We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ship Inn
Nearby Hotels
Dunkery Beacon Hotel(Wootton Courtenay)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beach Hotel(Minehead)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$225
US$180
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$197
US$163
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
67
46
5
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
67
46
5
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubsister puballow dogsexmoor beastbeer gardenmentioned in other reviewsfantastic pubroast lambbook to avoid disappointmentstayed here for two nightsred cabbagepateb broom was clean and comfortablereal aleporlock hillby chance
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 123 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2013

They have a special offer on from November until March - two nights for the price of one - fantastic. The pub is a proper old fashioned pub with great food and lots of locals. The breakfast was very filling and tasty and the rooms are clean and comfortable. Lots of lovely walks from here and the Bottom Ship have a special offer of fish, chips and a pint for £7 on a Friday night - that was lovely and tasty. Top place to stay and the staff are very nice as well.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HandGaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed here for two nights. Yes it is a little shabby but most of it is the original building and has so much atmosphere. It was good being able to take the dogs with us, they tucked in nicely under the table and behaved. Breakfast was nice and what we expected for such a traditional place (no marmalade though). We have dinner there both evenings, first evening better than second (down to our choice I think). We had husband had steak and said it was better than one he had paid nearly £30 for the week before! Second night chose the chicken pie which I wasnt too keen on - obviously a big pot of filling prepared in a pan and plonked on the plate with a puff pastry disc cooked separately and lay next to it. I know this is a fairly common way of doing pie in catering but it looked so unappealing.

Really enjoyed the break, very friendly and helpful staff. Point - watch some of the locals with their dogs, they let them wander around the pub off the lead, a bit of a shock for my nervous little one.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jax38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Ate here after short walk from nearby campsite at Burrowhayes. Excellent food- 13 year old son saying it was the best burger he had ever had.....Good sized portions and enjoyed the company of dogs at adjacent tables. As others have said, it does look a little tired, but good play area outside for young children and friendly staff.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We went on a tour of Devon & Cornwall for a few days having booked nothing in advance, We prefer to stay in pubs if possible and found this little gem at about 6pm on 27th August and given the choice of two rooms. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the room we chose was small but well kitted out with en-suite and everything you could possibly want. The food was great and well presented and tasty. All in all an old fashioned inn we can thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: We chose room 10 as it has a staircase down to the car park, very easy for luggage and for going outside if you are a smoker
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This place was recommend to us by the owner of our B&B and we ended up eating here 2 nights out of three. We thought the food was really good. The pub looks a little shabby from the outside but don't let this put you off. You can eat in either the pub or the restaurant. If you are not a dog lover then eat in the restaurant as every one in the pub seemed to have a dog with them. This didn't bother us as all the dogs were very well behaved. all in all, a good pub serving good food with a good atmosphere. give it a try.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank HampshireJellybelly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews