We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Mariners Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porlock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mariners Lodge
Ranked #12 of 18 Porlock B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We stayed in Mariner's lodge for 2 nights and we had a great time. The view from the bedroom and the conservatory (diner room) was beautiful. Caroline was very nice to us and had good advise for the place to visit around. And the food (breakfast and diner) was very good (well cooked and fresh product).

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nounoursetchocolat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2012

We found this B&B through the warm recommendation of friends and we were delighted. It was in our experience the nicest B&B we have ever stayed in. Lovely, beautifully furnished rooms, an extremely comfortable bed, great bathroom with separate bath and shower, a beautiful view over the estuary, excellent food and a very warm welcome by Caroline. Caroline is a Cordon Bleu chef and her food is outstanding.

Room Tip: Both rooms are of equal quality and both look out over the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rene658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We picked this B&B through a minute ad in RSPB Bird magazine and hit gold! Living in London, we wanted a walking break in Exmoor National Park.

We arrived after a long drive to a really friendly welcome from Caroline, the owner, and a delicious tea, including chunks of her homemade sticky lemon cake still warm from the oven!

The view from our room was unbelievable as there is nothing but fields and a garden between the house and the sea. I felt I could have spent hours watching the light change over the marshes - absolutely beautiful! With such a comfortable bed & pillows we slept like babies and woke with excitement to see the view again in the morning.

We were worried about the private bathroom as we normally go for ‘en suite’, but it was literally only one step from our room and spacious, with really fluffy towels.

We had decided to eat in on our first evening. Caroline had taken care to cater for my partner’s food requirements. She managed to produce an exciting, very tasty menu, despite restricted ingredients. In fact, it was so good; we ate in again on our last night too.

Breakfast in the conservatory was also excellent. My full English was made with local ingredients and the scrambled farm eggs were rich, yellow & perfectly cooked. My partner had Continental, with special stewed fruit and really thick yoghurt; he then pigged out on Caroline’s freshly baked homemade bread and delicious marmalade.

Fuelled up, we had an idea of where to walk, but it was very windy, so Caroline sent us on the most delightful walk in a sheltered valley that we would never have found without her infectious love and knowledge of Exmoor. After a busy day we would return to the house and have tea in the morning room in front of a roaring fire checking out the birds that we had spied during the day.

Our few days at Mariners Lodge felt like a week! We returned to London feeling so relaxed and well fed. We couldn’t recommend this B&B more highly. If you are looking for delicious food, helpful owners and a view to die for then this is the place to come! We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

What a find this was.After attending a wedding at St Audreys, we decided to explore around the coast a little. We had booked at Mariner's Lodge not knowing anything about the place [apart from the website] The surrounding area is quite lovely; interesting scenery and a great drive down to Porlock Weir via a private road from Exmoor [suggested by Caroline, our host].
Mariner's Lodge itself is situated back from the shoreline of Porlock Bay and gives a spectacular ever changing vista from the dining/sunroom. We were welcomed by the charming Caroline & her gorgeous dogs, a pot of tea and homemade lemon cake! Our upstairs room was divinely 'English Country',comfortable, cosy & serene; 2 windows [views from different angles],an armchair & tea tray. The spacious bathroom is not attached, but next door to the room, which, in our opinion was a far nicer idea than a pokey little ensuite in a cramped bedroom. On Caroline's recommendation, we had dinner at one of the local hotels in Porlock Weir, then shared an evening nightcap and a spirited chat with Caroline and Rollo. After a fabulous night's sleep [the bed, pillows & linen were sublime!] we were treated to a beautiful breakfast feast served on exquisite china; once again surrounded by obviously family treasures in the very eclectic sunroom.One of the nicest typically English gentry experiences I have ever had; a delightful, gracious and entertaining couple whom we will stay with again; for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minervaFife_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Caroline provided for our every need - and more. A most wonderful host, we indulged in a three course supper that was cooked to perfection. Breakfast was a true feast - and a choice of papers too! Our room had windows on two aspects, with a most stunning view of the bay, an exquisite tea/coffee tray, yummy biscuits.....We actually felt almost like house guests, but were afforded our own space, which was exactly what we wished for. Our bed was most comfortable, towels big and fluffy - the bathroom had shower and bath, and what a fabulous shower it was too! We could not recommend this more highly.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonThelmaLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We came with 2 young children and no expectations. We were very pleasantly surprised with the view, the quality of accommodation AND the breakfast was lovely!. Very personal service all round and an amusing parrot to keep the children happy! I would definitely recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

This really is the most wonderful place to stay.

To start with, the bed was extremely comfortable and - after a fantastic sleep - I awoke to find my bedroom windows framing the most staggering panoramic of Porlock Bay .

Both bedrooms show off this beautiful stretch of English coastline perfectly, and you'd be hard pressed to find a more relaxing way to start your day than half an hour propped up in bed with a cup of tea, with just the songs from the birds in the garden and that amazing view to slowly prepare you for the day ahead.

This place ticks all the boxes in so many ways other than just the views though. The lovely couple who run it are extremely knowledgeable about the surrounding area, and gave us some great tips on the array of wonderful walks, sights, and places to eat/drink. Caroline also cooks a very good breakfast, so make sure you're hungry in the morning!

To summarise, I really cannot recommend Mariners Lodge enough. If you want a relaxing break in Exmoor, this place is a must.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Harrow Room. Possibly the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in, with stunning vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eddiev14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porlock hotels
0.3 mi away
Overstream
Overstream
#5 of 18 in Porlock
163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glen Lodge
Glen Lodge
#8 of 18 in Porlock
139 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
Sea View Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 18 in Porlock
73 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#9 of 18 in Porlock
91 reviews
0.7 mi away
Exmoor Country House
Exmoor Country House
#2 of 18 in Porlock
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariners Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariners Lodge

Address: West Porlock, Exmoor National Park, Porlock TA24 8NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Price Range: £80 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Mariners Lodge Porlock, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing