very nice guests and enjoyed there company .

Room Tip: Can't compare as I don't know anything about other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hugomidwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed at the weekend to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday. I had booked via groupon and upgraded to an executive room, as this was all that was available. However, as it was such a good deal in the first place I was more than happy to pay the extra and the room was lovely.
The hotel has the perfect setting in peaceful surroundings with good access to a number of country walks and a short drive from several quaint Somerset villages.
From the moment we arrived staff were friendly and attentive. We booked to eat in the hotel on the first night and the food was delicious, although we did opt to eat in the second restaurant room, which felt a bit bare and 'under construction' which may well be the case.
The staff made an extra effort to speak to guests and to give the personal touch. Overall a great weekend in very welcoming hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jiminyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Fantastic location, quiet, peaceful and great if you want to escape from the 'chain hotel' experience. Friendly staff and great service and we enjoyed our meals there. The Plough in Holford also serves local beer and quality pub grub.Great base for walking but do bring your OS map as lots of similar paths around the hotel! Our dogs enjoyed a warm welcome at the hotel too and loved exploring the countryside. If you do visit in February, do make the car journey up to Wheddon Cross to see Snow Drop Valley - you wont be disappointed. It was a muddy walk but there is transport to and from by mini bus from the village if you don't fancy the walk. Truly beautiful flat valley walk along a stream with a carpet of snowdrops either side when you get there. Lots to see and do in vicinity of Exmoor and Coombe House Hotel is a great base.

Room Tip: Room 19 has the most comfortable kingsize bed I have ever slept in and small conservatory was great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamandAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We have just returned from here after a 2 night girly weekend for my mum's 59th birthday. The hotel is so beautiful and the surrounding grounds and countryside are stunning ! The staff were constantly friendly and smiling and bent over backwards to make our stay enjoyable. The whole place was very clean and we had everything we needed. The breakfasts were lovely and the cream tea was delicious! We ate in the restaurant on the first night and the food was very nice and the portion sizes were good.
Coombe house hotel is well placed for visits to local villages and for walking or to go to the rugged Kilve beach where we saw loads of fossils in the rocks. I'm looking forward to returning to Coombe house when I can. The only 2 downsides that we experienced were the fact that the single beds are perhaps slightly small for taller people (maybe we should have had a double rather than twin room) and that the kitchen ran out of English muffins on the last morning at breakfast. Hardly terrible tragedies. All in all a great experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Visited here in January , beautiful hotel and location. Staff friendly and welcoming nothing too much trouble. Food excellent had 2 very good evening meals and breakfast beautiful. Would highly recommend this hotel for a relaxing break away

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMLBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holford
1.3 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
15.6 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
10.1 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
11.8 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 12 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
4.5 mi away
Apple Tree Hotel
Apple Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in Keenthorne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Combe House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Combe House Hotel

Property: Combe House Hotel
Address: Butterfly Combe, Holford TA5 1RZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Holford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Holford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Combe House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Combe House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Combe House Hotel Somerset/Holford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing