We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Extra Special Hospitality"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Myrtle Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porlock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Myrtle Cottage
Ranked #2 of 18 Porlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Extra Special Hospitality"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

We first stayed with Janet and Nigel at Myrtle Cottage in October 2012 and were so impressed with the very friendly welcome we received have just returned from our third visit and will be returning again in October. As fellow reviewers have noted, a very comfortable room, a choice of great food at breakfast and that extra special hospitality that makes you feel you are visiting friends. Our regular visits to Porlock are now even more enjoyable due to the warm welcome we know we will receive at Myrtle Cottage.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
107
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kesgrave, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

It was good to return to Myrtle Cottage for another long weekend and pleased to see Nigel and Janet are still taking such great care of us all. Their enthusiasm with their guests is still as great as it was when they took over this charming B & B. Loved the breakfasts but back to muesli and skimmed milk now for a while. Looking forward to going back again soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 409Tony1947409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alderholt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

From the moment we walked in the door my mum and I could not have felt more welcome. We felt like old friends welcomed back. Spotless rooms, extremely comfortable bed - it was very difficult to get up the next morning! Fantastic breakfast. Porlock and surrounding area is so beautiful and this is a little gem! We loved it so much that we stayed an extra night! Janet and Nigel and Max - we will be back soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ingrid511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

One night stay with 2 small children, who loved room 5 with their own room off ours, and we were told to stay out!
Nothing was too much trouble for Nigel and Janet, including cooking a breakfast of 4 sausages for our eldest.
Incredibly welcoming and friendly, we plan to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Nigel & Janet are the most welcoming owners of this quaint old English cottage bed & breakfast. Having just revisited (because of the good experience last time there), we were so pleased to go back. It's home from home - comfortable, friendly and good value for money. It's a 'magic' place to be - the cottage and the location are the ingredients for a brilliant stay. Imagine a hearty breakfast at Myrtle cottage, a day out on the moors and an evening meal at The Ship only 100yds away. See you again soon Myrtle Cottage!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Just spent two nights with Janet and Nigel in the heart of Porlock village. Great hospitality, lots of choice for dining out in the evening within short walking distance and then Janet's home made marmalade part of the wide breakfast choice. A great village centre location to explore from and car parking on site next to the five hundred year old gem of a cottage. It couldn't have been better.

Room Tip: All the four rooms seemd as good as each other. We stayed in Room 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

I have just experienced all that a good B&B should offer. Wonderful hospitality, spotless characterful rooms and a home-cooked breakfast to shame what the big hotels offer. Janet and Nigel are brilliant hosts, treating their guests as friends where nothing is too much trouble. Max the dog adds a nice touch of extra character as well. The location is perfect as well in the picture postcard village of Porlock. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkMartin24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlock
0.0 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hunters Lodge B&B
Hunters Lodge B&B
#1 of 18 in Porlock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gables
The Gables
#7 of 18 in Porlock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rose Bank Guest House
Rose Bank Guest House
#4 of 18 in Porlock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
1.6 mi away
Millers At The Anchor
Millers At The Anchor
#2 of 3 in Porlock Weir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 18 in Porlock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myrtle Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myrtle Cottage

Property: Myrtle Cottage
Address: High Street, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Myrtle Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the picturesque village of Porlock, where Exmoor meets the sea, Myrtle Cottage is a comfortable thatched cottage built over 400 years ago which is bursting with character and charm, beams, inglenook fireplaces and real fires.Enjoy a generous breakfast of homemade fresh fruit salad, yoghurts, fruit juice, cereals and a full English Breakfast (using Exmoor's best quality locally sourced bacon, sausages and free range eggs) or maybe something a little lighter; smoked salmon and scrambled eggs or toasted crumpets as well as homemade marmalade, local jams and honey - even the coffee is roasted right here in the village!All rooms have colour TV, Radio/alarm and Tea and Coffee making facilities. Hair driers, Free WIFI and Central Heating. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Myrtle Cottage Porlock, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing