We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Marks !”
Review of The Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porlock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Cottage
Ranked #7 of 18 Porlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2013

A warm and friendly welcome awaits you from Chris and Claire at this B&B in the in the centre of Porlock. The place was spotless, the rooms are modern and comfortable, breakfast was great with locally sourced products. Visiting the area? then the Cottage should be your first port of call for your stay. We will definately return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilandMissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

A brilliant location right in the centre of the village, close to restaurants and pubs but without any extraneous noise. Excellent centre for walking as there is so much choice from right outside the door.

The Cottage is full of character and the rooms are lovely, good size and beautifully decorated and appointed. Our rooms had huge showers which were amazing and loads of toiletries to try; plus huge soft fluffy bathsheets. Delicious breakfasts with lots of choices, using much local produce.

Our hosts could not have been more welcoming and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. They really made us feel completely at home.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank KaraMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

After a lovely day of walking, taking in the views and enjoying the local hospitality we decided to stay for a night in Porlock. The Cottage was recommended to us by many in the local pub so on very short notice we arrived and could not have been more pleased! Chris and Claire were very welcoming and showed us to a room which was lovely, of a good size, clean and tastefully decorated. The room had a very helpful information pack full of details about places to eat and visit and other helpful information about the B&B.

Everything you could need was provided - a good selection of beverages, quality biscuits and a quality hairdryer that far surpassed my expectations!

The bed was very comfortable and of a good size, we slept really well. The shower was powerful and the toiletries were of really good quality (not small bottles of shampoo and body wash that restrict the amount you can use - but large dispensers).

We were really impressed with the breakfast selection available, fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals, local jams etc. And of course the full English breakfast, which was tasty and sourced locally.

We couldn't rate this place more highly - we would definitely recommend a stay here! If we were in the area again we would go back again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SquiggleandSquare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The rooms are immaculate, a really nice breakfast, a warm and friendly welcome, and they went to a lot of trouble to source bus timetables for me and my walking buddy, also gave us advice on where to eat. I doubt there's a better B & B in Porlock.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed at the cottage at the end of August 2013 for one night to break up our journey down to Devon. We have 2 kids (3 and under) so we needed a family room in Porlock and this was found via the Porlock Visitor centre.

The room wasn't huge but plenty big enough for 1 night and the facilities were all good. Our hosts were fantastic, very welcoming, great breakfast and they even posted my daughter's monkey back home for us as she'd left it there!

Our friends also booked a double room for the night and that was spacious, clean and really comfortable.

Definitely recommended, this was excellent value and no complaints at all, just watch your head on the beams if you're tall!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dark_Horse1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Very welcoming hosts. As a single traveller, I was offered a good sized double room at a reasonable price. Breakfast fine. My main reservation was the room, with a large shower cubicle facing the bed which was a bit unnerving, would have preferred it in a corner or even outside. TV too small to be easily viewed from the bed. Otherwise room perfectly comfortable and well provided, bed in particular very comfy. Rest of the cottage nicely presented, though pity about the plastic windows. It's right on the high street but my room at the back was quiet.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClareGlad, Owner at The Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Room 2 features a double shower cubicle in the room but not opposite the bed and adds a quirky touch to this room, which has a double bed but is primarily let as single occupancy. All our rooms have 22inch flatscreen televisions positioned on a surface close to the bed or seating area. All rooms and guest areas at The Cottage benefit from modern double glazed windows that retain the character of the 300 year old building. This ensures that all our guests enjoy a warm and peaceful stay in the heart of the historic village of Porlock, very close to all amenities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We only stayed for one night as The Cottage was booked up for the other days we stayed in Porlock. We were made welcome as soon as we arrived and the room was a good size with a really good shower. The breakfast was lovely, cooked very well, with fresh fruit and yoghurt to start, in addition to the usual cereals, toast and homemade preserves. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Porlock. There is plenty to do in this lovely area and we wouldn't hesitate to go back. Nice pubs and restaurants to eat in. The only shame was that The Cottage wasn't available for the whole time we were there.

Room Tip: Room 4 has a good size shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porlock hotels
0 mi away
Rose Bank Guest House
Rose Bank Guest House
#3 of 18 in Porlock
299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 18 in Porlock
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#9 of 18 in Porlock
91 reviews
0.4 mi away
Exmoor Country House
Exmoor Country House
#4 of 18 in Porlock
150 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Gables
The Gables
#6 of 18 in Porlock
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage

Address: The Cottage High Street, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at historic and charming 18th century The Cottage B&B in the heart of Porlock, offering well appointed and luxurious bedrooms. All rooms have Freeview televisions, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryers, alarm clocks and en suites with big fluffy towels and luxurious toiletries. A full English breakfast, using only the finest locally sourced ingredients, will set you up for a day of exploring all that Exmoor has to offer while the guest lounge is the perfect place to relax with an afternoon cup of tea or an evening board game. Children aged three or under stay for free. Free wifi for residents and packed lunches available on request. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cottage Porlock, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing