We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lemon Tree good food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Walnut Tree Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Petherton
Certificate of Excellence
Torquay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lemon Tree good food”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

My wife and I have just enjoyed a wonderful meal in The Lemon Tree Restaurant at The Walnut Tree Hotel in North Petherton. I had the Pan Fried Breast of Duck and my husband had the Grilled Plaice with Mussels & Clams.

Our meals were cooked to perfection (our compliments to the chef) and the staff, as always, were attentive and friendly. We will be back again soon to try more of the same.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adrian p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    94
    27
    16
    12
See reviews for
45
84
13
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Arrived much later than planned on a cold, dark and wet October night. Reception open and staff on duty were friendly and welcoming. The reception is bright, clear and airy which gives an immediate positive vibe. Check in very easy and informative and the receptionist committed to doing her job well. As I walked to my room staff around the building said hello, checked I was ok etc..

The room (28) was large, warm and well furnished. The cleaners are clearly proud if what they do and it shows. The bed was not to my personal liking but nevertheless I had a good sleep.

The evening meal was well cooked and presented. Best steak I have had in a long while - full marks. Again the staff are friendly and attentive. If I were to live close by I think I would choose the bar as my local.

Breakfast was generous and well cooked. Good selection only down side was I did not have the time to be more adventurous than the traditional.

Overall a good place to stay and the manager and staff should be very proud of what they all do.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashby
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Staying here was like a trip back in time.
Not to my normal taste but just like living at home with my parents.
By that, I mean clean, comfortable, friendly but in a slightly old fashioned way.
The kind of place where people shop at M&S/Debenhams.
That said, I had a great nights sleep so uit can't be all bad

Room Tip: Make sure it suits your taste before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farfromthesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night on business based on reviews. The staff were lovely and very helpful. Rooms were imaculate and clean but the whole place had a very dated feel like from the 70's. Internet access was very good and it was quiet.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We went there several months ago with a large family group including two coeliacs and my 92 year old gran. They bent over backwards to make sure my gran was comfortable and had everything she needed. They had a good understanding of gluten free food and avoidance of cross-contamination. We all had the roast which was very good.

The service was excellent too.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank NXL2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I have visited here several times as it is a convenient point to meet friends and family. The hotel has an old fashioned service and food is always cooked to order.

We met there on Thursday evening and unfortunately, it was very busy and the management had underestimated how busy it would be. Consequently, it ended with us being very hungry and waiting longer than usual. However, as normal we received excellent food and apologies from the head waiter. Love it here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northop, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

What a great hotel, not only was the room immaculate the staff were so helpful. This was the first time I had stayed away alone and was a bit nervous, however the restaurant were very accomodating letting me order my food from the room and even offered to bring it up for me but I thought I needed to get out a bit! Excellent service, food was good (if I had to pick at anything the desserts could do with a bit more variety but I do have a sweet tooth!). Would definately recommend this hotel to anybody, just thought was worth noting the extra service and security I felt as somebody travelling alonw - I will definately be back!!

Room Tip: Although I was only booked into a standard room I was upgraded as it was a quieter time to an exec r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Petherton
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Bridgwater M5
Travelodge Bridgwater M5
#5 of 6 in Bridgwater
178 reviews
5.6 mi away
Apple Tree Hotel
Apple Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in Keenthorne
117 reviews
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
The Royal Clarence Hotel
The Royal Clarence Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burnham-On-Sea
177 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
812 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Walnut Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Walnut Tree Hotel

Property: The Walnut Tree Hotel
Address: 87 Fore Street, North Petherton TA6 6QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > North Petherton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Petherton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Walnut Tree Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Walnut Tree Hotel Somerset, a lovingly restored 18th-century coaching Inn. Tastefully modernised to meet the needs and expectations of the 21st Century. Our bar, Lemon Tree Restaurant and The Bistro are delightfully warm and welcoming, serving mouth watering food for all occasions. A professional environment for conferences and business meetings. We have vast experience arranging functions from small meetings to large corporate events. We have six individual rooms and groups of 2-100 are welcome. From Sunday lunch to hosting your Wedding, The Walnut Tree Hotel in Somerset can cater for all. The Walnut Tree Hotel near Bridgwater and Taunton in Somerset is the ideal venue for your break. Whether you intend touring the area and visiting Exmoor or The Quantocks, it makes the ideal base. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Superbreak UK and LateRooms so you can book your The Walnut Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Walnut Tree Hotel North Petherton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing