We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real home from home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porlock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amberton Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 18 Porlock B&B and Inns
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A real home from home”
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Fantastic hostess,location and service. A wonderful relaxing place to be. The extra facilities, such as the option of eating in, fresh bread in the morning, breakfast when you want it, all make Amberton the place to stay.Wendy made us feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble. We would certainly go back there, this time for longer.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
79
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Amberton is quite simply the most relaxing, tranquil place to get away from it all. One of the best things about this B&B is that you can come & go as you please or just 'hang out' on your deck if you're not feeling too active!

Many B&Bs have rooms you can't wait to get out of in the morning - not this one. It was like a home away from home - huge bathroom, lovely, bright room with lots of space. The bed was so comfy & the shower was great (really powerful). Great having the little kitchenette - great for preparing picnics! I also loved having breakfast brought to the room instead of sitting in some dining room every morning.

And Wendy was just the most welcoming, friendly hostess. We'll definitely be going back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irish_Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed at Amberton for a long weekend in July and we loved it. The location is wonderful, with fabulous views across the countryside to Porlock Weir. Both rooms have little decks where you can sit and admire the view while having breakfast or whatever - this is a lovely bonus feature! Our room was very comfortable, and Wendy has thought of everything you could possibly need - there are even sandwich bags so you can make a picnic lunch! It's great to have a little fridge in your room to keep milk and cold drinks in etc. and I loved being able to have breakfast in our room at a time to suit ourselves. Wendy is extremely helpful and obliging and goes out of her way to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.

Porlock is a great village to choose as a base from which to explore Exmoor and I would thoroughly recommend Amberton. - we hope to go back soon!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank speedrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Amberton is an exceptional B&B where nothing is too much trouble for Wendy. Wonderful setting with views of the sea and surrounding countryside, but within easy walking distance of the village, restaurants etc. Very comfortable, well equipped room. Excellent breakfast, especially the croissants and fresh baked bread. Looking forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FandME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Just returned from a 2 night stay at 'delightful' Amberton. A little piece of heaven, absolute bliss. Best B&B we have ever stayed in, we are spreading the word about wonderful, welcoming Wendy. I could go on and repeat everything said by previous reviewers but suffice to say we only have one complaint our stay wasn't long enough!!!!!! Can't wait to
return to this beautiful haven, keep up the good work Wendy and of course Mike.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffs
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Amberton is a perfect B&B.

Our room, with a view, patio doors and outside seating area, was spotless and as well as a comfortable bed, we had a two-seater leather settee, t.v., video, and a proper dining table and chairs. The real bonus, however, is the small kitchen area which has a sink, 'fridge, microwave, kettle, toaster, cutlery and crockery, etc. etc.

The Continental breakfast, brought to outside your door, is very good and includes freshly homemade bread, croissants, yoghurt, cheese, salami and much more. There is also a supply of good quality frozen meals in the freezer outside the room which you can purchase - we did and they were delicious.

Wendy has thought of everything you could need. She has also got the balance just right and leaves you to get on with things but is there if you need her.

A super place and we would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Amberton is a fantastic place to stay - everything about our experience was perfect. Wendy is a charming hostess, the location is amazing, and the room supremely comfortable with everything you could possibly want. We really appreciated the flexibility of breakfast arrangements, and the option to have snacks or even a meal in (if we'd wanted) - it really gives the best of self-catering with the personal touches of the best B&B. I've recommended this to all my friends!

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Caramo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porlock hotels
0.4 mi away
Hunters Lodge B&B
Hunters Lodge B&B
#1 of 18 in Porlock
193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rose Bank Guest House
Rose Bank Guest House
#6 of 18 in Porlock
277 reviews
0.0 mi away
Overstream
Overstream
#4 of 18 in Porlock
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Exmoor Country House
Exmoor Country House
#3 of 18 in Porlock
132 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gables
The Gables
#8 of 18 in Porlock
203 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#9 of 18 in Porlock
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amberton Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amberton Bed and Breakfast

Property: Amberton Bed and Breakfast
Address: Amberton Hawkcombe, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Amberton Bed And Breakfast Porlock, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing