We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cottage” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porlock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Cottage
Ranked #5 of 20 Porlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Just returned from a weeks stay in The Cottage with a group of friends. Thanks Chris and Clare for a brilliant week. Really welcoming couple, very comfortable accommodation and very good choice for breakfast with local produce. We will be back!

Room Tip: The village is very quiet at night so all the rooms are OK but the ones at the back are away from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beatriceduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
61
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Waikato
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Our two night stay got off to a very pleasant stay when we were warmly greeted by name on arrival. This is a delightful property. It is on the main street and has parking at the rear.
Our bedroom was a twin, very spacious, very clean and extremely comfortable.
There is a nice lounge available to guests. The breakfast room was bright and airy. Breakfast was lovely and plentiful.
Chris and Clare are fabulous hosts, full of helpful advice. Bailey (the dog) is very friendly too.
Chris helped lug our heavy cases to the car which was appreciated.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this lovely cottage to others. I look forward to returning one day.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank smiler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We had never been to Porlock before and we came upon The Cottage by chance.
The outside looked very pretty but the inside was spotless,welcoming, well set out & the bedroom was amazing.
Chris gave us a very warm welcome & even Bailey the dog came out to say hello. Clare came to welcome us at the breakfast table & her food was devine. The experience was made all the better by Chris and Clare being so lovely, their hearts are both so obviously in it to give the best service they possibly can & they certainly did. This accommodation is fit for a king & well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Our room was on the front overlooking the road but it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

This is lovely cottage and very pleasant B&B. It has a nice fresh feel. The upstairs room we had was quite spacious with a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was very nice. The Cottage is right in the centre of the village so great to wander easily to restaurants and pubs nearby. It would be great to visit again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Very friendly welcome, helpful advice about the area, lovely room, the shower made me realise the one at home needs changing :-(, excellent breakfast. What a lovely village in a great part of the country. I will be back!

Room Tip: I was in number 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ASHLEY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Lovely warm welcome from our friendly and very helpful hosts. We borrowed maps, got some great suggestions and had the most delicious full English breakfast with local meats and fresh mushrooms. Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Walking the South West Coastal Path, a mate and I had our best b&b stay at The Cottage.

The greeting was very friendly and helpful, the room was clean, bright and modern in decor. The breakfast was excellent - including an enormous variety of preserves.

Would certainly re-book if staying in the area again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VisitorYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlock
0.0 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 20 in Porlock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hunters Lodge B&B
Hunters Lodge B&B
#1 of 20 in Porlock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Millers At The Anchor
Millers At The Anchor
#2 of 3 in Porlock Weir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.2 mi away
Overstream
Overstream
#6 of 20 in Porlock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#9 of 20 in Porlock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage

Property: The Cottage
Address: The Cottage High Street, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at historic and charming 18th century The Cottage B&B in the heart of Porlock, offering well appointed and luxurious bedrooms. All rooms have Freeview televisions, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryers, alarm clocks and en suites with big fluffy towels and luxurious toiletries. A full English breakfast, using only the finest locally sourced ingredients, will set you up for a day of exploring all that Exmoor has to offer while the guest lounge is the perfect place to relax with an afternoon cup of tea or an evening board game. Children aged three or under stay for free. Free wifi for residents and packed lunches available on request. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cottage Porlock, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing