We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, excellent value.”
Review of Overstream

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Overstream
Ranked #5 of 18 Porlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2013 via mobile

Lovely stay, slept very well both nights. Good solid breakfast. Yummy cake and tea on arrival - round the corner from Miles Tea, which is worth a visit. Very friendly owners who were helpful with maps and knowledge of the area. Would definitely stay again and recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank the_two_penguins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2013

I arrived as a single traveler and was greated with a helping hand with my luggage and invited to have tea and cake in the loung as a complimentary gesture. My room was extremely clean and the bed comfortable. As a single ooccupancy I incurred no extra room suppliments hence my stay as a single person was very good value. The hosts are a lovely couple who were happy to help in any way. The area is beautiful and the people extremely friendly. There is lots to do in the village, I would reccomend the Exmore Safaris to non walkers and the Art shops and Gallery. Thank you very much to a lovely couple.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

My dad and I stayed here at the beginning of September. It was his first proper holiday in 12 years. We were welcomed with a cup of tea and home-made cake. Nothing was too much trouble, we felt relaxed, so much so that Dad said he would be happy to return on his own. My room at the top of the house was quiet and an added bonus is the small lift . Good size car park at rear of property. Breakfast was superb- cooked fresh to order. Special diets are catered for and they sell local sheep's milk ice cream!! (5 stars just for that!) .

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank louyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

This is the third year in a row that we have spent 3 nights with friends in August at the Overstream. We always get a very friendly welcome and nothing is too much trouble. We cannot fault our stay. It is nice to come back from a day in the lovely Exmoor countryside and sit outside and have a really nice cream tea. The car park at the back is very good and for those who do not have a car the bus stop is right outside.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lynda46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Porlock is a very picturesque village that is well worth a visit. The owners recommended an evening stroll up the valley behind the B&B that had lovely views. Nick and Maggie are great hosts, they made us feel at home and on arrival bought us a cup of tea out in the garden. We had a comfortable nights stay in our room upstairs overlooking the village. The village was very colourful with the bunting out for the Diamond Jubilee and the passing of the Olympic Torch. The ensuite shower however unit is cramped - unless you are small. The breakfast was magnificent.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We stayed at Overstream for one night during our month-long self drive of England. One day we hope to return and make it our headquarters for a longer stay. We enjoyed a bright and spacious ensuite room with views of the church and village. The room is well appointed with all the facilities necessary for a comfortable stay: plenty of storage, wifi internet connection and a desk, comfortable seating, hospitality tray, extremely comfortable bed, good lighting. We were served a substantial and tasty breakfast in the pleasant dining room by our very kindly host. We were not at Overstream long enough to make use of the inviting Sitting Room - maybe the next time. For the short time we were in the area we took a walk through the National Trust villages of Bossington and Selworthy on the Holnicote Estate - recomend it. We went down to Porlock Weir for dinner at the Ship - quite nice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jannaress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Looking for a lovely place to stay? then make this the one, its a fantastic place lots of walks, sea, food and pubs. Nick and Maggie are great hosts and very informative on the area, you must go to Porlock weir and have a drink in the Ship, take the toll roads they are worth the small charge, walk around the quant village of Bossington with the lovely cottages and their round bread ovens. Walk across the stream up to the old cost guard look out, you will see the most amazing views across to Wales.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5 with sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank explorerNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porlock hotels
0.1 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
186 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#9 of 18 in Porlock
91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 18 in Porlock
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rose Bank Guest House
Rose Bank Guest House
#3 of 18 in Porlock
298 reviews
0.4 mi away
Exmoor Country House
Exmoor Country House
#2 of 18 in Porlock
150 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gables
The Gables
#6 of 18 in Porlock
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overstream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overstream

Address: Overstream Parsons Street, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Price Range: £54 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Overstream 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Overstream is located in the heart of Porlock, and is ideally situated for all local activities including Exmoor National Park and the coast. All rooms are ensuite, have tea and coffee making facilities and TV. We have a large car park and a lift to all floors. The Overstream is licensed and guests can relax in the lounge, in front of a log fire in the evenings. Free internet access is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Overstream reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overstream Porlock, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing