We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Views”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porlock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amberton Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 17 Porlock B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Nothing was to much trouble for Wendy to make our stay as comfortable as possible. We enjoyed breakfast on our private terrace looking out over hills, coast and Wales in the distance. Beautifully furnished and heat if we wanted it. Very useful to have the microwave and fridge also convenient to have breakfast when we wanted it. Good system for ordering breakfast whish was left outside the door/in hall fridge for our convenience. Lovely warm, fresh pastries. Well situated for the village which has quite a few points of interest (borrowed town trail from hall shelves. Lots of restaurants to eat at during evening or we could have brought back a take-away. If neither suited, Wendy had that covered also with a selection of very reasonably priced ready meals in the hall freezer to heat up in the microwave. Lots of interesting places to visit...we drove up Porlock Hill to Lynton and Lynmouth, also had a lovely ride on the steam train.
Extremely quiet at B&B during the night so had a wonderful nights sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haltonbedforduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2010

What a fantastic B&B, you couldn't ask for more! Wendy is a lovely host who strives to ensure your stay is that extra bit special. Perfect location whether you want to relax & enjoy the views, a quiet stroll along the coast or a ramble along the countryside the Amberton has it all. Wendy has thought of everything, including a sofa to relax inside or your own private veranda to soak up the sun & enjoy the fresh air. Facilities in your room include a freesat TV, microwave, toaster, unlimited supply of tea/coffee, immaculate bathroom and comfy bed! Breakfast is either brought to your room or left just outside and for a continental breakfast it is 'out of this world'.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timmy96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

How wonderful Amberton is. We were met by Wendy and Mike with a warm greeting. Lots of useful local information inside the entrance and plenty of books to read if you choose to have a lazy day. Nice, clean airy room with the added bonus of a sink, fridge, microwave and toaster. Immaculate facilities (especially liked the self cleaning loo brush!) Choice of things for breakfast and did not miss the good old british fry up that most B&B's serve! Lovely croissants/fresh bread and plenty of jams/yogurts/cereals etc to choose from with a fridge/freezer in the hallway for extra storage. Nice pubs/restaurants within walking distance in Porlock itself.

As the previous reviews have said - a great find. We plan to visit again in the new year. Right up our street!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valandbob33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Braniff58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

The room was fantastic, with an amazing view of the sea and mountains.
Sky TV a plus.
Self sufficient room, virtually a self-catering bedsit, with free breakfast. Microwave, Kettle, Tea/Coffee facilities, biscuits, continental breakfast.
Good food. The pastry was top notch :) You must have the chocolate croissants :D
Fresh air, amazing walks around a very pretty little village.
Lovely host and hostess. Very friendly, they even gave us a lift to the bus station for free on a bank holiday when we couldn't get transport.
Access to vast unspoilt countryside and mountain trails.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adetorrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank red1oneuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louise_squires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porlock hotels
0.4 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
188 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#8 of 17 in Porlock
92 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
#10 of 17 in Porlock
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rose Bank Guest House
Rose Bank Guest House
#3 of 17 in Porlock
300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glen Lodge
Glen Lodge
#7 of 17 in Porlock
140 reviews
0.5 mi away
Exmoor Country House
Exmoor Country House
#2 of 17 in Porlock
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amberton Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amberton Bed and Breakfast

Address: Amberton Hawkcombe, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Price Range: £60 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Amberton Bed And Breakfast Porlock, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing