We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Walnut Tree Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Petherton
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Always good!”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We go to The Walnut Tree to eat quite often, we have been going there for about 10 - 11 years and I have only had to complain once and that was years ago! The food and service is excellent, friendly staff who are always very helpfull and polite.
This week we have been twice so I'm very happy! :-) ~ Valentines day which was just perfect, the menu was good and the atmosphere was just right! Then after announcing that I would not be cooking on sunday everyone decided they wanted a roast so we went again last night as you just can't beat it! Huge yorkshire puddings and the tastiest pork crackling ever!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smithnumber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    92
    27
    15
    12
See reviews for
45
83
13
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Had a pleasant meal but there was something missing! The menu was new but seemed like the finishing touches we're forgotten. Had beet root tart but it needed a dressing or some sort of sauce, as did the salads as we asked for balsamic to give it some taste.

My husband had the same feeling about his starter which needed a chutney to make it complete.

Mains of duck was lovely, as was the pudding and with a little more consideration this would have been an excellent meal.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billandden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Really quite a nice stop over. Rocked up at 7 at night and we were in a room five minutes later. Bed was compfy and bathroom was large enough for an australian male. The breakfast was fantastic, to the point were I had to skip lunch and the staff were lovely, got the chefs in 30 minutes early for us.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vale of Glamorgan, South wales
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Stayed for one night. Breakfast was excellent (as always) Also there is a lovely friendly lady who has been serving breakfast for the few years we have stayed and probably longer who always greets you with a smile and starts your day off right. We have stayed here a few times before and although we have eaten in the restaurant on a few occasions we didn't this time. The food has always been good however. You will get a good nights sleep as beds are comfortable and the back rooms are nice and quiet.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2011

I had THE best meals here during our two night stay for a very long time at any hotel. Their new chef brings a new flair to those traditional favourites and also offers some unusual dishes too, beautifully presented and so fresh and tasty too. The breakfasts too are a real treat ahead of your day. I would suggest just staying here to try the restaurant even!

Five star cuisine and very friendly staff too :-)

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fluffydoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 486 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Food is freshly cooked (and decent portions) to order, so if you want a quick meal, you will have a problem here.
It is more suitable for the leisurely 'having a chat' type of pub meal and special occasion lunches.
Couldn't fault the service, but it wasn't the cheapest lunch going and it might benefit from doing something like the fixed price lunch menu that we see a lot of nowadays.
We enjoyed the food, it was well presented and the syrup sponge and ice-cream dessert was worthy of mention.
Very enjoyable, but I couldn't afford to eat there every week.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eLaReF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Went here to celebrate a 50th birthday but also chosen as handy for family relatives who are less mobile. Staff throughout very attentive, welcoming and the food was fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whyayepet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Petherton
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Bridgwater M5
Travelodge Bridgwater M5
#5 of 6 in Bridgwater
175 reviews
5.6 mi away
Apple Tree Hotel
Apple Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in Keenthorne
115 reviews
5.0 mi away
Admirals Table
Admirals Table
#4 of 6 in Bridgwater
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
The Royal Clarence Hotel
The Royal Clarence Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burnham-On-Sea
175 reviews
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
11.4 mi away
Travelodge Wellington Somerset Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Walnut Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Walnut Tree Hotel

Property: The Walnut Tree Hotel
Address: 87 Fore Street, North Petherton TA6 6QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > North Petherton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Petherton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Walnut Tree Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Walnut Tree Hotel Somerset, a lovingly restored 18th-century coaching Inn. Tastefully modernised to meet the needs and expectations of the 21st Century. Our bar, Lemon Tree Restaurant and The Bistro are delightfully warm and welcoming, serving mouth watering food for all occasions. A professional environment for conferences and business meetings. We have vast experience arranging functions from small meetings to large corporate events. We have six individual rooms and groups of 2-100 are welcome. From Sunday lunch to hosting your Wedding, The Walnut Tree Hotel in Somerset can cater for all. The Walnut Tree Hotel near Bridgwater and Taunton in Somerset is the ideal venue for your break. Whether you intend touring the area and visiting Exmoor or The Quantocks, it makes the ideal base. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your The Walnut Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Walnut Tree Hotel North Petherton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing