We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely b and b”
Review of The Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porlock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Cottage
Ranked #7 of 18 Porlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely b and b”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We only stayed for one night as The Cottage was booked up for the other days we stayed in Porlock. We were made welcome as soon as we arrived and the room was a good size with a really good shower. The breakfast was lovely, cooked very well, with fresh fruit and yoghurt to start, in addition to the usual cereals, toast and homemade preserves. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Porlock. There is plenty to do in this lovely area and we wouldn't hesitate to go back. Nice pubs and restaurants to eat in. The only shame was that The Cottage wasn't available for the whole time we were there.

Room Tip: Room 4 has a good size shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
64
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed for 3 nights. A warm welcome from Chris and Clare. Room clean,bright and comfortable. Nice lounge area to relax. Breakfast very good (local produce). I used this B&B while walking )SWCP) Minehead to Porlock (Bus to Minehead) leg then Porlock to Lynton. I would recomend this B&B and will stop here again whenever in the area. Thank you Chris and Clare.

Room Tip: Bus to Minehead £4 - Stops a few yards from the B&B Limited buses so be careful if walking SWCP...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

Chris and Clare are running a really nice B & B. The location is central but not noisy. The house is beautifully presented and the room comfortable and spotless. We thought that the breakfast was great. We would definitely stay here again. We wish Chris and Clare well with their venture.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sidewinder4504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Perfect location on the North Somerset Coast, with access to beautiful walks over Exmoor, and the Coastal Path. Chris and Clare have a charming cottage, with modern decoration and a lovely lounge for relaxing. The rooms are clean and fresh and the breakfast is good, with local produce. This is a central village location, with a number of restaurants/pubs within walking distance, perfect for the evening. Thanks for a great stay, we look forward to visiting in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank empenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My husband and I were fortunate enough to stay at The Cottage during our motorbike tour this week. What a lovely, warm welcome we recieved, not to mention the excellent standard of service and friendliness. Clare was there to invite us in and made us feel so at home. The room was of the highest standard and we could not fault the cleanliness and all the little personal touches. Although we did not personally require a large breakfast, there was no doubt in the high quality of all products available. My scrambled eggs were the best ever!! Thank you to both Clare and Chris for making our stay so lovely. We will definitely return!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olive W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We arrived after a good days walking from Lynmouth and received lovely warm welcome from Clare and Chris who showed us to our room which was decorated to the highest standards and had everything we wanted and needed: good power shower, nice toiletries, fast internet connection, etc. The impression given was that nothing would be too much trouble, so just ask if you need anything!

The separate guest lounge is well stocked with books and games so would cater well for families too.

Breakfast, was perfect. Very good local produce, cooked to perfection. Lovely local 'Miles' beverages, fresh fruits and a great 'full English'.

This was our fourth B&B in as many days, on our SWCoast Path walk, and without doubt, the best. So good in fact that we have already booked a return weekend in December.
Well done Clare and Chris and a big thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenSmale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I'd highly recommend this charming b&b to anyone who likes the personal touch. With great attention to detail,Chris & Clare are the perfect hosts & made me feel completely at home during my five night stay. Their fabulous breakfasts will be sorely missed & i'll definitely be returning sometime in the very near future. Thank you both so very much for making my umpteenth stay on Exmoor the best one yet by far. See you very soon XXX

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wander L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porlock hotels
0.0 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Overstream
Overstream
#6 of 18 in Porlock
149 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rose Bank Guest House
Rose Bank Guest House
#4 of 18 in Porlock
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#9 of 18 in Porlock
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 18 in Porlock
71 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hunters Lodge B&B
Hunters Lodge B&B
#1 of 18 in Porlock
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage

Property: The Cottage
Address: The Cottage High Street, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at historic and charming 18th century The Cottage B&B in the heart of Porlock, offering well appointed and luxurious bedrooms. All rooms have Freeview televisions, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryers, alarm clocks and en suites with big fluffy towels and luxurious toiletries. A full English breakfast, using only the finest locally sourced ingredients, will set you up for a day of exploring all that Exmoor has to offer while the guest lounge is the perfect place to relax with an afternoon cup of tea or an evening board game. Children aged three or under stay for free. Free wifi for residents and packed lunches available on request. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cottage Porlock, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing