We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porlock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amberton Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 18 Porlock B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Excellent accomodation with a very warm welcome, very clean, well kept and a very comfy bed. The continental breakfast approach gives a more relaxing start to the day by not needing to be dressed and ready before breakfast, plus being able to use the freashly made bread to make sandwiches for the day if needed. The location is great, just being a short walk down the hill to the village, from the patio there are lovely views across the playing fields and porlock village.
We will certainly revisit Amberton again and recommend it to anyone wishing to visit Porlock.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ross08j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2012

We stayed the weekend the clocks went back and were more than happy to spend the extra hour here! Such a beautiful location – perfect for walks and for local pubs/restaurants. Wendy was an excellent hostess and the room had everything we wanted. Superb! G & J

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Graeme D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We stayed for 4 nights and were very pleased with our accommodation. Great view from paito, room spotless and very good choice for breakfast which is brought to your room at the time of your choice. Just a short walk into the village were there are plenty of places to eat. We had a very good meal at Lapsewood restaurant. Would thoroughly recommend this B& B.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

What a great b&b, In fact this was one of the best rooms we have ever stayed in, well recommended by friends. Nothing was too much trouble. We stayed for 3 nights, beautifully kept B&B which is situated in a quiet location with a great view of the coast and surrounding hills. Just 10 mins walk into Porlock which has a couple of pubs and a great restaurant. Our room was immaculate and we were allowed to come and go as we pleased. Wendy baked us a fresh loaf of our choice every morning, accompanied by a continental menu, with plenty of choice, Which we could either eat in our room on on our own patio area.
Amberton more than exceeded our expectations and was excellent value for money and if we are in the area again we would love to stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Castledrinkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

On our arrival at Amberton we were greeted with a very warm welcome from Wendy. Nothing was too much trouble. We stayed for 4 nights, in this beautifully kept B&B which is situated in a quiet, stunning location. Just 10 mins walk from the small town of Porlock.Our room was immaculate and we were allowed to come and go as we pleased! Wendy baked us a fresh loaf of bread for our first mornings breakfast, accompanied by a continental menu, with ample choice, which we had brought into our room. We could eat in our room or on our balcony!
Amberton more than exceeded our expectations, was excellent value for money and we would love to stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juliemoo260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Exellent B&B blew away all our expectations. Our room was really clean and fresh with great facilities and plenty of space including your own personal balcony with great views over Porlock. the owner Wendy makes a fresh loaf for your breakfast which is accompanied by a continental menu to choose from which set us up for a full days walking. Great location, only a short walk to the centre of town and pubs shops etc.Thanks for a very plesant weekend trip!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We stayed at Amberton for 4 nights and found it really great. We were made to feel very welcome by Wendy. The room was fabulous, big, light and beautifully decorated. It was such a bonus to have a kettle, fridge and microwave allowing flexibility to our stay. Breakfast each day was really lovely with fresh bread made for us at the beginning of the stay allowing us to make sandwiches when we went out for the day. On top of all of this the view from the room was just amazing!! We can highly recommend Amberton.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porlock hotels
0.4 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
188 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 18 in Porlock
73 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#9 of 18 in Porlock
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rose Bank Guest House
Rose Bank Guest House
#4 of 18 in Porlock
299 reviews
0.5 mi away
Exmoor Country House
Exmoor Country House
#3 of 18 in Porlock
150 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gables
The Gables
#5 of 18 in Porlock
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amberton Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amberton Bed and Breakfast

Address: Amberton Hawkcombe, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Price Range: £60 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Amberton Bed And Breakfast Porlock, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing