We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one fun, female long weekender - impossible without this place.”
Review of Myrtle Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porlock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Myrtle Cottage
Ranked #2 of 18 Porlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
“one fun, female long weekender - impossible without this place.”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We experienced the delights of myrtle cottage after a long awaited visit.

The weekend was nothing less than sublime - 7 girls and we haven't laughed so much in ages. Some of us spilled over into the local camp site (400m down the road) which was also well groomed, equipped and friendly.

The breakfasts are second to none and I can see why the breakfast award was given. The rooms are cute, clean and cottage-y. Each with its own individual character. The place is right on the non-busy "high street" and you feel right in the heart of Porlock.

We managed to have a little tour round over the bank holiday weekend and took in the delights of Minehead night life along with Porlock's own! Porlock weir is close and pretty as is Lynton - quaint shops, gorges and fish and chip shops. The whole place has that chocolate box feel without being overdone and Janet and Nigel are brilliant at what they do and you adapt well to the "at ease" pace with their help. Maxy was with us also and we feel so lucky to have had the chance. This place is a secluded gem for old and young alike I just hope we can arrange another visit soon!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JosBrazier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
109
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at the B and B as I walked the South West Coast Path.
Accomodation was spotless with huge bathroom. Hosts were very accommodating in helping dry my clothing. Breakfast was huge and delicious. All round great experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We have a family connection with Porlock. And looked for somewhere to stay that would accommodate our four families together. Myrtle Cottage is not only the perfect location in the village but more than that, Nigel and Janet go above and beyond. They are warm, kind friendly, and nothing is too much trouble. Genuinely lovely people who made our stay at this lovely cottage very special indeed. The breakfast is superb! For 15 of us it was hot and delicious. We will be booking every year for sure.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Once again we have had a perfect two day stay..family gathering of 15. Breakfast just perfect all freshly cooked and plenty to eat..Nigel andJanet are yet again perfect hosts, and yes we are going back ..great place to start exploring the fab countryside

Room Tip: We always stay at the front so cannot comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynx11
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We were welcomed most warmly to this historic cottage. Every need was catered for with tea on arrival and local information provided. Was especially happy to meet Max the weimeranar and it's lovely to see dog friendly places. Lovely breakfast, room and provisions. Spotlessly clean and beautiful decor. We will be back very soon. Thank you very much to Nigel and Janet. Annie and Danny.

Room Tip: We stayed in the relaxing blue room (Bedroom 2)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynx11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed at Myrtle Cottage while attending the wedding of our niece in nearby Dunster and could not fault our stay there. Nothing was too much for our hosts, Janet and Nigel (and Max the dog!), who were genuinely pleased to see us and helped make our stay there really comfortable. The breakfast they served was excellent (the eggs for example, could be cooked however you liked them!) and we never got the feeling that we had to rush to finish our what we were eating. We stayed in the family room at the top of the cottage which comprised of two adjoining rooms (which our son loved!) and it had a lovely view of the sea a mile and a half away. What was also great was that unlike a lot of other places check out time on the day of our departure was 11 am and not 10 am as is normally the place. I would most definitely recommend Myrtle Cottage if anyone is looking for a place to stay in Porlock. We, for one hope very much to able to go back there in the near future.

Room Tip: The family room at the top of the cottage has the most space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Janet and Nigel made my dog and me very welcome from the moment we arrived. The room was well appointed with a lovely bathroom and everything was spotlessly clean. I stayed alone and felt as safe as being at home.

The English breakfast was delicious, fresh and well cooked with a great range of cold options including local Exmoor whortleberry jam and Exmoor honey so good you could taste the flowers.

The location is also amazing - I couldn't believe Exmoor was on one side of me and the sea on the other.

Janet and Nigel were generous with their hospitality and it was evident everyone who visits gets five star treatment.

Look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlock
0.0 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
168 reviews
3.7 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
333 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hunters Lodge B&B
Hunters Lodge B&B
#1 of 18 in Porlock
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rose Bank Guest House
Rose Bank Guest House
#6 of 18 in Porlock
281 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#9 of 18 in Porlock
86 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gables
The Gables
#8 of 18 in Porlock
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myrtle Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myrtle Cottage

Property: Myrtle Cottage
Address: High Street, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Myrtle Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the picturesque village of Porlock, where Exmoor meets the sea, Myrtle Cottage is a comfortable thatched cottage built over 400 years ago which is bursting with character and charm, beams, inglenook fireplaces and real fires.Enjoy a generous breakfast of homemade fresh fruit salad, yoghurts, fruit juice, cereals and a full English Breakfast (using Exmoor's best quality locally sourced bacon, sausages and free range eggs) or maybe something a little lighter; smoked salmon and scrambled eggs or toasted crumpets as well as homemade marmalade, local jams and honey - even the coffee is roasted right here in the village!All rooms have colour TV, Radio/alarm and Tea and Coffee making facilities. Hair driers, Free WIFI and Central Heating. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Myrtle Cottage Porlock, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing