We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Hideaway”
Review of The Manor Arms

The Manor Arms
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Manor Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Perrott
Calne, Wiltshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Hideaway”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

After a bad experience elsewhere we decided to book a couple of nights in this lovely characteristic bed and breakfast. I call it this as its so much more than a pub. We were greeted by Debbie, nothing was too much trouble. Throughout our stay the hospitality and friendliness was fantastic, my 7 year old daughter said it should have been a 10 star! The food was to die for all freshly cooked and local produce. I really can't say enough about this place, it has to be tried, we shall return, thank you to all who work there for making our holiday memorable. T M and Lola!

Room Tip: We had the family room, near the road but wasn't a problem as its tucked away in a sleepy villag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Countrygent86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizn732, Owner at The Manor Arms, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Thank you so much for that review and am only too pleased that your stay was both comfortable and memorable. The girls all fell in love with your young daughter who engaged everyone she saw in the pub. We all try to make our guests feel at home when they visit as it all adds to their overall experience. It appears to me that people like yourself , who are prepared to spend 5 minutes writing a review, are the backbone of our bookings - if only there were more of you about. Kind regards, Elizabeth Neville (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    18
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
28
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury
Level Contributor
76 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

It is a good old traditional pub with no pretensions - our room was in an outside converted barn, fairly basic, but comfortable enough. We were a party of 10, walking the Perrott Trail, and although we arrived a little early (5.15 pm when check-in is at 6), they let us in without complaint. The staff were always helpful and friendly, the meals were above average for a pub and the beer was truly excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizn732, Owner at The Manor Arms, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. As a party of 10 it is very good to know that you all had an enjoyable stay, however brief, and that food and drink were all they should be. (particularly the beers which my husband prides himself on!) All of our food ingredients are sourced locally and traditionally cooked in our own kitchen - hence your comment on the excellent food. The girls that do all the basic work to make your stay welcoming have been with us for many years and I know go out of their way to make everyone feel at home. Although the pub is in desperate need of updating in many ways, it is still full of character and charm and emits an atmosphere of warmth and olde English hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelvedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

A web search for a 6-night stay in Somerset near Crewkerne in a place that offered the chance of evening meals to avoid having to go out to eat turned up Manor Arms. As others have said, it is a traditional old village pub, not long bought by its present landlord, who is trying to recover trade lost in recent times of neglect. The three of us are all over 80 years old and we could hardly have found another place that so fulfilled our needs of quietness, care & attention and good eating.
The rooms were comfortable, quiet & clean; the staff were attentive & keen to satisfy their guests' requests; the menu was good, standard English cookery, the meals full & satisfying. If the wine list was not extensive, what was on offer was very palatable. Our rooms were in a converted 'barn', but there are others inside the inn itself, which we did not see.
Although a main road runs by, we were not disturbed by traffic noises and our night's sleep was never disturbed by extraneous noises. All in all we found the experience most pleasant and would recommend Manor Arms to anyone who wanted a peaceful & happy stay,

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaybeesquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

As we where staying in North Perrott for a couple of days called in one evening for a quick drink, found it to be a very good pint and the wife she had a cider as you do in Somerset ,the barstaff where helpful and friendly a real old pub not like these chrome and glass a pub you visited when you where younger,well worth a visit

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davymole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizn732, Owner at The Manor Arms, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Thank you for your review. You seemed to have packed a lot into one day! It is nice that people do take time to write reviews as it all helps in the long run. Hope we will see you back in North Perrott again soon. You may have noticed that we had an earlier review from a lady in Mold some months back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

a very enjoyable stay here just this week, this is a very old pub and has all the fittings of its age old stone slab floors, lead glass windows and old farm implements on the ceiling. Dont think though that you wont get a very hearty breakfast because you will all being served by very helpfull and jolly staff including bar staff who will serve you a choice of three very well kept hand pulled beers and a good selection of spirits and lagers. The village location is isolated with no shops or street lights but I found this an advantage just depends on what you want. Our room was clean with an onsuite shower that was very clean, not massive but does the job. A warm room (3) with its own electric heater you controlled. We ate there only once but the food was good, the veg was gorgeous and plenty of it, enjoyed our stay just one thing to warn about..... it is five pounds per night dearer to book online even via laterooms, as we did, than to phone your booking in!

Room Tip: phone your booking in
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barryputer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

lovely place to stay, great staff always got a smile. room very clean and everything you need for a comfy night. we stayed for 2 nights and would definately go back again. location is very good for visits to the coast or to the many local villages and towns. if you want relaxing friendly atmosphere then visit this pub its great.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizn732, Owner at The Manor Arms, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Beverley, thank you so much for that lovely review. Sorry it has taken me so long to respond. It is always gratifying when people take time out to write a review. By staying for a couple of nights you obviously got a feel for the area. We are so central for both the Jurassic Coast and Thomas Hardy country as well as being within 10 miles of at least 4 National Properties, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
491 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Not a Hilton, but it gives you what you need for a stopover. We booked via Hotels.com and were called by the hotel as they wanted to make sure we knew they were closed between 2.30 and 5pm and had seen the confirmation email did not include this info. Nice touch. Room was basic, shower a bit temperamental, but breakfast was hearty.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobetrottingViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Perrott
2.1 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#2 of 2 in Crewkerne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
3.7 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beaminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
6.9 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
1.4 mi away
Haselbury Mill
Haselbury Mill
#1 of 2 in Haselbury Plucknett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor Arms

Property: The Manor Arms
Address: 19 Middle Street, North Perrott TA18 7SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > North Perrott
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Perrott
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Manor Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Village Inn set in heart of a conservation village on the West Dorset/South Somerset borders, Built in local mellow stone, with beamed ceilings and inglenook fireplace it is a Freehouse serving a fine selection of cask ales, full a-la-carte dining room, bar snacks and a function room for private parties. It has a large car park at the rear together with a very pleasant beer garden. There are 9 letting en-suite rooms. Five are situated in the Coach House at the rear of the main building (of which 2 are set on the ground floor to facilitate guests with mobility problems. The remaining 4 rooms are situated upstairs above the bar within the Inn' The village of North Perrott is an ideal stopping spot for seeing the sights of the area. We are close to the West Dorset Coast for Lyme Bay, Weymouth and the whole Jurassic Coast is within 30 minutes driving time. We are surrounded by National Trust properties, beautiful walking country and some of the most picturesque villages Britain has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your The Manor Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor Arms Hotel North Perrott
Manor Arms North Perrott
The Manor Arms North Perrott, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing