We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticked all the boxes after a long day walking - 10/10!”
Review of The Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porlock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Cottage
Ranked #4 of 18 Porlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Witney, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ticked all the boxes after a long day walking - 10/10!”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We arrived after a good days walking from Lynmouth and received lovely warm welcome from Clare and Chris who showed us to our room which was decorated to the highest standards and had everything we wanted and needed: good power shower, nice toiletries, fast internet connection, etc. The impression given was that nothing would be too much trouble, so just ask if you need anything!

The separate guest lounge is well stocked with books and games so would cater well for families too.

Breakfast, was perfect. Very good local produce, cooked to perfection. Lovely local 'Miles' beverages, fresh fruits and a great 'full English'.

This was our fourth B&B in as many days, on our SWCoast Path walk, and without doubt, the best. So good in fact that we have already booked a return weekend in December.
Well done Clare and Chris and a big thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenSmale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
61
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I'd highly recommend this charming b&b to anyone who likes the personal touch. With great attention to detail,Chris & Clare are the perfect hosts & made me feel completely at home during my five night stay. Their fabulous breakfasts will be sorely missed & i'll definitely be returning sometime in the very near future. Thank you both so very much for making my umpteenth stay on Exmoor the best one yet by far. See you very soon XXX

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wander L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We were new to this area and found ' the cottage ' on the Internet and were delighted with the accommodation . Chris and Clare can't do enough to make you feel welcome, helping to make your stay a pleasant one . Spotlessly clean through out not to mention the wonderful breakfast . Please don't change anything it's perfect . We stayed for 2 nights 1st and 2nd aug 13 thank you Linda and Alan Baines

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

A wonderful B & B set in the heart of this pretty village. Our hosts Chris and Claire made us feel so welcome. The cottage is decorated so beautifully, and is immaculately clean. Breakfast was delicious with an extensive selection of locally sourced products. We hope to return very soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 214Kris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

My Daughter and I have just returned from a weekend stay at this wonderful B&B. We booked two rooms, a double and a twin. The proprietors Chris & Clare have a warm, friendly, professional attitude towards their guests and will go the extra mile to make your stay one to remember. The rooms are clean and fresh and have that real cottage feel about them. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and there is private parking to the rear of the establishment. We will definitely return at some point.

Room Tip: if you are a very light sleeper, request a room to the rear of the premises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2013

A warm welcome, lovely atmosphere, comfortable and tasteful furnishings and an excellent breakfast - well done to all at 'The Cottage'!
This family run guest house lies at the heart of the village of Porlock on Exmoor. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and have no hesitation in recommending it to others!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidTG552050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bath, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

we stayed for one night, last week, and found our stay without fault. We had requested a certain room which was lovely and spaceous. The owners were helpful and hospitable without being too over-bearing. Good breakfast, parking, good location for visiting the area, situation in a village that has some choice of pubs and eateries.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesleysm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porlock hotels
0.0 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
159 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rose Bank Guest House
Rose Bank Guest House
#6 of 18 in Porlock
277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Overstream
Overstream
#7 of 18 in Porlock
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Gables
The Gables
#8 of 18 in Porlock
203 reviews
0.4 mi away
Exmoor Country House
Exmoor Country House
#3 of 18 in Porlock
132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 18 in Porlock
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage

Property: The Cottage
Address: The Cottage High Street, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at historic and charming 18th century The Cottage B&B in the heart of Porlock, offering well appointed and luxurious bedrooms. All rooms have Freeview televisions, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryers, alarm clocks and en suites with big fluffy towels and luxurious toiletries. A full English breakfast, using only the finest locally sourced ingredients, will set you up for a day of exploring all that Exmoor has to offer while the guest lounge is the perfect place to relax with an afternoon cup of tea or an evening board game. Children aged three or under stay for free. Free wifi for residents and packed lunches available on request. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cottage Porlock, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing