We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Culbone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Culbone
Ranked #10 of 18 Porlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Wonderfully scrummy food in a very relaxed atmosphere, very comfy bed, very attentive staff, beautiful setting, lovely walks direct from the garden. Close to Porlock and Lynton/Lynmouth with beautiful drives through amazing scenery including the herds of Exmoor ponies.
Thank you all.

Room Tip: Dogs are welcome in some of the bedrooms. The Culbone welcomes muddy boots and dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GrannieE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    37
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
29
108
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Visited The Culbone 3 times during the week we were in Porlock. The first time was for a quick afternoon drink after a good walk. The barmaid informed us of the steak night on Wednesdays where you get 2 steaks for the price of one. So we booked ourselves in. The steaks were excellent. Properly aged Devon Red sirloins. The whole meals was great. So good in fact that we booked ourselves in for the fish and seafood night on Friday. That was superb as well.

A great bonus is that it is dog friendly so our little cairn terrier could join us.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ash S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porlock Weir, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Try the tandoori masala prawns! Absolute heaven - in fact the seafood is all delicious. A real jewel of a restaurant, all the more extraordinary for being in the middle of nowhere. If ever a restaurant was worth a journey, it is here!!!!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PaynesOfParsonage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West England
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We highly recommend The Culbone restaurant. Superb quality food, modern and comfortable interior and welcoming staff, everything is brilliant. The only regret is that we hadn't found this place a night before as we would have returned for a second helping on our holiday. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank runBoyRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunster, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

The Culbone was a first for us, passed many time's travelling down to Lynmouth and keep saying we must try it, well we did and we did and did not regret it, warm welcome, happy faces you could not wish for a better spot views are amazing, nice to see it's dog friendly also, the food was simple but who ever cooked it cared for it, lots of fish on the menu as well as steaks, can't complain at the service' dont miss this little gem we for sure will be going back again.
Thanks for a lovely evening
See you soon.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Booked hotel in May with the reviews at that time showing the hotel as a friendly, clean place to visit. However, this was not what we found. Upon arrival we were shown to our room down a ldark dingy dirty corridor which smelt of the kitchens. Upon entering , at first glance it seemed quite acceptable, however the devil is always in the detail. The carpet obviously hadn't been hoovered for some time, being dirty & dusty, with a profusion of spiders webs inhabiting every possible corner. The skirting boards were dirty & dusty, with tea & coffee stains marking the furniture. The wardrobe, along with its collection of spiders webs had obviously not been cleaned for some time and we were reluctant to hang our clothes in there.
The bathroom was even worse. The floor was badly stained and looked like it hadn't been mopped for some time, with a pool of dried blood near the washbasin, no doubt courtesy of a previous tenant. The toilet seat was broken and the mirror on the wall was cracked. Both extractor fans were covered with a spiders web of dirt and dust. The window sill behind the basin was dirty & grubby with dead insects on it. The double shower only had one side working, which was again disappointing.
The next morning I spoke to reception staff about the filthy floors in the bathroom and asked them to clean same, hoping they would notice the condition of the rest of the room. This was not to be, when we returned later in the day it was still as dirty!!
In addition to the general tired decor and dirty rooms, we were troubled by an excessive number of flies while having our evening meal in the restaurant. We had booked the premier room on the ground floor , at extra cost but were unable to use the veranda due to the strong smell of the kitchens next door.
On the plus side, the breakfast was very good and the staff very friendly and attentive.
We will not be returning and would not recommend anyone else to stay here!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanetTaylorHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
The team and I are truly disappointed that we haven't met your expectations. Could you please contact me at mark@pipspubs.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

I think the owners of this establishment have started to believe their own publicity ! They are very good at telling us how wonderful they are .Unfortunatley it is style over substance and what you get is very overpriced food served up a very casual and not too friendly way ! We had far superior meals fo far less money elsewhere !

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maurice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Could you please contact me on mark@pipspubs.com. I would like to help
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlock
3.4 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hunters Lodge B&B
Hunters Lodge B&B
#1 of 18 in Porlock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
2.1 mi away
Millers At The Anchor
Millers At The Anchor
#2 of 3 in Porlock Weir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#9 of 18 in Porlock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
1.5 mi away
Yearnor Mill
Yearnor Mill
#13 of 18 in Porlock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Gables
The Gables
#8 of 18 in Porlock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Culbone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Culbone

Property: The Culbone
Address: 4 Miles From Porlock on the A39 To Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8JW, England (Formerly Culbone Stables Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Culbone 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Restaurant with Rooms has exceptional views across the moor and is a great place to stay. After enjoying a peaceful night’s sleep, a fantastic local Breakfast awaits you. We want you to feel comfortable and at home while you stay with us.We have five newly refurbished, individually designed bedrooms. Room 1 has its own private patio, with stunning views across the Moor. We have a recently opened Cookery School at The Culbone. The Cookery School is informal and relaxed and is available for groups of 6-8 people. We love the beautiful produce that is available on Exmoor and want share our cooking secrets with you.It's all about the food at The Culbone.Children are very welcome, we have cots, extra fold away beds that can be put up in each room and a lovely seasonal children’s menu.All rooms have:- Modern contemporary en suite shower rooms- Delicious Somerset Breakfast cooked by Jack Scarterfield’s team. 8am-9.30am Tea, coffee and hot chocolate, supplied by local company Miles and biscuits are in each room. (Would you like warm milk? Ask at the Bar).- Digital TV- Free Wi-Fi- Listed Exmoor Walks that start from The Culbone.- Modern contemporary en suite shower rooms- Complimentary toiletries- Free huge car park- Electric blankets on request.Looking for Dog Friendly accommodation? Three of our five bedrooms welcome your canine friend. Did you know? Pip our Westie was the inspiration for the name of our restaurant group, Pips Pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Culbone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culbone Stables Hotel Porlock
The Culbone Porlock, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing