We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Detox” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amchara Health Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Langford Budville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amchara Health Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Detox”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Lovely old house in a quiet location ideal for relaxing, the room overall was comfortable, lots going on including talks, yogi, food demo etc, the staff were very helpful, overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    24
    3
    2
    5
See reviews for
12
17
66
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

I visited Amchara after it was recommended to me by a friend of mine. I went to clear my mind and body after many years of suffering with various disorders. I felt taken care of at every stage of my journey. The staff were warm and made you feel like part of the family. They carefully guided me through my detox and were more than willing to sit and tap to me when I had any concerns or fears. If you are looking for somewhere to stay where you can "push the re-set button" and make friends in the progress, Amchara is the place to stay. Set in the beautiful countryside of Somerset, you are truly able to unwind and allow the detox process to work it's magic. Take a leap... you will learn so much about yourself and it will allow you to reconnect with your environment.

Thank you for allowing me to heal myself:)

Room Tip: If you are on a budget you can do as I did and share. Make sure you are open to sharing with a stran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nutrition-Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

As an only child i nursed my Mother and lost her to advanced dementia, i needed somewhere that would look after me!. I found the very special Amchara. The staff were so kind, genuine and it was like being with family. The classes and talks were excellent, i learnt so much and lost 12lbs in a week. The stay was so much more than i expected. I can't recommend it enough, fantastic value intact priceless.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Junaper6868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

I took my daughter here for help with her diet and to lose some weight myself. We had the most relaxing and enjoyable time even though we only had juice for the whole week.
We were never bored as there are plenty of things to do and great company.
The staff were wonderful, caring and very knowledgeable.
On the day of leaving all came to say goodbye and good luck. We left lighter and feeling great!
Ok its not the ritz but its a lovely house in the country with open fires and wonderfuly homely feel
which is perfect to relax in.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleSandFairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Wonderful, fantastic. Wish i had done this years ago. Will definitely go back. I feel like i am in my twenties again. Amchara, thank you so much. I no longer let food dominate my life, bye bye to process food and red meat. I didn't realise vegetables could taste so good. My fridge's now packed with vegetables. To all the staff at Amchara, a massive thank you. xxxx

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mdrew170763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

I had a life changing stay and can not recommend it more highly. The house is perfect for the detox, comforting and private with large indoor and outdoor spaces to roam. The staff are on top of their game all bringing a wealth of knowledge and intelligence to the detox. In particular noelle the yoga teacher was exceptional both in teaching and in caring for the detoxes. Throughout my week many decided to extend their stay to 2/3 weeks as they immediately realised what an incredible place they had landed up in. In fact there were a few long stayers, ie over a month who were undergoing life transformations and getting their health back. It was wonderful to see. I will definitely be returning and have managed with their help to extend my detox for a week on my return to home. If family commitments were not pressing I would have extended my stay. If you are looking to regain your vitality and learn a new healthy way of life book now.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Georgie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

I spent a week at Amchara on the juice detox. I had a great time and really enjoyed my experience. The juices were delicious and the yoga classes and tai chi were excellent. I was never bored and never hungry! The staff really make it special and are very caring, nothing is too much trouble for them. I lost 8 pounds and gained lots of energy, but more than that I've changed the way I think about food and have no doubt that I will carry on with raw food to improve my health. I'd recommend this place to anyone looking to detox, reset and relax. It's not a 5* spa but I think it's great value for money and has everything you need.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammy_Dee1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langford Budville
2.9 mi away
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
3.6 mi away
Travelodge Wellington Somerset Hotel
3.0 mi away
Fitzhead Inn
Fitzhead Inn
#5 of 55 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Old Dairy at Bishops Barton
3.3 mi away
Exmoor Gate Lodges
Exmoor Gate Lodges
#2 of 4 in Waterrow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
2.9 mi away
BeamBridge Inn
BeamBridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Sampford Arundel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amchara Health Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amchara Health Retreat

Property: Amchara Health Retreat
Address: Langford Budville, Langford Budville TA21 0RU, England (Formerly Bindon Country House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Langford Budville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Langford Budville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amchara is an integrated health retreat located at Bindon Country House in West Somerset.Amchara specialises in helping people who either wish to detox or are looking for an integrated positive alternative to a variety of health challenges. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bindon Country House Hotel Langford Budville
Bindon Country Hotel
Amchara Health Retreat Langford Budville, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing