We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home”
Review of Myrtle Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porlock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Myrtle Cottage
Ranked #2 of 18 Porlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
lynx11
2 reviews
“A home away from home”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We were welcomed most warmly to this historic cottage. Every need was catered for with tea on arrival and local information provided. Was especially happy to meet Max the weimeranar and it's lovely to see dog friendly places. Lovely breakfast, room and provisions. Spotlessly clean and beautiful decor. We will be back very soon. Thank you very much to Nigel and Janet. Annie and Danny.

Room Tip: We stayed in the relaxing blue room (Bedroom 2)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynx11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
109
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed at Myrtle Cottage while attending the wedding of our niece in nearby Dunster and could not fault our stay there. Nothing was too much for our hosts, Janet and Nigel (and Max the dog!), who were genuinely pleased to see us and helped make our stay there really comfortable. The breakfast they served was excellent (the eggs for example, could be cooked however you liked them!) and we never got the feeling that we had to rush to finish our what we were eating. We stayed in the family room at the top of the cottage which comprised of two adjoining rooms (which our son loved!) and it had a lovely view of the sea a mile and a half away. What was also great was that unlike a lot of other places check out time on the day of our departure was 11 am and not 10 am as is normally the place. I would most definitely recommend Myrtle Cottage if anyone is looking for a place to stay in Porlock. We, for one hope very much to able to go back there in the near future.

Room Tip: The family room at the top of the cottage has the most space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Janet and Nigel made my dog and me very welcome from the moment we arrived. The room was well appointed with a lovely bathroom and everything was spotlessly clean. I stayed alone and felt as safe as being at home.

The English breakfast was delicious, fresh and well cooked with a great range of cold options including local Exmoor whortleberry jam and Exmoor honey so good you could taste the flowers.

The location is also amazing - I couldn't believe Exmoor was on one side of me and the sea on the other.

Janet and Nigel were generous with their hospitality and it was evident everyone who visits gets five star treatment.

Look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We had a great time in Porlock staying at Myrtle Cottage for two nights. Janet and Nigel the owners are lovely, and made us feel very welcome during our stay - we would highly recommend anyone looking to stay in the area to choose Myrtle Cottage. This was the first time we had stayed in Polock and we hope to come back soon.

Recommend the ship inn down the road for evening drinks and food.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AzzaJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We have recently spent a few relaxing days at Myrtle Cottage, these were the most pleasant of any stay at a B&B. On arrival we were warmly welcomed by Nigel & Janet with a much needed pot of tea and biscuits in their delightful garden. We were well looked after during our visit with helpful suggestions and information. When planning a long walk we were offered suggestions of places to visit and even the offer of a lift back from Porlock Weir if we missed the bus - nothing was too much trouble. Breakfasts were excellent and had the nice touch of a fresh fruit salad - the cooked breakfasts were magnificent. There are good facilities within a few minutes walk such convenience store, chemist, pubs & places to eat. The cottage is convenient for bus services to Minehead and Lynmouth / Lynton. We will definitely be staying at Myrtle Cottage again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billycat345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We've just returned from a wonderful stay here having hunted last minute for a dog friendly B&B in the area.
To start with Janet and Nigel sent us such friendly helpful emails including directions and a list of local places to eat/drink/visit (and how dog friendly each place was!).
On arrival we were met with a warm and friendly welcome. The outside of the cottage is just beautiful, located on the high street of Porlock and there was ample parking available.
We stayed in room 2 (we think!) which had a comfortable double bed and well decorated en-suite bathroom. There was a wonderful welcome pack full of helpful information and a good selection of drink options by the kettle. We also received a pack for the dog!! 2 bowls, a towel and a fleece rug.
We slept really well and awoke looking forward to breakfast which didn't disappoint! A full cooked breakfast with locally sourced bacon, sausages and eggs, locally roasted coffee and a full selection of cereals, fruit juices, honey/jams and fresh fruit.
We really couldn't have been looked after any better. Janet and Nigel are wonderful "host" so friendly and willing to help! Nothing seemed to be too much for them and they take really pride in their B&B and village.
A visit here is a MUST!! You really won't be disappointed and I suspect you'll be booking a return trip before you know it!
Thank you for having us!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahrowe99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Just returned home from our first 2014 visit to Myrtle Cottage . Many thanks to Janet and Nigel, for the friendly welcome we always receive and for looking after us so well. Made a rather damp and foggy three days very enjoyable .Breakfast time is such a treat. Love the fruit salad, Full English is extra special. Looking forward to our next visit in July.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porlock hotels
0.0 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hunters Lodge B&B
Hunters Lodge B&B
#1 of 18 in Porlock
194 reviews
0.4 mi away
Exmoor Country House
Exmoor Country House
#3 of 18 in Porlock
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rose Bank Guest House
Rose Bank Guest House
#4 of 18 in Porlock
280 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gables
The Gables
#8 of 18 in Porlock
204 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#9 of 18 in Porlock
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myrtle Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myrtle Cottage

Property: Myrtle Cottage
Address: High Street, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Myrtle Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the picturesque village of Porlock, where Exmoor meets the sea, Myrtle Cottage is a comfortable thatched cottage built over 400 years ago which is bursting with character and charm, beams, inglenook fireplaces and real fires.Enjoy a generous breakfast of homemade fresh fruit salad, yoghurts, fruit juice, cereals and a full English Breakfast (using Exmoor's best quality locally sourced bacon, sausages and free range eggs) or maybe something a little lighter; smoked salmon and scrambled eggs or toasted crumpets as well as homemade marmalade, local jams and honey - even the coffee is roasted right here in the village!All rooms have colour TV, Radio/alarm and Tea and Coffee making facilities. Hair driers, Free WIFI and Central Heating. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Myrtle Cottage Porlock, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing