We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made to feel at home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Walnut Tree Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Petherton
Certificate of Excellence
Worthing
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Made to feel at home”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Travelled alone for business and was a bit nervous to be on my own. The young lady on reception was lovely, and especially great service from little Dan at the bar. Took wonderful care of me and was very attentive, even bringing me his own paper. Good size room, lots of parking and a good selection in the restaurant (although not a lot if you're a veggy).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    94
    27
    16
    13
See reviews for
45
85
13
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We ate here as a family to celebrate my Gran's birthday. After a friendly welcome and a drink we were shown to a lovely table. The menu choices were varied and appealing, and the service was really quick. Every member of staff was warm and friendly. Each course was delicious and beautifully presented. As the evening went on and the restaurant became busier there was a lovely atmosphere. We'll definitely return again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rls26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Walnut Tree Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. It is good to read that you enjoyed dining with us for Gran's birthday celebrations. We will share your kind comments and feedback with all of our team and look forward to extending a warm welcome to you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aude
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel en route to Plymouth and were delighted by the welcome given by the friendly receptionist.

Our room was very spacious, spotlessly clean despite a rather tired carpet.

Large bathroom with very long bath. Superb quality towels and toiletries.

Tea, coffee and biscuits provided.

Room was peaceful despite central village location.

Breakfast was excellent with very good choice. Waitress just a little too familiar!

Certainly a hotel to be revisited, as it has a very good bar. There is also a bistro and a restaurant.

Food in the restaurant does not match expectation of menu, but service good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AudePixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We used this hotel for a Wake and also for the family to stay the evening before.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were a good size and well presented.
7 of us ate in the restaurant and once again the staff were very friendly and the food was superb and certainly not overpriced.

The room for the Wake was just the right size and the buffet was well presented and just the right amount of food.

Well done to Annette and her staff in looking after us so well. We shall certainly come and stay again under happier circumstances.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We spent one night here - an experience which we will definitely repeat.
Good food and very friendly helpful staff. Comfortable rooms and good beds!
Very convenient access from M5 but very peaceful location.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Walnut Tree Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience about your recent stay with us. We look forward to extending a warm welcome to you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Discovered this hotel whilst staying nearby
found the service to be friendly and the food was always fresh and tasty
Ended up eating here 4 times during the week always in the bar area
must recommend the mixed grill very filling and good value

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ollyday59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Walnut Tree Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our food and will pass on your feedback to our team. We hope to extend a warm welcome to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

My wife and I flew in from a very hot Brazil to a very cold UK, but the welcome at the Walnut Tree was warm and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were helpful and charming throughout. The food was excellent and the New Year Party was first rate. It was also very pleasing to see the owners taking such an active part in the proceedings as well. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leo s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Walnut Tree Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
It is rewarding for the whole team to receive praise and feedback like this. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Petherton
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Bridgwater M5
Travelodge Bridgwater M5
#5 of 6 in Bridgwater
180 reviews
5.6 mi away
Apple Tree Hotel
Apple Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in Keenthorne
117 reviews
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
The Royal Clarence Hotel
The Royal Clarence Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burnham-On-Sea
177 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
815 reviews
11.4 mi away
Travelodge Wellington Somerset Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Walnut Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Walnut Tree Hotel

Property: The Walnut Tree Hotel
Address: 87 Fore Street, North Petherton TA6 6QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > North Petherton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Petherton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Walnut Tree Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Walnut Tree Hotel Somerset, a lovingly restored 18th-century coaching Inn. Tastefully modernised to meet the needs and expectations of the 21st Century. Our bar, Lemon Tree Restaurant and The Bistro are delightfully warm and welcoming, serving mouth watering food for all occasions. A professional environment for conferences and business meetings. We have vast experience arranging functions from small meetings to large corporate events. We have six individual rooms and groups of 2-100 are welcome. From Sunday lunch to hosting your Wedding, The Walnut Tree Hotel in Somerset can cater for all. The Walnut Tree Hotel near Bridgwater and Taunton in Somerset is the ideal venue for your break. Whether you intend touring the area and visiting Exmoor or The Quantocks, it makes the ideal base. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Walnut Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Walnut Tree Hotel North Petherton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing