We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very warm welcome!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porlock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amberton Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 18 Porlock B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 July 2012

On our arrival at Amberton we were greeted with a very warm welcome from Wendy. Nothing was too much trouble. We stayed for 4 nights, in this beautifully kept B&B which is situated in a quiet, stunning location. Just 10 mins walk from the small town of Porlock.Our room was immaculate and we were allowed to come and go as we pleased! Wendy baked us a fresh loaf of bread for our first mornings breakfast, accompanied by a continental menu, with ample choice, which we had brought into our room. We could eat in our room or on our balcony!
Amberton more than exceeded our expectations, was excellent value for money and we would love to stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juliemoo260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
There are newer reviews for Amberton Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2012

Exellent B&B blew away all our expectations. Our room was really clean and fresh with great facilities and plenty of space including your own personal balcony with great views over Porlock. the owner Wendy makes a fresh loaf for your breakfast which is accompanied by a continental menu to choose from which set us up for a full days walking. Great location, only a short walk to the centre of town and pubs shops etc.Thanks for a very plesant weekend trip!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We stayed at Amberton for 4 nights and found it really great. We were made to feel very welcome by Wendy. The room was fabulous, big, light and beautifully decorated. It was such a bonus to have a kettle, fridge and microwave allowing flexibility to our stay. Breakfast each day was really lovely with fresh bread made for us at the beginning of the stay allowing us to make sandwiches when we went out for the day. On top of all of this the view from the room was just amazing!! We can highly recommend Amberton.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We stayed at Amberton for two nights on our way through to North Devon and we were not disappointed with our booking.

We were met with a very warm welcome and shown to our room. The room (the Bossington room I believe) was spacious, very clean and very well equipped. The large bathroom had a wonderful shower which was most welcoming after a walk to Porlock Weir.

The continental style breakfast at Amberton was most enjoyable and there are PROPER tea/coffee making facilities...with mugs!

Overall: a very pleasant stay in a very pleasant house in a very pleasant village.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgtmilko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

After completing the Coleridge Way walk it was a delight to stay at Amberton.Great hosts,lovely room...fully equipped for our stay and fresh home baked bread for breakfast.Ample coffee and tea..loved it.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank DavidWilsonHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Amberton is hard to fault. If you had a list of all the things you would want if you had designed the perfect B&B this would probably come pretty close to that. Perfect lofty views from your own covered balcony, decent shower, decent bed, a useful kitchenette and all the trimmings. The trimmings include; freshly baked loaf of bread, freshly squeezed orange and a hearty continental breakfast left outside your door at your chosen time. Not to forget the unlimited supply of fresh coffee, tea, biscuits and probably anything else you'd care to ask for. If you are into walking there are some truly classic woodland or moor walks right from the door. Otherwise if you want to chill, just sit back and enjoy the lovely clean rooms and great service. 5 Star B&B all the way...

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MindvisionDesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

What a great place to stay, plenty of walking from the door down to the sea or up into the hills of Exmoor. The room was spotless and the food was great. We could sit outside and eat under cover over looking Porlock and the the sea. We took our bikes so we could explore more of Exmoor and the local villages which were stunning. The little lanes were quite and safe to cycle with plenty of byways or bridal ways to use. We would recommend Amberton to any of our family and friends. Just try it, it will not disappoint.

Room Tip: Read the reviews if they are good you should be on to a winner
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porlock
0.3 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glen Lodge
Glen Lodge
#8 of 18 in Porlock
131 reviews
0.5 mi away
Exmoor Country House
Exmoor Country House
#3 of 18 in Porlock
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#9 of 18 in Porlock
90 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gables
The Gables
#6 of 18 in Porlock
214 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Cafe - Porlock Weir
The Cafe - Porlock Weir
#1 of 3 in Porlock Weir
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amberton Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amberton Bed and Breakfast

Address: Amberton Hawkcombe, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Price Range: £60 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Amberton Bed And Breakfast Porlock, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing