We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very over priced!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Culbone Stables Inn
Ranked #10 of 18 Porlock B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stopped off for Sunday lunch , stated on menu that it was a Sunday roast with lamb or beef , seasonal vegetables and real gravy . In our party of four we ordered three beef and one lamb the meals consisted of two slices of thin fatty meat two roast potatoes , the seasonal vegetable were one French bean , one carrot , one sprig of broccoli and a small piece of beet root the Yorkshire pudd was ok but the Real gravy was thin watery and tasteless , how they can justify charging £16 for this meal I do not know I have to say the staff were very friendly and polite and the restaurant is a high standard it's a shame the food does not Match.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Suziwebbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone Stables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you so much for your feedback.

The team met immediately and have made several changes to Sunday lunch. Could you please contact me on mark@pipspubs.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
There are newer reviews for The Culbone Stables Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

Having read the rather lovely website, I was looking forward to the "individually designed bedrooms" and hearing from the "knowledgeable team".
The person who greeted us was perfectly nice, no introductions and we assumed that as she was the owner of Pip, she must also own the establishment. Dinner was tasty and well presented, but our cheese came straight from the fridge and without any explanation.
The bedroom (and the long dark corridor leading to it) needed acquainting with a cream cleanser and some bleach. The tea caddy was grubby and there were rings on the bedside table amidst the dust. We stayed on a special offer which meant the room price was very low - I'd have been upset if we'd paid the tariff rate. You need to tone down your website so that you under promise and over deliver.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meticulosity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone Stables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are working hard to action your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Booked well in advance for Sunday lunch 1st June 2014, we both ordered the Mackerel fillet with salad leaves with horse radish sauce for starters, plenty of salad and beetroot, But very little sign of any Mackerel,then both ordered the Roast Beef with Yorkshire pudding, 2 small thin and fatty slices of beef with burnt Yorkshire pudding, 2 roast potatoes ( out of the freezer and not fresh ) thin cut pieces of carrot, swede, beetroot, in gravy, Did wonder at the time, that we was given Childs portions ? then for dessert my wife had the sticky toffee pudding with sauce, a piece of sticky toffee pudding about 50mm square in a Large pasta bowl, wow it looked impressive, my apple, raspberry with almond crumble served in a coffee cup, on the Up side, the staff was very friendly, Not that impressed with the Sunday lunch !!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank KDAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone Stables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback

We have worked hard on improving our offering. Please contact me on mark@pipspubs.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We spent one night at The Culbone, which left me with very conflicted feelings about the place. The good points (and they are very good): a fabulous dining experience, with attentive staff and beautiful views. The meals were perfectly cooked. The staff were some of the best we have encountered, friendly and competent.
The downsides: a very mediocre room in need of repairs (peeling paint in the tiny ensuite, which also boasted a vinyl floor which had been "laid", not properly installed, and the smallest wash basin I have ever seen). The one bonus of the room was the very comfy bed. Both bedside lamps were burned out - one lamp needed to be replaced as it was not working at all. There was only a small valet-type hanger for hanging your clothes on. With very little effort, these "issues" could be corrected.
The breakfast, while tasty enough, was a bit on the small side. There were some prepackaged cereals to eat along with your choice of "fancy" breakfasts, but no toast, yogourt, etc. I expected a bit more in that department, considering the spectacular meal we had enjoyed the night before.
The Culbone is in an exquisite location in the middle of "nowhere" and it looks like they have some interesting special nights, like Spanish night, Greek night, etc. I wish we were going to be in the area so we could partake! I would adjust my expectations re: the room, though.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toad55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone Stables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are currently working hard on all comments received.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed here last weekend for 2 nights. Weather was not the best, but we still had a very enjoyable time. Loved the location, especially as it is very near to the Doone Valley one of our favourite places. Room was good, comfy king size, clean and warm. Lovely walk -in shower. Ate in the restaurant both nights and highly recommend the food. Not the cheapest, but we thought value for money. Good quality and nice to see lots of local produce. Nice to be able to eat and drink to your heart's content then just head upstairs, no driving involved! Pleasant, obliging staff, attentive but not over the top. Would return.

Room Tip: We had room 4, overlooks the woods/moorland at the back.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bloom_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone Stables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for your lovely feedback.

we hope to welcome you back to The Culbone soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The Culbone is a very 'real'-feeling Boutique-style hotel, in that the room designs are bespoke and stylish. No soulless chain-feel to the place, put it that way. Very clean too.

The real selling points are that the hotel sits high above the sea on Exmoor, with a sweeping view into the countryside from the hotel car park. Spectacular. But not as spectacular as the dining menus. Local produce prepared to perfection. Certainly a place for those who live to eat, rather than eat to live. Very difficult not to get food-envy from every table in the restaurant.

The staff were very helpful and always took ownership of the slightest query and were very pleasant.

Good value considering the great location and high food standards. We'd like to go back there and more than likely will.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank castino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone Stables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for your lovely feedback

We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Have you joined our free members club?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed here for two nights on the way back from a holiday in Cornwall and it was an absolute find! Booked some months ago we got a deal which my husband insisted I check the price of....too good to be true, but no it was correct.

There are three truly outstanding things about The Culbone and they are its position, which provides walking from the door, the food - I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed it, and the people who run it, who are so, so, friendly, helpful, interesting, interested and fun.

I can't wait to return - hopefully with friends who can also enjoy this brilliant place. Thank you.

Room Tip: No 3 is quiet and has wonderful views across the moors, but I think its probably worth splashing out...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polli396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlock
10.2 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
724 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
180 reviews
2.1 mi away
Millers At The Anchor
Millers At The Anchor
#2 of 3 in Porlock Weir
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#9 of 18 in Porlock
90 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 18 in Porlock
73 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Royal Oak Inn
The Royal Oak Inn
#1 of 2 in Withypool
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Culbone Stables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Culbone Stables Inn

Address: 4 Miles From Porlock on the A39 To Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8JW, England (Formerly Culbone Stables Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Price Range: £65 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Culbone Stables Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alex and myself Annette, have recently taken over the Culbone Stables Inn on Exmoor. It is situated on the A39 between Porlock and Lynton in the idyllic heart of Exmoor. Our Inn and gardens are in a beautiful setting and have exceptional views across the valley of Coombe. Our aim has been to renovate the restaurant back to a welcome, friendly Country Inn/pub. Our menu is traditional pub fare, at reasonable prices, using local produce. We welcome walkers, cyclists, families and dogs. We have 5 on suite bedrooms. 2 are opposite each other (one twin, one double) with their own landing and would be perfect for families. Room 1 has its own private patio, with stunning views. Our motto is , anything you want, just ask. We might not be able to fulfil some requests but there's no harm in asking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Culbone Stables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culbone Stables Hotel Porlock
The Culbone Stables Inn Porlock, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing