We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hospitality and the Owners Nick and Maggie second to none.”
Review of Overstream

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Overstream
Ranked #5 of 18 Porlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic hospitality and the Owners Nick and Maggie second to none.”
Reviewed 18 March 2011

The hotel is in the middle of Porlock village which gives easy access to the many restraurants and shops. The owners, Nick and Maggie are excellent and they go out of their way to really make you welcome. No task or request was ever refused and they really show what hospitality is all about. We stayed just 1 night and stayed in the room with the sea view. The room was clean, tidy and of very high standard as was the dining room, sitting rooms. The breakfast was perfect with just about all the choices being made available.This hotel comes highly recommended. We arrived around lunchtime and had an excellent lunch at the Home Cook Cafe located across the street from the village car park.They make their own bread and our soups were home made, a place you must visit if you like home cooking.
We had our evening meal at the Ship Inn (Porlock) and once again the food and hospitality was second to none.A special thanks to young lady working in the Cafe for returning my wife's mobile phone to the Hotel and to Nick for posting to us the same day. This unselfish act epitomises the great community atmosphere and respective attitudes we experienced in Porlock and lessons could be learned from the more established tourist areas of the UK by folowing their examples. Roger and Shirely

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Safetyman_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    18
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
79
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Axminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

The Overstream owners were very welcoming, the room was clean and comfortable with lovely views over Porlock and the bristol channel. Location is very central. Breakfast - well cooked! Overall, excellent value for money and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazz_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2010

We didn't stay at the hotel but have visited for a cream tea on several occasions. I can honestly say we've had many cream teas over the years but these are the best in the West Country. The scones are cooked daily and are always hot. A real old English cream tea in lovely surroundings.

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank TerryandNorma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2010

We were looking for a place to stay for a couple of days in Exmoor National Park and found the Overstream hotel.
Hosts are welcoming, well informed of the local area, really helpful!
There's a nice fire place to enjoy in the living room, daily newspapers available, plenty of guides and walk maps.
The hotel is really quiet - PERFECT for relaxing. And there's not too many rooms, feels more comfortable.
Bonus: the sea view from our room!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2009

We had the pleasure of staying at the Overstream on a recent visit to Minehead. The warm welcome was indication of the environment, the subsequent service and room didn't disappoint. The Overstream is a real gem of a hotel and we would recommend it to anyone.
We are planning to visit Bossington in the near future and will certainly check back into the Overstream. Thanks again Nick and Maggie for the pack lunch!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HandR09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlock
0.2 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
159 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 18 in Porlock
69 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rose Bank Guest House
Rose Bank Guest House
#6 of 18 in Porlock
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#9 of 18 in Porlock
85 reviews
1.7 mi away
Millers At The Anchor
Millers At The Anchor
#2 of 3 in Porlock Weir
527 reviews
0.5 mi away
Exmoor Country House
Exmoor Country House
#3 of 18 in Porlock
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overstream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overstream

Property: Overstream
Address: Overstream Parsons Street, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Overstream 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Overstream is located in the heart of Porlock, and is ideally situated for all local activities including Exmoor National Park and the coast. All rooms are ensuite, have tea and coffee making facilities and TV. We have a large car park and a lift to all floors. The Overstream is licensed and guests can relax in the lounge, in front of a log fire in the evenings. Free internet access is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms and HRS so you can book your Overstream reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overstream Porlock, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing