We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blissful retreat after walking the Coleridge Way”
Review of The Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porlock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Cottage
Ranked #7 of 18 Porlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We arrived at The Cottage very muddy and wet on the final day of the Coleridge Way walk and couldn't have been happier with the choice. Our room was lovely and spacious with a bath (as requested) and very comfy bed, nicely decorated with some lovely toiletries. Chris and Claire were very warm and welcoming and went out of their way to help us - lending us maps, giving us good advice on where to go, printing us out bus timetables and offering us a heated airer for our wet clothes. This deserves all the glowing reviews it gets and we will be sure to send friends and family there if they ever need a getaway! Bobby and Sally, London

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SallyB186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

"The Cottage" is quite deceiving from the outside, rooms are very spacious and we didn't experience any noise from any other rooms or from the village in general. Chris and Claire very welcoming and genuinely friendly. Won't repeat the glowing reports from TripAdvisor contributors, but accommodation and food all top-notch. This is my first TripAdvisor review, which speaks volumes about our good experience! Parking at the rear was a bonus, but if you're tall, watch your head in the doorways!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank_n_Fair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Chris and Claire know how to do things right.
From charming and comfortable rooms, incredible hot/high pressure showers, to a great location and a proper Full English home made (and served by Chris) breakfast, The Cottage is one of the most superior BnB's i've had the pleasure to stay in.
It's a handsome old home with pictures of Porlock dating back to the early 1900's, a honorable section of classic literature to thumb through, and some of the most outstanding hosts on the Island.
My father and I were spending a long weekend in November hiking around Exmoor and from Porlock to Minehead. The Cottage caught my eye whilst looking for places to stay via the raving reviews...and the moment I got in contact with Chris over the phone I knew it was a good choice.
Chris was nice enough to take my father and I up to the Beacon on a cold and raining day so we could hike back into town. Without the hospitality of Chris it would have been a rubbish walk.

Book a room and at least your stay will be amazing if nothing else is.
6 stars would be more appropriate than 5.

What more do you want? Seriously...

Room Tip: Just give them a call!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The Cottage offers a home from home stay with the room offering an amazing amount of luxuries.
Chris and Claire were very welcoming and greeted us so warmly. The room was warm and cosy and very tastefully decorated. It had lovely furniture/ tv and a very comfortable bed and pillows, we slept very very well. The bathroom was very clean and filled with luxurious smellies, fluffy white towels and flannels and had a fantastically strong power shower in a large shower cubicle.
Loads of tea and coffee and hot chocolate available and even sachets of squash to go with the bottles of water left in the room. Breakfast was marvellous, very tasty indeed with loads of choice to start the day off before a long day of exploring the wonderful surroundings. Definitely will be back. thank you Claire and Chris, it was such a lovely stay x

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

A warm and friendly welcome awaits you from Chris and Claire at this B&B in the in the centre of Porlock. The place was spotless, the rooms are modern and comfortable, breakfast was great with locally sourced products. Visiting the area? then the Cottage should be your first port of call for your stay. We will definately return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilandMissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

A brilliant location right in the centre of the village, close to restaurants and pubs but without any extraneous noise. Excellent centre for walking as there is so much choice from right outside the door.

The Cottage is full of character and the rooms are lovely, good size and beautifully decorated and appointed. Our rooms had huge showers which were amazing and loads of toiletries to try; plus huge soft fluffy bathsheets. Delicious breakfasts with lots of choices, using much local produce.

Our hosts could not have been more welcoming and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. They really made us feel completely at home.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank KaraMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

After a lovely day of walking, taking in the views and enjoying the local hospitality we decided to stay for a night in Porlock. The Cottage was recommended to us by many in the local pub so on very short notice we arrived and could not have been more pleased! Chris and Claire were very welcoming and showed us to a room which was lovely, of a good size, clean and tastefully decorated. The room had a very helpful information pack full of details about places to eat and visit and other helpful information about the B&B.

Everything you could need was provided - a good selection of beverages, quality biscuits and a quality hairdryer that far surpassed my expectations!

The bed was very comfortable and of a good size, we slept really well. The shower was powerful and the toiletries were of really good quality (not small bottles of shampoo and body wash that restrict the amount you can use - but large dispensers).

We were really impressed with the breakfast selection available, fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals, local jams etc. And of course the full English breakfast, which was tasty and sourced locally.

We couldn't rate this place more highly - we would definitely recommend a stay here! If we were in the area again we would go back again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SquiggleandSquare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porlock hotels
0.1 mi away
Overstream
Overstream
#5 of 18 in Porlock
163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 18 in Porlock
73 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rose Bank Guest House
Rose Bank Guest House
#3 of 18 in Porlock
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Gables
The Gables
#6 of 18 in Porlock
219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glen Lodge
Glen Lodge
#8 of 18 in Porlock
139 reviews
0.5 mi away
Exmoor Country House
Exmoor Country House
#2 of 18 in Porlock
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage

Address: The Cottage High Street, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at historic and charming 18th century The Cottage B&B in the heart of Porlock, offering well appointed and luxurious bedrooms. All rooms have Freeview televisions, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryers, alarm clocks and en suites with big fluffy towels and luxurious toiletries. A full English breakfast, using only the finest locally sourced ingredients, will set you up for a day of exploring all that Exmoor has to offer while the guest lounge is the perfect place to relax with an afternoon cup of tea or an evening board game. Children aged three or under stay for free. Free wifi for residents and packed lunches available on request. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cottage Porlock, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing