We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, great deals, varied and tasty dishes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Culbone Stables Inn
Ranked #10 of 18 Porlock B&B and Inns
Porlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, great deals, varied and tasty dishes”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Living locally, we're always on the lookout for good restaurants in the area, and many have come and gone, but the Culbone has started well and steadily improved. Unlike the (very few) poor reviews that the inn has received, we've always found that the staff listen to customer opinions (as can be seen from the comments on room 4 on the website - and the consequent reduction in pricing). Their PIPS club is excellent (free membership and many bonus events), the food is always good and the menus change constantly rather than putting up the same dishes week in, week out. We've been at least once a month for the past six months - to their steak nights, to the meal-and-a-movie deals, just with friends and yesterday we celebrated our 35th wedding anniversary with them (thanks for the free fizz Mark and Josh, thanks for the room deal Becky) - a really lovely evening out (candle-lit - other poor reviewer please note), unhurried, comfortable room, nice wine and our dog was able to come with us as well. What more could they have offered us ? Well, nothing, really. Thanks again.

Room Tip: The comments on the website are honest, and should enable anyone to select in their price bracket. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don_Fitzgerald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    37
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
30
109
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Found 'The Culbone' on the internet booked for 2 nights our first visit. Great location, great welcome on arrival, we had planned to eat out but arrived on their 'French cuisine evening' fabulous food and service, we ate here again the following night 'Steak night' excellent glad we didn't go anywhere else.
The room was clean, comfortable and well equipped.
Thank you trip advisor for guiding us to this Inn, there is no doubt the next time we are in the location we will stay here without looking anywhere else.
The walks from here to both Lynmouth and Porlock are stunning and well worth the effort.
You wont regret staying here, a great find.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at The Culbone. I had expected from the website for it to be a bespoke 'pub with rooms' & it wasn't quite this, but lovely nonetheless.

The staff & owners were lovely & helpful. Chatty & interested & happy to recommend local things to do.

We had a lovely meal on our first night-scallops & baked brie starters, venison & ale pie & salted bream for our mains. Tasty & high quality. The restaurant is warm & cosy with lovely pictures on tye wall which we particularly admired. They had a good selection of wines & ales.

Our room was good for a typical 3* B& B, but nothing more than this. Somehow, I had expected more and was a little disappointed. There were a few minor repairs which had not been attended to & some of the fixtures & fittings were of fairly low quality. Don't get me wrong, I have NO complaints, and The Culbone is a perfectly good B&B that I would certainly stay in again, but just not quite what I had in mind when I booked it.

Breakfast was also a little disappointing given the beautiful and varied selection of the evening meal. I feel I'm being picky as it was all tasty & my husband particularly enjoyed his kippers. Also, I believe there are only 5 rooms, so I can't expect there to be a massive buffet laid on, but somehow, I expected a little more.

Overall, great food, OK B&B- we will be back tho'

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen7ify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We dined at the Culbone for Sunday lunch, the staff were welcoming. We had children with us and they had a high chair and baby changing available even though it is more of a gastro pub.
The clientele were mostly adults so maybe not the best place with lively children. The food was faultless.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SueEllenSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Eight of us went to the Culbone on sunday for a birthday lunch.We all had a great meal,served by staff that made you feel special and most welcome .The highest pub on Exmoor sure is a high quality place to dine.What we call a go back to place

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BARRY H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone Stables Inn, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you for your lovely feedback. The team enjoyed meeting you all and are happy that you chose to spend a special family lunch with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on the spur of the moment and we are so glad we did, food is outstanding, accommodation is good, staff are so helpful and friendly, would recommend going. Good value for money and you will come away happy.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank thefishingboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone Stables Inn, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
We're delighted that you chose to spend your spur of the moment stay with us.

It's a pleasure to welcome guests who love Exmoor as much as we do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

We called into the Culbone on Saturday for a spur of the moment lunch and are so pleased we did.

We were greeted and treated like we were royalty from start to finish and came away totally wowed.

We will be going to the Culbone again and again and again!!

A special thanks to Dawn......one of Wokingham's finest exports.

Chris and Paula

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone Stables Inn, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
It was lovely to meet you both, and we are really happy that you enjoyed your first visit to The Culbone.

Dawn enjoyed meeting you too and sends her best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlock
3.4 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
159 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#9 of 18 in Porlock
83 reviews
3.8 mi away
Exmoor Country House
Exmoor Country House
#3 of 18 in Porlock
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Millers At The Anchor
Millers At The Anchor
#2 of 3 in Porlock Weir
526 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Cafe - Porlock Weir
The Cafe - Porlock Weir
#1 of 3 in Porlock Weir
354 reviews
1.5 mi away
Yearnor Mill
Yearnor Mill
#13 of 18 in Porlock
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Culbone Stables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Culbone Stables Inn

Property: The Culbone Stables Inn
Address: 4 Miles From Porlock on the A39 To Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8JW, England (Formerly Culbone Stables Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Culbone Stables Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alex and myself Annette, have recently taken over the Culbone Stables Inn on Exmoor. It is situated on the A39 between Porlock and Lynton in the idyllic heart of Exmoor. Our Inn and gardens are in a beautiful setting and have exceptional views across the valley of Coombe. Our aim has been to renovate the restaurant back to a welcome, friendly Country Inn/pub. Our menu is traditional pub fare, at reasonable prices, using local produce. We welcome walkers, cyclists, families and dogs. We have 5 on suite bedrooms. 2 are opposite each other (one twin, one double) with their own landing and would be perfect for families. Room 1 has its own private patio, with stunning views. Our motto is , anything you want, just ask. We might not be able to fulfil some requests but there's no harm in asking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Culbone Stables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culbone Stables Hotel Porlock
The Culbone Stables Inn Porlock, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing