We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly recommended”
Review of Overstream

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Overstream
Ranked #5 of 18 Porlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2011

A real gem of a find - very clean, comfy, cosy and warm. Every wish catered for in this hotel. Lovely location and Nick and Maggie are great hosts. Wondeful tasty breakfast, would definitely go there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the top floor but doubt there would be much, if any, noise whichever bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hildakay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2011

Very comfortable stay, welcoming friendly hosts, who provide the much appreciated little extras, such as local walking map and advice where to go, recommendation of excellent local eateries, fill up your thermos on departure and of course a great location in the heart of Porlock on the Exmoor coast.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BathPocahontas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

The Overstream was a very comfortable place to stay with great hosts to look after everything you need.

Porlock itself is a beautiful little village with great scenic landscape

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Aussie_AndrewK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We have been visiting Porlock for forty years, and for many years have stayed at the Overstream hotel. Nick and Maggie are the current owners and make our stay an absolute
pleasure, Nick always remembers our preferences for breakfast and on arrival we are welcomed with a nice cup of tea in the tea garden,we can recommend Maggie's cream teas they are the best you can get. We would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting this wonderful part of the country .

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carolezv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We decided to take a short rest break at Porlock (i.e. les than two hours) on the way home from a motoring holiday in Cornwall. We were looking for some refreshements and came across the Overstream Hotel and after a brief look at the menu, decided to order a couple of cream teas. Well what can we say? The service and the cream teas were absolutely superb. We cannot recommend this place highly enough. If you ever get the opportunity to try the cream teas here you should go for it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bertxuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

A welcoming, comfortable, homely hotel that I would like to return to. Proprietors NIck and Maggie are doing a great job here - very professional and also very kind and genuine. Breakfasts were terrific and the packed lunches excellent (especially the home-baked "surprise" each day). The room was spacious with two big windows and a nice view over thatched village rooftops towards the sea.

Porlock is a delightful village nestling between Exmoor and the sea - a perfect base for our walking and wild swimming holiday. The coastal bus service gives easy access along the North Somerset coastline and into nearby North Devon. The Ship Inn in the village is good for real ales and ciders. The Lapsewood Restaurant is highly recommended for eating out.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scott_cath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We have been staying at a different place but we did have cream tea here and this is - Luke others already stated worth mentioning: The place has a nice garden terrace just in The center of porlock-opposite The church. Though The chairs and tables are plastic and a little worn out (there is room for improvement here) through ambience is nice. If you happen to be there when oven-fresh scores are served together with piles of clothed cream and a nice cup of tea, you can been forget The steep hills round airlock that you'll have to walk or cycle if not by car or bus. By The way: from minehead The 300 bus is a nice way of getting to airlock for a tea!
Also worth mentioning if you are too late for The scores: ginger cake and even The very British bread pudding ... we tried it all :-)

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shopper-gd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overstream, Owner at Overstream, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2012

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your visit to the Cream Tea Gardens. We now have new tables and chairs for the 2012 season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlock
0.0 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
183 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#9 of 18 in Porlock
90 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 18 in Porlock
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rose Bank Guest House
Rose Bank Guest House
#4 of 18 in Porlock
294 reviews
1.6 mi away
Millers At The Anchor
Millers At The Anchor
#2 of 3 in Porlock Weir
565 reviews
0.4 mi away
Exmoor Country House
Exmoor Country House
#3 of 18 in Porlock
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overstream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overstream

Address: Overstream Parsons Street, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Price Range: £55 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Overstream 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Overstream is located in the heart of Porlock, and is ideally situated for all local activities including Exmoor National Park and the coast. All rooms are ensuite, have tea and coffee making facilities and TV. We have a large car park and a lift to all floors. The Overstream is licensed and guests can relax in the lounge, in front of a log fire in the evenings. Free internet access is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Overstream reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overstream Porlock, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing