We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place with amazing food!”
Review of Glen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glen Lodge
Ranked #8 of 18 Porlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We stayed here for one night after our wedding to chill out. The place was perfect. Beautiful setting with amazing views, house and rooms were spacious and comfortable and the hosts really made you feel welcome.
The food was incredible, if you stay here have the evening meal! Home cooked with garden produce. The breakfast in the morning was amazing, needed a bigger stomach to eat everything.
The hosts also saved me from months of misery from my wife, I misplaced my wedding ring but luckily they found it and posted it to me. We will definitley be staying here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2012

We have just stayed for two nights at Glen Lodge in the beautiful village of Porlock. What a brilliant weekend. We had a huge, lovely room with a wonderful view across the house's fabulous garden and right down to the beach a couple of miles away. Our hosts, Meryl and David, could not have been more welcoming - nothing was too much trouble. The house was so warm and welcoming:blazing fires and lovely decor and furnishings. Delicious English breakfast. There is a feeling of generosity and largesse here and you feel like a valued guest. We just didn't want to leave and it will take wild horses to stop us going back. Marvellous. But shhh, don't tell TOO many people about it!

Room Tip: We loved our top room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maddalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

I can only reiterate the other reviews. It simply cannot be bettered. Of the hundred or more B and Bs we've recently stayed in, not one comes anywhere close. It's one of the very few places where you can stand outside and actually hear the silence. That, coupled with the comfort, hospitality and ambience inside, is more than simply a winning formula.

Room Tip: Go for the super King that faces down the driveway facing the Bristol Channel. Although I'm sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

It was so good I thought I was living in a book, Rebecca, but without any of the not feeling like we fitted in bit. The best B&B we've stayed at

Room Tip: Woodland room is lovely but hasn't got the fab views of the others
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

As soon as we arrived at Glen Lodge we knew we were in for a stress free weekend. Meryl and David were welcoming and helpful, the room and facilities were excellent, and the food was indescribably good!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MisterBee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

This was the loveliest and most calming retreat I have ever been to. The host, David, keeps the fires going and provides fresh veg from his garden, while the hostess, his wife Meryl, will happily prepare your favorite requests. The village, a romantic walk down the road, provides everything from from specialty teas and coffees to especially prepared venison steaks and pate. What a delight!

Room Tip: Coleridge and Woodlands are lovely rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Just returned from a couple of nights at Glen Lodge and can say that this is exactly how B&B's ought to be (but so often are not !)
Meryl and David gave us the impression that they had spent a lot of time thinking about how to make ones stay as comfortable and relaxing as possible. The house is one of those interesting places with books, art, newspapers and rooms with comfy attractive furnishings. Very welcoming hosts with lots of local info and advice on walks. The quality and range of food available at breakfast was most appreciated - as were the homemade cakes and tea after our walk !
Highly recommended on all fronts.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marvin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlock
0.2 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
183 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
741 reviews
0.5 mi away
Exmoor Country House
Exmoor Country House
#3 of 18 in Porlock
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Millers At The Anchor
Millers At The Anchor
#2 of 3 in Porlock Weir
565 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 18 in Porlock
73 reviews
0.2 mi away
Overstream
Overstream
#5 of 18 in Porlock
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Lodge

Address: Glen Lodge Hawkcombe, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Price Range: £97 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glen Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Glen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Lodge Porlock, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing