We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Substandard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Culbone Stables Inn
Ranked #10 of 18 Porlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Substandard”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Greeted by the very pleasant owner but downhill after that.
First impression of the room looked ok but we found on closer inspection this was not to be. The window sills & framework had not been cleaned for weeks. Full of dead flies and extremely dirty. Skirting boards not cleaned and even had a tea stain running down them. All in all it was not good.
We had booked in for dinner and the roast pork was awful it seemed like it had been re-heated from lunch time. The roast potatoes were burnt. A huge portion of fries came with the other meals and that was it (no vegetables).
Breakfast was not even slightly better. Half a tomato and one mushroom in their eyes constituted a breakfast and the toast was as thick as a doorstop. Will not return and will not recommend.

Room Tip: There are not any tips. Our only tip is not to go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone Stables Inn, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
We are truly disappointed that we didn't meet your expectations. Could you please contact me to help me understand how we can improve mark@pipspubs.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    37
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
29
108
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We booked a 2-night break as our first visit to the Exmoor National Park. Great setting for the hotel (also described as a pub-restaurant with rooms). Our room was well appointed, spacious bathroom though the water system was a bit tricky (pressurised by a pump which was activated (or not) by turning on the tap/shower. Our view over the Moor was ruined by the sight of the kitchen yard, containing uncollected bin bags, unstacked cardboard, overflowing waste bins and cigarette ends and other detritus. After complaining, this was cleared up - a bit. Food was of good quality, though not great and quite expensive especially the themed evening. Not good value really. Three local beers were on offer, though 2 were 'off' for our stay. General condition of the public areas was poor and in need of repainting. We mentioned this to one of the staff who promised to raise it with the management.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms which look over the kitchen yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary_w999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone Stables Inn, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
We have taken all of your comments on board and have made several changes. Thank you so much for your feedback. We are passionate about improving our guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stopped off for Sunday lunch , stated on menu that it was a Sunday roast with lamb or beef , seasonal vegetables and real gravy . In our party of four we ordered three beef and one lamb the meals consisted of two slices of thin fatty meat two roast potatoes , the seasonal vegetable were one French bean , one carrot , one sprig of broccoli and a small piece of beet root the Yorkshire pudd was ok but the Real gravy was thin watery and tasteless , how they can justify charging £16 for this meal I do not know I have to say the staff were very friendly and polite and the restaurant is a high standard it's a shame the food does not Match.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suziwebbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone Stables Inn, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback.

The team met immediately and have made several changes to Sunday lunch. Could you please contact me on mark@pipspubs.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Having read the rather lovely website, I was looking forward to the "individually designed bedrooms" and hearing from the "knowledgeable team".
The person who greeted us was perfectly nice, no introductions and we assumed that as she was the owner of Pip, she must also own the establishment. Dinner was tasty and well presented, but our cheese came straight from the fridge and without any explanation.
The bedroom (and the long dark corridor leading to it) needed acquainting with a cream cleanser and some bleach. The tea caddy was grubby and there were rings on the bedside table amidst the dust. We stayed on a special offer which meant the room price was very low - I'd have been upset if we'd paid the tariff rate. You need to tone down your website so that you under promise and over deliver.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meticulosity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone Stables Inn, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are working hard to action your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Booked well in advance for Sunday lunch 1st June 2014, we both ordered the Mackerel fillet with salad leaves with horse radish sauce for starters, plenty of salad and beetroot, But very little sign of any Mackerel,then both ordered the Roast Beef with Yorkshire pudding, 2 small thin and fatty slices of beef with burnt Yorkshire pudding, 2 roast potatoes ( out of the freezer and not fresh ) thin cut pieces of carrot, swede, beetroot, in gravy, Did wonder at the time, that we was given Childs portions ? then for dessert my wife had the sticky toffee pudding with sauce, a piece of sticky toffee pudding about 50mm square in a Large pasta bowl, wow it looked impressive, my apple, raspberry with almond crumble served in a coffee cup, on the Up side, the staff was very friendly, Not that impressed with the Sunday lunch !!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KDAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone Stables Inn, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback

We have worked hard on improving our offering. Please contact me on mark@pipspubs.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
260 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We spent one night at The Culbone, which left me with very conflicted feelings about the place. The good points (and they are very good): a fabulous dining experience, with attentive staff and beautiful views. The meals were perfectly cooked. The staff were some of the best we have encountered, friendly and competent.
The downsides: a very mediocre room in need of repairs (peeling paint in the tiny ensuite, which also boasted a vinyl floor which had been "laid", not properly installed, and the smallest wash basin I have ever seen). The one bonus of the room was the very comfy bed. Both bedside lamps were burned out - one lamp needed to be replaced as it was not working at all. There was only a small valet-type hanger for hanging your clothes on. With very little effort, these "issues" could be corrected.
The breakfast, while tasty enough, was a bit on the small side. There were some prepackaged cereals to eat along with your choice of "fancy" breakfasts, but no toast, yogourt, etc. I expected a bit more in that department, considering the spectacular meal we had enjoyed the night before.
The Culbone is in an exquisite location in the middle of "nowhere" and it looks like they have some interesting special nights, like Spanish night, Greek night, etc. I wish we were going to be in the area so we could partake! I would adjust my expectations re: the room, though.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toad55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone Stables Inn, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are currently working hard on all comments received.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed here last weekend for 2 nights. Weather was not the best, but we still had a very enjoyable time. Loved the location, especially as it is very near to the Doone Valley one of our favourite places. Room was good, comfy king size, clean and warm. Lovely walk -in shower. Ate in the restaurant both nights and highly recommend the food. Not the cheapest, but we thought value for money. Good quality and nice to see lots of local produce. Nice to be able to eat and drink to your heart's content then just head upstairs, no driving involved! Pleasant, obliging staff, attentive but not over the top. Would return.

Room Tip: We had room 4, overlooks the woods/moorland at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bloom_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone Stables Inn, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely feedback.

we hope to welcome you back to The Culbone soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlock
3.4 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hunters Lodge B&B
Hunters Lodge B&B
#1 of 18 in Porlock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
2.1 mi away
Millers At The Anchor
Millers At The Anchor
#2 of 3 in Porlock Weir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#9 of 18 in Porlock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
1.5 mi away
Yearnor Mill
Yearnor Mill
#12 of 18 in Porlock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Gables
The Gables
#7 of 18 in Porlock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Culbone Stables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Culbone Stables Inn

Property: The Culbone Stables Inn
Address: 4 Miles From Porlock on the A39 To Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8JW, England (Formerly Culbone Stables Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Culbone Stables Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alex and myself Annette, have recently taken over the Culbone Stables Inn on Exmoor. It is situated on the A39 between Porlock and Lynton in the idyllic heart of Exmoor. Our Inn and gardens are in a beautiful setting and have exceptional views across the valley of Coombe. Our aim has been to renovate the restaurant back to a welcome, friendly Country Inn/pub. Our menu is traditional pub fare, at reasonable prices, using local produce. We welcome walkers, cyclists, families and dogs. We have 5 on suite bedrooms. 2 are opposite each other (one twin, one double) with their own landing and would be perfect for families. Room 1 has its own private patio, with stunning views. Our motto is , anything you want, just ask. We might not be able to fulfil some requests but there's no harm in asking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Culbone Stables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culbone Stables Hotel Porlock
The Culbone Stables Inn Porlock, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing