We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“didnt stay here but had a fantastic cream tea.”
Review of Overstream

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Overstream
Ranked #5 of 18 Porlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Fabulous cream tea had here would recommend if you in the area.beautiful place and sun was shining so couldnt have been better. good service with the yummiest scones ever,wonderful clotted cream and jam.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank ginnyhare23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

Conveniently situated in the centre of Porlock, opposite the church – just look for the spire. Car park clearly signed to the rear of the building. We were soon at the front entrance being warmly greeted by Maggie who led us to a -

First floor spacious room (lift available). Tea/Coffee/Biscuits. Wall mounted TV. Hairdryer. Alarm clock. Spare pillows in the wardrobe, plenty of hangers. Internet access available. Shower (bath available next door).

We quickly unpacked since a cream tea was waiting for us; we chose to sit in the garden. It was delicious, the best cream tea we’ve had in ages.

We saw a lounge with a licensed bar, daily papers, TV and books.

Even though a front bedroom, it quickly quietened down in the evening, hardly noticing the minimal traffic, maybe because our bed was extremely comfortable.

Breakfast - Fruit juice, fruit, cereal, yoghurt (self-service). Nick delivered our pot of tea and toast almost immediately and soon after a full English. Vegetarian alternative, (including my request for slight variation).

Porlock is a good base for exploring, a peaceful haven with interesting shops and plenty of places during the day and evening to eat. Exmoor and coast easily accessible. (Packed lunches can be pre-booked)

It was a pity our visit was so short. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank ItchyfeetDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I had the absolute pleasure of staying here for three nights,the 8th to the 11th july 2014. what an incredible find, set in such a quaint and tranquil little village with good places to eat within good distance to some really idyllic places and close enough to drive to north devon equally beautifull.anyway the overstream was absolutely spotless in my room and the breakfast room and the guest lounge. the bed was so comfortable the room well equipped with tv wifi and the usual tea and coffee. the breakfasts were very good and so well cooked with a complete and wide range of cereal fruit and cooked breakfast. the owners nick and Maggie are really nice and helpful and informative about the surrounding area, nothing seems to be too much trouble. the overstream also boasts a lift to all floors and a good car park. I would highly recommend this guest house and I will definitely be going back for a break from the world to have a good hide away from everything stressfull...

Room Tip: I stayed in room 8. a small double as I was on my own but more than big enough for two. overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank carl c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My wife and I with two friends, stayed at the Overstream last September and again 23rd-24th June.2014. The rooms were really nice. Spotlessly clean and with comfortable beds. Our room also boasted a sofa and chair.Our breakfasts were well cooked and there was an excellent choice of dishes including fruit, cereals,fruit juices. There was also a choice of cooked food including "full English". The owners were charming and looked after us very well. Do try Maggies homemade scones with strawberry jam and Clotted cream. We can't recommend this lovely guest house enough. Barry and Janet Manley from Exeter

Room Tip: Room 5 is right next to the lift so very easy access for disabled persons.The room was nice and quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed for just one night in this lovely old hotel. We were allocated room 6 which was spacious and light. The bed was very comfortable and the room nicely appointed. The hotel has some rather quirky features including an "antique" 2-person lift to all floors.
All areas of the hotel were well looked after and cleaned to a high standard.
Breakfast was tasty and cooked to perfection .....there was a choice and it was presented well .......... and hot!!
The hotel is situated in a very convenient location right next to Porlock Church and near the shops and pubs. The car park at the back of the hotel is large and easy to get to.
We will certainly be going back and can thoroughly recommend Overstream for a short or extended stay in this beautiful village.
Thank you to Nick and Maggie for a very relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Room 6 is a lovely and spacious ...... it faces the sea. Two nice arm chairs and a spotlessly clea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Edward J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Set in a senic and lovely area, with good decor, and central for Lynton and Lynmouth, Minehead, Selworthy and Exmoor.

The B and B has good Off Road parking, and Nick and Maggie were perfect hosts. Perfect for a family break with lots of walks and perfect countryside all around

Room Tip: Good well presented Bed and Breakfast with lovely ambience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank richiecondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at Overstream for 1 night and we found it very comfortable. We were very pleased to receive a friendly welcome from Nick and Meggie. The service was impeccable, the breakfast was top quality with variety of options from their home cooked menu, The location and proximity to the old town Porlock was excellent. We were completely satisfied and happy that we chose Overstram B&B. Thanks again Nick & Maggie.

Ali & Sangeeta

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sangeeta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlock
0.0 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
183 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#9 of 18 in Porlock
90 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 18 in Porlock
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rose Bank Guest House
Rose Bank Guest House
#4 of 18 in Porlock
295 reviews
1.6 mi away
Millers At The Anchor
Millers At The Anchor
#2 of 3 in Porlock Weir
565 reviews
0.4 mi away
Exmoor Country House
Exmoor Country House
#3 of 18 in Porlock
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overstream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overstream

Address: Overstream Parsons Street, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Price Range: £55 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Overstream 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Overstream is located in the heart of Porlock, and is ideally situated for all local activities including Exmoor National Park and the coast. All rooms are ensuite, have tea and coffee making facilities and TV. We have a large car park and a lift to all floors. The Overstream is licensed and guests can relax in the lounge, in front of a log fire in the evenings. Free internet access is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and HotelsClick so you can book your Overstream reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overstream Porlock, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing