We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place - super service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Culbone

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porlock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Culbone
Ranked #10 of 20 Porlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place - super service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

From the welcome at our arrival, to the lunch provided while we waited for our room to be ready ( we were early), the service and friendliness was first rate. Nothing was to much trouble, and the food was excellent. Our room, and the bed was very comfortable, and wewere treated like friends, not customers. A really pleasant experience, together with the new decor - a great improvement since an earlier visit

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 886Roger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    37
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
29
108
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

We had a fantastic dinner with our daughter and dog (!) in June so decided to stay in September
and have another dinner at the Culbone.

Really disappointed that one of the rooms (No 4) was so noisy that the person sleeping there hardly got any sleep at all. The fan went off at 10-ish as advised but there was a constant buzzing sound all night. The communal areas could do with a deep clean. One of the bathrooms was well equipped whilst the other lacked soap / body wash.

Dinner was mixed. Friday night is fish night and food was variable. The Langoustines were so small that they were only suitable for making stock. The two largest out of five had a 5mm wide tail. Staff didn't acknowledge the feedback on the evening. On the positive, scallops were very tasty.

Main course of Fish and chips was good. The other main course of Plaice with samphire, brown shrimps and french fries a disappointment. One of us got 5(!) shrimps, the french fries swam in in the butter and got soggy. It would have been so easy to serve the fries on the side and keep them crisp.

Breakfast was a sad story compared to many other B&B's. Very limited choice. Microwaved porridge.Brown sugar was not available. How could the restaurant have made sticky toffee pudding the night before? Muffins and poached eggs were good.

We were asked to submit a review and decided to call the Culbone to give to constructive feedback but they could not be bothered to call back.

We will not be going back as there are many other places providing better value for money in the area.

Room Tip: Avoid room 4 if you would like a good night sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank FamilyTBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bridgend, south wales
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

I was lucky enough to win a dog friendly competition for 1 night dinner, bed and breakfast at The Culbone so my husband and I decided to make it 2 nights and paid for the extra night. We weren't really sure what to expect as it was a competition win but WOW all our expectations were blown away by the friendly staff, superb food and views from our room with private patio AND the whole restaurant is completely dog friendly so Monti our Weimaraner was happy too. Breakfast was absolutely delicious (the best poached egg with a hint of truffle in the hollondaise I've ever had) and dinner was cooked to perfection, fish for both of us so fresh and delicious. Even better though for us was the fact that Monti, being on a BARF diet can cause problems for us as there is no where to store his fresh meat and bones when we go away but even this was no problem as they had a fridge available for us to use. The staff were so helpful regards walks for us to do and directed us to the little Church in Culbone through the woods and down to Porlock Weir. Everyone was so friendly and all the dogs were well behaved as were their owners, the sort of place you could go with friends and young family. We stayed in Room 1 which has it's own entrance from outside as well as inside,making it ideal for dogs and the biggest bathroom I have ever seen. All in all an excellent place to stay with comfy bed and pillows and an exceptional place to eat with or without a dog. ( Incidentally if travelling with a dog kibble and bowls were provided as was a small dog bed - we took our own as he is large these touches were much appreciated). We hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: Room 1 has its own entrance from the garden with private patio and superb views and although near th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank organicang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We were warmly greeted on arrival and shown to a spacious, comfortable room. Although the Culbone is a pub/restaurant as well as a hotel, we felt totally private in our room, which was well away from the bar area. We had our own outside door key and could return to our room through a private entrance. After a good night's sleep, English breakfast was excellent - very flavoursome and served with style. The staff were very helpful and the whole experience was first rate.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Filmsnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham-on-Sea, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We only popped in for a spot of lunch having walked up from Porlock Weir on a wet and murky day. How nice it was to be welcomed at this refurbished pub, not problem re muddy boots and dogs welcome in the bar. A proper decent country pub with great beer. We had a posh BLT which I have to say was one of the best I've tasted. Will definitely be going back for an evening meal at some point when we're next in the area. And as for that picture of a stag in the bar? I want one!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikki A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Hello Vikki,

We do get a lot of our guests enquiring about Paul Oz's Stag picture. I would be happy to put you in touch with Paul if you like? mark@pipspubs.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed for 2 nights on DBB rate and met up with friends who also stayed
Staff were delightful, positive and upbeat and happy to accommodate slight change to menu as I'm not too keen on spicy food. The rooms were fine, certainly clean and tidy , the views if you overlooked the "back yard area" were lovely.
Have already recommended to other friends who have eaten there since.
Plan to return

Room Tip: Quiet room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scrowlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are always happy to make change to menu offers where possible.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Culbone soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights. They do focus on the culinary side of things. Our stay was pleasant and here are the observations:
- staff are very helpful and welcoming
- food was delicious
- limited selection of ales (two on tap). Get some Tetley's or Guinness to expand selection
- great view out on patio (good place to have a drink before meal)
- breakfast process could be improved (coffee more readily available even self serve is ok, individual jams on tables, refill juices when containers are empty, need salt and pepper mills on all tables)
- not a pub type atmosphere, more upscale contemporary feel to it.
- Room 2 has the traffic noise at night when windows are open on warm days
- bring hair conditioner if you need it
- need to review and fix water supply pressure system. Seems to allow water to blast into sink. It's fixable I'm sure.
Overall we felt comfortable and welcomed. The contemporary atmosphere does promote less casual feel like a traditional pub does, however, certainly a good place to go for a meal. Might be a little pricier too given the high quality of ingredients used in cooking the meals. The room was clean and bed was comfortable, however, room #2 was a little noisy facing the main road.


Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hoadsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback.

I will share your advice with the team and agree how we can improve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlock
3.4 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
6.9 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
2.1 mi away
Millers At The Anchor
Millers At The Anchor
#2 of 3 in Porlock Weir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Cafe - Porlock Weir
The Cafe - Porlock Weir
#1 of 3 in Porlock Weir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hunters Lodge B&B
Hunters Lodge B&B
#1 of 20 in Porlock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
1.5 mi away
Yearnor Mill
Yearnor Mill
#13 of 20 in Porlock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Culbone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Culbone

Property: The Culbone
Address: 4 Miles From Porlock on the A39 To Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8JW, England (Formerly Culbone Stables Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Culbone 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Restaurant with Rooms has exceptional views across the moor and is a great place to stay. After enjoying a peaceful night’s sleep, a fantastic local Breakfast awaits you. We want you to feel comfortable and at home while you stay with us.We have five newly refurbished, individually designed bedrooms. Room 1 has its own private patio, with stunning views across the Moor. We have a recently opened Cookery School at The Culbone. The Cookery School is informal and relaxed and is available for groups of 6-8 people. We love the beautiful produce that is available on Exmoor and want share our cooking secrets with you.It's all about the food at The Culbone.Children are very welcome, we have cots, extra fold away beds that can be put up in each room and a lovely seasonal children’s menu.All rooms have:- Modern contemporary en suite shower rooms- Delicious Somerset Breakfast cooked by Jack Scarterfield’s team. 8am-9.30am Tea, coffee and hot chocolate, supplied by local company Miles and biscuits are in each room. (Would you like warm milk? Ask at the Bar).- Digital TV- Free Wi-Fi- Listed Exmoor Walks that start from The Culbone.- Modern contemporary en suite shower rooms- Complimentary toiletries- Free huge car park- Electric blankets on request.Looking for Dog Friendly accommodation? Three of our five bedrooms welcome your canine friend. Did you know? Pip our Westie was the inspiration for the name of our restaurant group, Pips Pubs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Culbone Stables Hotel Porlock
The Culbone Porlock, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing