We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Walnut Tree Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Bridgwater Hotel(Bridgwater)(Great Value!)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Admirals Table(Bridgwater)
US$67
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Taunton(Taunton)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Taunton East(Taunton)(Great Value!)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apple Tree Hotel(Keenthorne)
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (273)
Filter reviews
273 results
Traveller rating
111
101
29
18
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
111
101
29
18
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarnival weekendgala dinnerroom was largetrouser pressexecutive roomchecking outgood sizesaturday eveningbreakfast was excellentnext morningbuffet stylea great nights sleepstayed one nightmain roadtwo nightsfeel very welcomecomfortable stay
Filter
Updating list...
188 - 193 of 273 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Have not stayed at the hotel, but if the restaurant is anything to go by it will be very good. Had a good birthday meal in the Lemon Tree Restaurant. Staff were really friendly, service very quick. Will eat here again. Sorry - couldn't find it under restaurants but wanted to comment.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Loves2lunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Comfortable large bedrooms, extremely friendly staff, good quality food, and a choice of decent beers at the bar. Anyone walking the MacMillan Way West, as our group of 8 was, should definitely stay here for a night or two since the walk goes past the front door. An excellent breakfast set us up well for each day ahead and we all agreed that we would stay there again if ever in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel since the front is adjacent to the A38
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights for a local wedding. The price was way over the top for what is a basic bed and breakfast place. I have stayed in much better hotels for less than the 96 pounds per night we paid. The decor is so outdated and the bed was very worn and uncomfortable. The breakfast the first morning was fabulous and freshly cooked however morning two was for some reason a help yourself affair which was a real let down in terms of quality. The worst thing of all was the bedroom and hallway doors which are not damped properly and so bang loudly once people start moving around the place in the morning and late at night. Real plus point is the staff who are really friendly and helpful ,would not stay again at that price.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davebaker44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walnuttree87, Manager at The Walnut Tree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

So sorry to hear you were disappointed with your room. We do try to have the highest standards of both cleanliness and service possible. We are sorry we did not achieve this is your case.

If you are travelling this way again, please contact us direct to make your reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We needed food, it was 2:30, what welcome would we get from a chef going home, a watress tidying up and a barman wiping the bar ?

As It turned out a very warm, welcome a well humoured waitress( Thank you Dawn) who was keen to ensure that our gluten free and vegetarian friends were fully considered.

Two lovelly courses of beautifully prepared , expertly cooked and well presented dishes, with fresh ingredients and fabulous flavours.

Having passed the door often I now know we shal go back, the decor may be dated but the qualities that matter in a restaurant were faultless.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dozyrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

We travelled from Honiton to meet friends on holiday nearby and I chose the Walnut based on reviews and was not disappointed as the attention by staff was good and the food was tasty although my monkfish dish was rather small. The only problem we had was with the poor quality Baklava which was taken from the table without question and an alternative offered. Although not staying the reception area looked clean and welcoming and I would go again when in the area but too far for a regular trip.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank chappie1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews