We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“TOP TABLE TUCKER” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Culbone

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porlock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Culbone
Ranked #10 of 20 Porlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“TOP TABLE TUCKER”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Eight of us went to the Culbone on sunday for a birthday lunch.We all had a great meal,served by staff that made you feel special and most welcome .The highest pub on Exmoor sure is a high quality place to dine.What we call a go back to place

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BARRY H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you for your lovely feedback. The team enjoyed meeting you all and are happy that you chose to spend a special family lunch with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    37
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
29
108
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on the spur of the moment and we are so glad we did, food is outstanding, accommodation is good, staff are so helpful and friendly, would recommend going. Good value for money and you will come away happy.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank thefishingboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
We're delighted that you chose to spend your spur of the moment stay with us.

It's a pleasure to welcome guests who love Exmoor as much as we do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

We called into the Culbone on Saturday for a spur of the moment lunch and are so pleased we did.

We were greeted and treated like we were royalty from start to finish and came away totally wowed.

We will be going to the Culbone again and again and again!!

A special thanks to Dawn......one of Wokingham's finest exports.

Chris and Paula

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
It was lovely to meet you both, and we are really happy that you enjoyed your first visit to The Culbone.

Dawn enjoyed meeting you too and sends her best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

I stayed 2N at the Culbone in early Jan - specifically picking this venue as to me the food is more important than the accommodation. If you want a luxury bedroom then The Culbone wouldn't be your primary choice but if you want to eat well then it is a good destination. The restaurant served delicious and well cooked, fully seasoned meals over 2 nights and was good value considering the quality of the ingredients. Both nights were quiet (3/4 tables) but the staff were attentive and friendly. Breakfast was good but choice perhaps a touch limited, more fruit and cereals/ porridge please - overall, a good choice for a stopover in Exmoor and certainly a lovely stop if you are a fussy foodie as I'm afraid I am - I've read many of the previous comments and they are accurate concerning the ambience/ atmosphere of the building but this should not detract you from eating well. Keeping these standards up should result in 5 stars in future. Best wishes to the chef and kitchen staff for consistently high standards.

Room Tip: If you have specific requirements then as always phone ahead ...... give the venue a chance
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BullThistleFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback.

We meet as a team each week to review all feedback and use this to help us improve a little each day. We will definitely review our none cooked breakfast options and add fresh fruit asap.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nailsea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

My partner & I arrived later then expected at The Culbone, and wanted food, they were still serving, but by the time it reached dessert the kitchen would have been closed, however, we ordered anyway and there were no huffs of puffs from staff, or any inkling that they wanted us to hurry up and get out - which is a big deal in my eyes. All staff were friendly and accommodating after most had left, had a drink with the guy running the bar who was very pleasant!
The food was lovely, and the dessert was even better!
Room was clean and larger then expected, well decorated, howere Room 5 which we were in meant you had to turn the shower on to use the tap, but thats the joy of being in the middle of nowhere, and it really isnt a big deal in the grand scheme of things!
Would recommend this B&B to anyone, and we will definately be returning next year!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hlm456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and will be coming back. We've listened to you and now make sure that we tell our guests on arrival that we draw all water from our well, so the tap needs to turned on first to start the pump that ensures a nice hot shower!

See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

We must have driven past The Culbone a dozen times over the last couple of years, but we always stayed in Minehead & Lymouth. We got an absolutely cracking deal for B&B off the internet for The Culbone so we thought we would give it a go. We are really glad we did. It is set in a fabulous location with far reaching views over Exmoor (Lorna Doone Valley I think?). Everybody (and I mean everybody) were so welcoming, chatty & genuinely interested in us. We were warmly greeted when we arrived, a lovely log burner warming the bar/restaurant area. We were upgraded (without even asking), dinner bookings offered (which unfortunately we could accept because of a prior commitment) & shown to our room with the offer of bags carried.

Everything explained to us. The room was lovely, everything we needed/expected - great view, clean, warm, great shower, decent TV. Perhaps the offer of proper milk for coffee/tea in room (rather than UHT cartons) would be a nice gesture, but maybe I am bring overly fussy.

Later on we had a drink in the bar & sampled a couple of desserts & were perfectly looked after by a very interesting & attentive member of staff. He was full of local knowledge & helped make our short stay even more enjoyable. We had a lovely nights sleep, very quiet, dark & peaceful on the top of Exmoor. Woke up to the sound of an owl & some of the numerous pheasants that were just outside our window - perfect!!!

Breakfast was an absolute delight - I had a full English & it was the best I have had in years. Clearly all ingredients (apart from baked beans) were locally sourced & were fantastic. I didn't know that bacon could taste so good!!! My partner had scrambled egg on toast with mackerel & she thought the eggs were perfect, mackerel delicious & the bread was clearly baked by a proper baker. The lady who served us breakfast was really friendly & looked after us perfectly. When we asked if they had any morning papers she said, whilst they don't have them delivered, if we let her know what we wanted she would get one for us - true old fashioned service which is safely lacking in many establishments these days.

We wish we had eaten a full evening meal, and will definitely return soon & make sure we have a dinner reservation. Thank you to everybody at The Culbone, you really know what the customer wants!!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MisterJinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope that you will join us for dinner next time, and enjoy more of the lovely seasonal produce from Exmoor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Have passed this restaurant several times during my travels. Decided to stop over for lunch based on the reviews and the pub/restaurant advertising. The location although far out and isolated is in the middle of beautiful moors and dropped valleys. The staff were pleasant and accommodating and service was prompt and efficient, the food, however was pretty average and certainly did not live up to the generated hype. It appears to be another one of those places where despite the pretty mediocre food that was presented the chef obviously believes his skill and creative flair is second to none. Not a place for me to visit again if I want to eat out.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brenda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
The team are really disappointed that we didn't meet your expectations.

We are always keen to learn more about your experience and how we can learn. I would really appreciate it of you could contact me at mark@pipspubs.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlock
3.4 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
6.9 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
2.1 mi away
Millers At The Anchor
Millers At The Anchor
#2 of 3 in Porlock Weir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Cafe - Porlock Weir
The Cafe - Porlock Weir
#1 of 3 in Porlock Weir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hunters Lodge B&B
Hunters Lodge B&B
#1 of 20 in Porlock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
1.5 mi away
Yearnor Mill
Yearnor Mill
#13 of 20 in Porlock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Culbone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Culbone

Property: The Culbone
Address: 4 Miles From Porlock on the A39 To Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8JW, England (Formerly Culbone Stables Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Culbone 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Restaurant with Rooms has exceptional views across the moor and is a great place to stay. After enjoying a peaceful night’s sleep, a fantastic local Breakfast awaits you. We want you to feel comfortable and at home while you stay with us.We have five newly refurbished, individually designed bedrooms. Room 1 has its own private patio, with stunning views across the Moor. We have a recently opened Cookery School at The Culbone. The Cookery School is informal and relaxed and is available for groups of 6-8 people. We love the beautiful produce that is available on Exmoor and want share our cooking secrets with you.It's all about the food at The Culbone.Children are very welcome, we have cots, extra fold away beds that can be put up in each room and a lovely seasonal children’s menu.All rooms have:- Modern contemporary en suite shower rooms- Delicious Somerset Breakfast cooked by Jack Scarterfield’s team. 8am-9.30am Tea, coffee and hot chocolate, supplied by local company Miles and biscuits are in each room. (Would you like warm milk? Ask at the Bar).- Digital TV- Free Wi-Fi- Listed Exmoor Walks that start from The Culbone.- Modern contemporary en suite shower rooms- Complimentary toiletries- Free huge car park- Electric blankets on request.Looking for Dog Friendly accommodation? Three of our five bedrooms welcome your canine friend. Did you know? Pip our Westie was the inspiration for the name of our restaurant group, Pips Pubs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Culbone Stables Hotel Porlock
The Culbone Porlock, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing