We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A delightful weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Myrtle Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porlock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Myrtle Cottage
Ranked #2 of 18 Porlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
barrow-in-furness
1 review
“A delightful weekend”
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Myrtle Cottage is a real gem. Located at the bottom of Porlock Hill, This lovely thatched roofed building was built in 1604 and is packed full of character. From the moment we entered the wacky front door, we were beguiled. As previous reviewers have mentioned the cottage has fascinating features, wonky floors, low bowed ceilings, strangely shaped doors and twisty stairs abound.
The new owners, Janet & Nigel, are wonderful, friendly hosts who provided us with a really warm welcome, and a cup of tea which was gratefully received after a long drive.

The Oak beamed bedroom was charming, warm and inviting with a quirky Knee height window. The room was spotlessly clean, as were the bathroom, linen, towels etc. There were tea and coffee making facilities and a modern TV in the room.

For breakfast there was Orange juice, tea or coffee (from the roasting house located just a few doors away), choice of cereal, fresh fruit, and an excellent, locally sourced, full English breakfast. There was also some lovely home-made marmalade for the toast, but we haven’t left much of that!

Porlock boasts a very pretty main street, with great cafes, pubs, and restaurants; there is something to suit everyone.

The location is great for exploring Exmoor and the coastline, and Janet & Nigel were happy to suggest a couple of short local walks to us, including a venture to the highest point on nearby Exmoor. Porlock is, of course, on the Southwest coastal path if your walking requirements are more ambitious than ours! Whatever you do, don’t forget a camera, the views everywhere are just stunning.

Although we had only been there a couple of days, when we left Myrtle cottage, it was with a genuine feeling of regret. Janet and Nigel had made us feel so welcome, and we were utterly at home there.
Without doubt, we will be staying again. I have absolutely no reservations in recommending Myrtle cottage 100% to anyone thinking of staying in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cumbrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
107
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Banbury
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Nigel and Janet, the new managers (only one month in), of this lovely cottage were wonderful hosts and did everything to make sure that our stay was enjoyable for the whole family. Our 2 boys, aged 8 and 10 loved their room and the fruit shoots and biscuits were a lovely touch, as was the pot of tea on return from Day 1 of the walk!

Breakfast was first class and delicious, using local ingredients.

The Shop was a great recommendation for evening food. So good we returned on night 2!

Nigel very kindly drove us down to Porlock Weir on Day 2 to save the 13 mile walk turning into a 15 mile one, which was incredibly kind and very much appreciated by us all!

We loved our stay and would unreservedly recommend Myrtle Cottage. Thank you

Room Tip: Room 3 is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank degale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We arrived after a three hour drive from the Midlands to be met by Jan and Nigel; our hosts for the two night stay. We felt immediately at home and our two children (5 and 8) set about exploring the cottage and where thrilled with the family room and their own TV. The family room was spacious and very well equipped. Two TV's and drinks for the kids made the "tired times" so easy to deal with. Breakfast was great, nothing was too much trouble and the kids ate the lot.

We'll certainly be back and next time for an extra night or so.

Nigel and Jan did all they could to make us and our children so very, very welcome!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevenG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Myrtle Cottage, situated at the bottom of the famous Porlock Hill, Porlock, South Somerset, is a real find. This beautiful classic thatched cottage has it all, starting with the quirky front door, leading to a welcoming hallway and on to wonky floors, twisty stairs, funny shaped bedroom doors, more beams than you can shake a stick at plus bedroom windows at knee level….perfect. The rooms are cosy and very clean with lovely bedding and towels. The ensuites are small, spotless and perfectly formed and provide all the facilities you could wish for.
Nigel and Janet have only just taken over, and I take my hat off to them, their attention to detail, hospitality and breakfasts are first rate, making you feel so welcome but knowing when to give their guests space. Nothing is too much trouble and they bend over backwards to help.
The location is great for exploring Exmoor and the coastline, with walks aplenty and camera grabbing views everywhere. Porlock itself, is just lovely, with a pretty main street, cafes, pubs and restaurants to suit all tastes. Can’t wait to go back and stay longer next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyGreenway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Fantastic stay with Janet and Nigel at Myrtle Cottage...they couldn't of been more welcoming with a pot of tea at the ready to warm us from a long day walking. We were made to feel extremely comfortable and at home and an added bonus that they were so dog friendly!! Beautiful big breakfast with cereals, juices, yoghurts etc to choose from aswell. Nothing was too much of an effort for them. Looking forward to our return in the not to distant future....could not fault it for its value...keep it up! :)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

I have never left a review on TripAdvisor before, but I experienced such an outstanding level of service during my stay at Myrtle Cottage that I decided to sign up and leave a review.
The new owners, Nigel and Janet, made me feel very welcome and comfortable as soon as I arrived. They are the most helpful and thoughtful hosts you could wish for, and I felt truly at home during my stay.
I really enjoyed the generous and tasty breakfast, and found that the B&B was the perfect base to explore Exmoor (it was very handy to have a parking space), as well as a great place to relax. The village is very picturesque and there are lots of nice shops to walk to.
The B&B itself is a lovely thatched cottage, and my room was clean, homely and nicely decorated, with a modern bathroom and a cosy living area with tea and coffee.
I spent 4 amazing days there, and hope I will be able to go back soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PBrewster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We were the first visitors to stay at Myrtle Cottage with its new owners, Janet and Nigel, who were very friendly and helpful. It was a lovely cottage and everything was delightful, including breakfast. Pubs nearby for evening meals. Excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berylmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlock
0.0 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hunters Lodge B&B
Hunters Lodge B&B
#1 of 18 in Porlock
185 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gables
The Gables
#8 of 18 in Porlock
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Millers At The Anchor
Millers At The Anchor
#2 of 3 in Porlock Weir
513 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rose Bank Guest House
Rose Bank Guest House
#5 of 18 in Porlock
273 reviews
0.4 mi away
Exmoor Country House
Exmoor Country House
#3 of 18 in Porlock
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myrtle Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myrtle Cottage

Property: Myrtle Cottage
Address: High Street, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Myrtle Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the picturesque village of Porlock, where Exmoor meets the sea, Myrtle Cottage is a comfortable thatched cottage built over 400 years ago which is bursting with character and charm, beams, inglenook fireplaces and real fires.Enjoy a generous breakfast of homemade fresh fruit salad, yoghurts, fruit juice, cereals and a full English Breakfast (using Exmoor's best quality locally sourced bacon, sausages and free range eggs) or maybe something a little lighter; smoked salmon and scrambled eggs or toasted crumpets as well as homemade marmalade, local jams and honey - even the coffee is roasted right here in the village!All rooms have colour TV, Radio/alarm and Tea and Coffee making facilities. Hair driers, Free WIFI and Central Heating. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Myrtle Cottage Porlock, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing