We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food focus”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Culbone Stables Inn
Ranked #10 of 18 Porlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Food focus”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights. They do focus on the culinary side of things. Our stay was pleasant and here are the observations:
- staff are very helpful and welcoming
- food was delicious
- limited selection of ales (two on tap). Get some Tetley's or Guinness to expand selection
- great view out on patio (good place to have a drink before meal)
- breakfast process could be improved (coffee more readily available even self serve is ok, individual jams on tables, refill juices when containers are empty, need salt and pepper mills on all tables)
- not a pub type atmosphere, more upscale contemporary feel to it.
- Room 2 has the traffic noise at night when windows are open on warm days
- bring hair conditioner if you need it
- need to review and fix water supply pressure system. Seems to allow water to blast into sink. It's fixable I'm sure.
Overall we felt comfortable and welcomed. The contemporary atmosphere does promote less casual feel like a traditional pub does, however, certainly a good place to go for a meal. Might be a little pricier too given the high quality of ingredients used in cooking the meals. The room was clean and bed was comfortable, however, room #2 was a little noisy facing the main road.


Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hoadsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone Stables Inn, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback.

I will share your advice with the team and agree how we can improve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    37
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
29
108
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

Turned up without a reservation and had to sit outside but it was a beautiful day so not a problem. Slightly disorganised service , several mistakes made but overall the food was excellent if not slightly expensive! Would come again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank bexdunn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone Stables Inn, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Hi,

I would really appreciate it if you could email me direct with more information about service. We aim to improve a little each day and would really appreciate your feedback.

mark@pipspubs.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Great to see that it's been refurbished. Went for a Sunday roast. Food was very nice and the service excellent and noticed that they charge the same for a couple per overnight stay as the local Premier Inn do. I will definitely try to attend their Tuesday Fish night and nice to see them opening in Minehead soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone Stables Inn, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
We have indeed now opened our new Fish and Chip Restaurant in Minehead.

We hope to see you there too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

i turned up without a booking on father's day whilst showing a visitor exmoor. i hadn't realised it was father's day and so they were fully booked but nevertheless made us comfortable at the bar and served us with the best roast pork doorstep sandwiches on the planet. the roast pork was hot from their kitchen as it was being served to the bookings and the sandwiches came with crackling too and a bowl of fries.

despite being very busy, nothing was too much trouble and i told them how impressed we were.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jax D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone Stables Inn, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
We never like to see hungry guests disappointed. I'm delighted that we were able to look after you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I booked the restaurant for my husband’s birthday meal after reading brilliant reviews on Tripadvisor. We took a taxi from our B&B in Watchet and the restaurant was so remote the cab driver got lost and asked us where he should drive to! Being from London and visiting the area for the very first time, we didn’t have a clue. We finally arrived in the middle of nowhere and boy was the view worth the trip! Utterly gorgeous rolling hills for miles around with no sign of houses or other people. It was a Sunday night and not very busy so we got the whole outdoor area all to ourselves to enjoy a bottle of wine and admire the view. When ready, we were seated and served by an utterly lovely waiter & waitress who couldn’t have been more welcoming. Both our starters of devilled kidneys and a homemade Scotch egg were delicious. My husband’s main course of fish & chips was lovely too. Sadly, and to my massive disappointment, my locally sourced rib eye steak was far from perfect. I had asked for it medium rare, but it was slightly over. I could have lived with that if the steak itself had not been tough and chewy. I left some of it, which I never do. We didn’t have deserts. The bill for 2 courses, 2 bottles of wine, a coffee and an amaretto came to £118. London gastro pub prices and worth the service & the venue. Shame about the steak though. We would definitely go back if we were in the area. Be warned that it’s not really a pub though as the only place to sit & have a drink only is the outside seating area. The inside is very much a posh restaurant. And for those staying in Watchet: the return can fare was £68.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PollyPee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone Stables Inn, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Hello Polypee,

We would love the opportunity to cook our Devon Red Steaks for you again. Do please let us know when you next plan to visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We ate here for lunch, having promised ourselves that we would try the place soon and never quite getting around to it.

Anyway, we finally made it and were welcomed warmly when we walked into the restaurant. The barman/waiter gave us an enthusiastic description of the specials which all sounded really fantastic.

The food was of excellent quality, well-presented and was extremely filling. I could only make my way through a main course and didn't have room for a dessert! Prices were a little expensive but still worth going there.

All in all, we loved our visit and will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbaggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone Stables Inn, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you so much.

We look forward to your next trip to Exmoor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Having become aware of the refurbished "Culbone" and the excellent reviews it had received we recently decided to put this inn to the test and judge it against the numerous Porlock establishments which we had visited over many years.
Before concluding our opinion it was interesting to examine the small proportion of negative reviews and try to understand why there may have been customer dissatisfaction?
Most of the negative reviews could very obviously be attributed to inappropriate menu selection and false expectation.
Our considered opinion is that this is a very high quality gastro-pub/restaurant with excellent B&B facilities. Pity the plumber could not fit a stabilising valve to the cold water supply but this is of little significance against all the positives which are on offer.
We will certainly return again and enjoy the excellent culinary skills on offer.

Room Tip: Although not a particularly busy road the A39 might disturb very light sleepers so best to request r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keynsham-walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone Stables Inn, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for your lovely feedback.

The team were delighted when I showed them this review. This is all the reward we need for doing what we love ever day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlock
3.4 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hunters Lodge B&B
Hunters Lodge B&B
#1 of 18 in Porlock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
2.1 mi away
Millers At The Anchor
Millers At The Anchor
#2 of 3 in Porlock Weir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#9 of 18 in Porlock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
1.5 mi away
Yearnor Mill
Yearnor Mill
#12 of 18 in Porlock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Gables
The Gables
#7 of 18 in Porlock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Culbone Stables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Culbone Stables Inn

Property: The Culbone Stables Inn
Address: 4 Miles From Porlock on the A39 To Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8JW, England (Formerly Culbone Stables Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Culbone Stables Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alex and myself Annette, have recently taken over the Culbone Stables Inn on Exmoor. It is situated on the A39 between Porlock and Lynton in the idyllic heart of Exmoor. Our Inn and gardens are in a beautiful setting and have exceptional views across the valley of Coombe. Our aim has been to renovate the restaurant back to a welcome, friendly Country Inn/pub. Our menu is traditional pub fare, at reasonable prices, using local produce. We welcome walkers, cyclists, families and dogs. We have 5 on suite bedrooms. 2 are opposite each other (one twin, one double) with their own landing and would be perfect for families. Room 1 has its own private patio, with stunning views. Our motto is , anything you want, just ask. We might not be able to fulfil some requests but there's no harm in asking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Culbone Stables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culbone Stables Hotel Porlock
The Culbone Stables Inn Porlock, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing