We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel with attention to detail”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Walnut Tree Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Petherton
Certificate of Excellence
Aude
Level Contributor
112 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel with attention to detail”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel en route to Plymouth and were delighted by the welcome given by the friendly receptionist.

Our room was very spacious, spotlessly clean despite a rather tired carpet.

Large bathroom with very long bath. Superb quality towels and toiletries.

Tea, coffee and biscuits provided.

Room was peaceful despite central village location.

Breakfast was excellent with very good choice. Waitress just a little too familiar!

Certainly a hotel to be revisited, as it has a very good bar. There is also a bistro and a restaurant.

Food in the restaurant does not match expectation of menu, but service good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AudePixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    92
    26
    15
    12
See reviews for
44
81
13
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We used this hotel for a Wake and also for the family to stay the evening before.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were a good size and well presented.
7 of us ate in the restaurant and once again the staff were very friendly and the food was superb and certainly not overpriced.

The room for the Wake was just the right size and the buffet was well presented and just the right amount of food.

Well done to Annette and her staff in looking after us so well. We shall certainly come and stay again under happier circumstances.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We spent one night here - an experience which we will definitely repeat.
Good food and very friendly helpful staff. Comfortable rooms and good beds!
Very convenient access from M5 but very peaceful location.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Walnut Tree Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience about your recent stay with us. We look forward to extending a warm welcome to you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Discovered this hotel whilst staying nearby
found the service to be friendly and the food was always fresh and tasty
Ended up eating here 4 times during the week always in the bar area
must recommend the mixed grill very filling and good value

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ollyday59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Walnut Tree Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our food and will pass on your feedback to our team. We hope to extend a warm welcome to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

My wife and I flew in from a very hot Brazil to a very cold UK, but the welcome at the Walnut Tree was warm and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were helpful and charming throughout. The food was excellent and the New Year Party was first rate. It was also very pleasing to see the owners taking such an active part in the proceedings as well. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leo s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Walnut Tree Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
It is rewarding for the whole team to receive praise and feedback like this. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We booked the whole package for New Years Eve, Dinner, Bed and Breakfast. The room was huge, with a large en suite and a very comfortable bed. Dinner consisted of four delicious courses. The confit duck was without question the best I have ever eaten and the scallops were divine. The dining room staff were very friendly and we had a giggle with our waitress who I think was called Dawn, she was funny and made the night. Part of the package included gambling chips for "the casino". I played on the black jack table and although I didn't win it was great fun.

The disco was good and I even got my husband up to dance a couple of times. Even when he didn't want to dance the dining staff who we had met earlier were encouraging everyone to join them on the dance floor, which I did.

Breakfast was excellent, all served at the table.

I have only one criticism; my husband and I fancied a drink in the bar when we had unpacked at 4 pm. Unfortunately, the bar was closed, with shutters down. Not to worry we got our coats on and walked a few yards along the main road to The Lamb where we were made welcome.

All in all a good way to welcome 2014.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed at The Walnut Tree on New Years Eve for the 2nd year running and we go on a regular basis throughout the year to eat, it was as always really good!

Great staff + great food + great entertainment = great night!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smithnumber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Walnut Tree Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you for your lovely feedback. Some great comments for us to read and pass onto the team. Our greatest pleasure is seeing the friendly faces of guests returning to visit us. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Petherton
5.6 mi away
Apple Tree Hotel
Apple Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in Keenthorne
114 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Bridgwater M5
Travelodge Bridgwater M5
#5 of 6 in Bridgwater
169 reviews
7.9 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
635 reviews
7.6 mi away
Laburnum House Lodge Hotel
Laburnum House Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Huntspill
156 reviews
5.0 mi away
Admirals Table
Admirals Table
#3 of 6 in Bridgwater
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Walnut Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Walnut Tree Hotel

Property: The Walnut Tree Hotel
Address: 87 Fore Street, North Petherton TA6 6QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > North Petherton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Petherton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Walnut Tree Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Walnut Tree Hotel Somerset, a lovingly restored 18th-century coaching Inn. Tastefully modernised to meet the needs and expectations of the 21st Century. Our bar, Lemon Tree Restaurant and The Bistro are delightfully warm and welcoming, serving mouth watering food for all occasions. A professional environment for conferences and business meetings. We have vast experience arranging functions from small meetings to large corporate events. We have six individual rooms and groups of 2-100 are welcome. From Sunday lunch to hosting your Wedding, The Walnut Tree Hotel in Somerset can cater for all. The Walnut Tree Hotel near Bridgwater and Taunton in Somerset is the ideal venue for your break. Whether you intend touring the area and visiting Exmoor or The Quantocks, it makes the ideal base. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK and HRS so you can book your The Walnut Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Walnut Tree Hotel North Petherton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing