We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Great fun with loads of family and friends”
4.5 of 5 bubbles

Review of The Cleeve

The Cleeve
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cleeve
Main reception room. The Octagonal Lounge.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Very good
6 reviews
The Cleeve
Main reception room.
The Octagonal Lounge.
The Octagonal Lounge fire place!
The Octagonal Room decoration.
Relax in style.
Part of the main kitchen.
The Second kitchen, (yes, there's 2!).
The ground floor bedroom.
The Master bedroom.
End of the Octagonal bedroom.
Middle bedroom.
Bedroom 6 (of 8/9).
Bedroom 7 (of 8/9).
Bedroom 8 (of 8/9).
Top bedroom window seat.
There are 6 bath or shower rooms.
Footy game in progress over the quite lane.
Another kitchen view!
Entrance hallway at The Cleeve.
A garden path.
Second kitchen.
Welcome.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
8 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 28
Porlock, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
4.5 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
vee2807
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Needs more outside seating and a closer watch kept by management”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of 18 from 3 generations stayed at The Cleeve for a week. The bedrooms, reception rooms are nicely decorated, with lots of crockery, cutlery and pots and pans. Once we got the trick of using the commercial dishwasher it was fabulous.
The week we stayed was sunny and hit, unfortunately the lack of garden furniture for a house of this size was a major disappointment. Even more so when reading through the comment book it had been mentioned the previous year. This meant we were not all able to sit on the patio area at the same time. The lawned area had no seating at all, we were reluctant to sit on rugs due to the prevalence of tics.
Also mentioned in previous guests comments was the need for updating some of the small kitchen appliances. We were left a note stating the fridge in the pantry leaked! in fact it only shut properly when we used bungee clips to close it. To be fair a new fridge was delivered much later in the week.
There were also issues with the showers working properly and the shower on the ground floor not being able to be used at all.
Irrespective of the above we had a good time, needs a closer eye on by the management.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2014
We are very sorry that you were unhappy with some aspects of your stay. However, this is a country house in Exmoor that accommodates large groups who inevitably sometimes break things and not a 5 star hotel with on site staff, or indeed 5 star per night prices. Most guests who give us feedback appreciate this and will will temper any negatives with all the positives they experience and give a balanced review taking everything into account. We stayed at the Cleeve ourselves 2 weeks before your stay with a large group in order to check everything was working (which it was) so we would ask you to bear in mind the following:

We didn't claim to have outside seating for everyone - we have a quantity that fits comfortably on our terrace - or to have seating on the lawn; we said we were happy for you to take inside chairs outside when you mentioned it (so there were enough chairs for your group).
Other means of making coffee were available; cafetieres provided.
The fridge was replaced as soon as possible and there was another working fridge.
There are 6 showers and 3 baths in the house and as you booked as a group something being out of action temporarily probably wasn't an absolute disaster as using the other ones was always an option.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hooleyhol...
Level Contributor
161 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great fun with loads of family and friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Just returned from a holiday to The Cleeve for a 60th birthday celebration. Had a wonderful week away, the accommodation worked well for us as we have a baby under 1 year. Lots of space in the house, we liked the cosy octagonal front room which was better to let baby play as it had a carpet. Porlock is a nice little village to take a stroll around, great bakery. Day trips to Dunster Castle, Combe Martin Wildlife Park and Porlock Weir were all lovely as the sun shone and views were amazing. The Cleeve had everything we needed and worked well with 20 plus people, lovely location and would be tempted to return.

4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property 4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Some doors got stuck
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We hope that you can return to The Cleeve again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire E
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AN EXCELLENT BASE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

There were 21 of us that stayed for the week, the house is fantastic there is everything you need for a great time. The house is lovely and large so you can loose yourself if you want to .It has every utensil under the sun and everything is good quality.There are lots of games for the wii and playstation 11 and also board games. The children enjoyed the nature hide and the garden as well as the park just over the lane. Porlock itself is a lovely little village with lots of places to eat and have tea. I would highly recommend this house we didn't want to leave !!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: the lovely beds and bedding
Liked least: i enjoyed it all
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We hope that you can make it back to stay at The Cleeve soon.
We love the house & the village too, they are just so lovely!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fruitloop...
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing property, great for a large group of friends and family.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

I've just celebrated my daughter's 30th birthday at The Cleeve, with a group of friends and family consisiting of 13 adults and 7 children aged 2-9 years. Every family group had their own bedroom, the larger families had their own ensuite although the main bathroom had the best bath and shower of the whole place. The decor throughout is fanastic and the grounds are great, the flat lawn 'tennis court' proved the perfect site for spacehopper races and games.
The kitchens (yes, 2 kitchens) are well stocked with pans, baking trays, etc although I couldn't find a rolling pin but had almost packed one from home as I was planning to do lots of cooking.
The place is big enough for you all to sit and eat together, but there is plenty of room for people to spread out, important in a group like mine when not everyone knew each other.
Everyone who was in our group said they would like to go again.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Layout of the building and grounds.
Liked least: The footpath to the village was not easily passable due to overgrown nettles. But the main driveway was fine.
Travelling group: Large Group/Tour
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are always delighted to hear the nice things that people say.
Sorry that the rolling pin had gone missing, we'll get a new one!
Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$671
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing